Mozilla Ditches Google, Makes Yahoo Default Search Engine

Mozilla and Google have had a long-standing relationship of about 10 years. Google … more

Learn More About Linux with Linux Man Pages

Linux is quite a powerful and very configurable operating system. Thanks to some user-friendly … more

Detect, Avoid IMSI-Catcher Attacks with Android IMSI-Catcher Detector

Privacy is always an important topic, as well as a delicate one to … more

Materialized LeanDroid Fights Your Poor Battery Life

Battery life has always been one of the biggest problems facing most Android devices. … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] How to flash a ROM through twrp adb sideload?

OP atticustcx

16th January 2014, 05:35 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 2
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
I flashed 1.2.5 Malladus on 12B OTA rooted for Verizon using twrp 2.6.3.3. When I booted the LG logo appears for a second and the screen turns black. Reading from a previous post Malladus wont boot if you're on 12B OTA. I can't boot my phone flashing this rom. I would like to adb sideload through twrp. I don't want to mess phone up to brick I'm a noob I don't have adb tools on my computer I wouldn't know where to place them.

Please help me with a step by step.

Thank you
16th January 2014, 06:23 AM   |  #2  
RubbleTea's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Los angeles
Thanks Meter: 171
 
678 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by atticustcx

I flashed 1.2.5 Malladus on 12B OTA rooted for Verizon using twrp 2.6.3.3. When I booted the LG logo appears for a second and the screen turns black. Reading from a previous post Malladus wont boot if you're on 12B OTA. I can't boot my phone flashing this rom. I would like to adb sideload through twrp. I don't want to mess phone up to brick I'm a noob I don't have adb tools on my computer I wouldn't know where to place them.

Please help me with a step by step.

Thank you

Hey man here's a link;

http://teamw.in/ADBSideload

If you need more help let me know..
.make sure that your enviromentals are set too so your PC can understand commands
16th January 2014, 08:55 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 2
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by RubbleTea

Hey man here's a link;

http://teamw.in/ADBSideload

If you need more help let me know..
.make sure that your enviromentals are set too so your PC can understand commands

I'm having trouble installing adb i'm following this guy http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=maLWScgXflk">http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=maLWScgXflk" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="425" height="350"> I installed adb but when I open device manager I don't see adb.exe or fastboot in C:\Windows
16th January 2014, 09:10 PM   |  #4  
RubbleTea's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Los angeles
Thanks Meter: 171
 
678 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by atticustcx

I'm having trouble installing adb i'm following this guy http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=maLWScgXflk">http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=maLWScgXflk" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="425" height="350"> I installed adb but when I open device manager I don't see adb.exe or fastboot in C:\Windows

OK hey so you have adb all set up and set in enviromentals right? And you have a ROM ready? And drivers installed? For ease of doing things rename the ROM "ROM" so it should be ROM.zip

---------- Post added at 12:10 PM ---------- Previous post was at 12:00 PM ----------

Once you have that done place the rom into the same folder as your adb.exe is.......now plug in your phone to PC a and have recovery open.....then go to advanced the click sideload ROM....then swipe....
..now open a command prompt...then type adb devices to heck if your device is shown....if it is go ahead and type" adb sideload ROM.zip" ...then wait til it finishes...then unplug from PC and flash the ROM.......if your driver won't show your device try koush universal drivers....sorry man I'm at work now
16th January 2014, 09:30 PM   |  #5  
rawb123456's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Turlock, CA
Thanks Meter: 26
 
282 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
More
I had a similar issue and I was able to flash clean rom but I still reboot to twrp. Do I need to flash a boot image or something.?

from my Note Thrizzle
16th January 2014, 09:33 PM   |  #6  
OP Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 2
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by RubbleTea

OK hey so you have adb all set up and set in enviromentals right? And you have a ROM ready? And drivers installed? For ease of doing things rename the ROM "ROM" so it should be ROM.zip

---------- Post added at 12:10 PM ---------- Previous post was at 12:00 PM ----------

Once you have that done place the rom into the same folder as your adb.exe is.......now plug in your phone to PC a and have recovery open.....then go to advanced the click sideload ROM....then swipe....
..now open a command prompt...then type adb devices to heck if your device is shown....if it is go ahead and type" adb sideload ROM.zip" ...then wait til it finishes...then unplug from PC and flash the ROM.......if your driver won't show your device try koush universal drivers....sorry man I'm at work now

I don't have adb installed and environmentals. I don't have a ROM ready because I'm not sure which one is safe to flash over 12B OTA.
I only have LG drivers 2.11.1.0 installed. Every time I connect my phone it says to install drivers but it can't find VS980 drivers and says unsuccessful install
Last edited by atticustcx; 16th January 2014 at 10:29 PM. Reason: Forgot to mention drivers
16th January 2014, 10:39 PM   |  #7  
RubbleTea's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Los angeles
Thanks Meter: 171
 
678 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by atticustcx

I don't have adb installed and environmentals. I don't have a ROM ready because I'm not sure which one is safe to flash over 12B OTA.
I only have LG drivers 2.11.1.0 installed. Every time I connect my phone it says to install drivers but it can't find VS980 drivers and says unsuccessful install

Try downloading a stock ROM with the ota should be one, and download koush universal drivers anyway.....for adb android SDK will have it and have instructions to setup....Google will help.....environment settings will make it so your computer understands adb commands...

---------- Post added at 01:39 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:37 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by rawb123456

I had a similar issue and I was able to flash clean rom but I still reboot to twrp. Do I need to flash a boot image or something.?

from my Note Thrizzle

So you flash a ROM and it goes to twrp, did you accept the ota with a custom recovery? For you might have to flash to stock image(there's a thread in general forum) but first try another rom
17th January 2014, 09:18 AM   |  #8  
OP Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 2
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by RubbleTea

Try downloading a stock ROM with the ota should be one, and download koush universal drivers anyway.....for adb android SDK will have it and have instructions to setup....Google will help.....environment settings will make it so your computer understands adb commands...

---------- Post added at 01:39 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:37 PM ----------



So you flash a ROM and it goes to twrp, did you accept the ota with a custom recovery? For you might have to flash to stock image(there's a thread in general forum) but first try another rom

After trying for hours to get my drivers installed so my phone can be read by computer I gave up. I followed this http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2448960 took my phone back to stock on 11A.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes