Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,730,261 Members 51,558 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] How to flash a ROM through twrp adb sideload?

Tip us?
 
atticustcx
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 31
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Default [Q] How to flash a ROM through twrp adb sideload?

I flashed 1.2.5 Malladus on 12B OTA rooted for Verizon using twrp 2.6.3.3. When I booted the LG logo appears for a second and the screen turns black. Reading from a previous post Malladus wont boot if you're on 12B OTA. I can't boot my phone flashing this rom. I would like to adb sideload through twrp. I don't want to mess phone up to brick I'm a noob I don't have adb tools on my computer I wouldn't know where to place them.

Please help me with a step by step.

Thank you
 
RubbleTea
Old
#2  
RubbleTea's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 158
Posts: 638
Join Date: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by atticustcx View Post
I flashed 1.2.5 Malladus on 12B OTA rooted for Verizon using twrp 2.6.3.3. When I booted the LG logo appears for a second and the screen turns black. Reading from a previous post Malladus wont boot if you're on 12B OTA. I can't boot my phone flashing this rom. I would like to adb sideload through twrp. I don't want to mess phone up to brick I'm a noob I don't have adb tools on my computer I wouldn't know where to place them.

Please help me with a step by step.

Thank you
Hey man here's a link;

http://teamw.in/ADBSideload

If you need more help let me know..
.make sure that your enviromentals are set too so your PC can understand commands
 
atticustcx
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 31
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Quote:
Originally Posted by RubbleTea View Post
Hey man here's a link;

http://teamw.in/ADBSideload

If you need more help let me know..
.make sure that your enviromentals are set too so your PC can understand commands
I'm having trouble installing adb i'm following this guy http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=maLWScgXflk">http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=maLWScgXflk" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="425" height="350"> I installed adb but when I open device manager I don't see adb.exe or fastboot in C:\Windows
 
RubbleTea
Old
#4  
RubbleTea's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 158
Posts: 638
Join Date: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by atticustcx View Post
I'm having trouble installing adb i'm following this guy http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=maLWScgXflk">http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=maLWScgXflk" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="425" height="350"> I installed adb but when I open device manager I don't see adb.exe or fastboot in C:\Windows
OK hey so you have adb all set up and set in enviromentals right? And you have a ROM ready? And drivers installed? For ease of doing things rename the ROM "ROM" so it should be ROM.zip

---------- Post added at 12:10 PM ---------- Previous post was at 12:00 PM ----------

Once you have that done place the rom into the same folder as your adb.exe is.......now plug in your phone to PC a and have recovery open.....then go to advanced the click sideload ROM....then swipe....
..now open a command prompt...then type adb devices to heck if your device is shown....if it is go ahead and type" adb sideload ROM.zip" ...then wait til it finishes...then unplug from PC and flash the ROM.......if your driver won't show your device try koush universal drivers....sorry man I'm at work now
 
rawb123456
Old
#5  
rawb123456's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 279
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Turlock, CA
I had a similar issue and I was able to flash clean rom but I still reboot to twrp. Do I need to flash a boot image or something.?

from my Note Thrizzle
 
atticustcx
Old
(Last edited by atticustcx; 16th January 2014 at 09:29 PM.) Reason: Forgot to mention drivers
#6  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 31
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Quote:
Originally Posted by RubbleTea View Post
OK hey so you have adb all set up and set in enviromentals right? And you have a ROM ready? And drivers installed? For ease of doing things rename the ROM "ROM" so it should be ROM.zip

---------- Post added at 12:10 PM ---------- Previous post was at 12:00 PM ----------

Once you have that done place the rom into the same folder as your adb.exe is.......now plug in your phone to PC a and have recovery open.....then go to advanced the click sideload ROM....then swipe....
..now open a command prompt...then type adb devices to heck if your device is shown....if it is go ahead and type" adb sideload ROM.zip" ...then wait til it finishes...then unplug from PC and flash the ROM.......if your driver won't show your device try koush universal drivers....sorry man I'm at work now
I don't have adb installed and environmentals. I don't have a ROM ready because I'm not sure which one is safe to flash over 12B OTA.
I only have LG drivers 2.11.1.0 installed. Every time I connect my phone it says to install drivers but it can't find VS980 drivers and says unsuccessful install
 
RubbleTea
Old
#7  
RubbleTea's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 158
Posts: 638
Join Date: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by atticustcx View Post
I don't have adb installed and environmentals. I don't have a ROM ready because I'm not sure which one is safe to flash over 12B OTA.
I only have LG drivers 2.11.1.0 installed. Every time I connect my phone it says to install drivers but it can't find VS980 drivers and says unsuccessful install
Try downloading a stock ROM with the ota should be one, and download koush universal drivers anyway.....for adb android SDK will have it and have instructions to setup....Google will help.....environment settings will make it so your computer understands adb commands...

---------- Post added at 01:39 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:37 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by rawb123456 View Post
I had a similar issue and I was able to flash clean rom but I still reboot to twrp. Do I need to flash a boot image or something.?

from my Note Thrizzle
So you flash a ROM and it goes to twrp, did you accept the ota with a custom recovery? For you might have to flash to stock image(there's a thread in general forum) but first try another rom
 
atticustcx
Old
#8  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 31
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Quote:
Originally Posted by RubbleTea View Post
Try downloading a stock ROM with the ota should be one, and download koush universal drivers anyway.....for adb android SDK will have it and have instructions to setup....Google will help.....environment settings will make it so your computer understands adb commands...

---------- Post added at 01:39 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:37 PM ----------



So you flash a ROM and it goes to twrp, did you accept the ota with a custom recovery? For you might have to flash to stock image(there's a thread in general forum) but first try another rom
After trying for hours to get my drivers installed so my phone can be read by computer I gave up. I followed this http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2448960 took my phone back to stock on 11A.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Cast Your Device Screen the Way it Was Meant to be with Second Screen

Not too long ago here on the XDA Portal, we covered how Google had made … more

Samsung Gear Live Unboxed the XDA Way – XDA Developer TV

XDA Developer TV Producer AdamOutleris known for his XDA Unboxingseries where … more

Make Your Own DIY Capacitive Stylus

The XDA Portal is a place where we like to talkabout things that are interesting, fun, and sometimes … more