Post Reply

[Q] Add APNs (access point names) to android system database

16th January 2014, 09:44 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
I have made a custom ROM based on 4.1.2, but Android misses many APNs, including my network operator. I would like to add it.

Where does Android store APNs?

Is there an updated database with almost every provider that I could integrate into the system?
16th January 2014, 12:38 PM   |  #2  
shashivydyula's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Hyderabad
Thanks Meter: 29
 
171 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick Hill

I have made a custom ROM based on 4.1.2, but Android misses many APNs, including my network operator. I would like to add it.

Where does Android store APNs?

Is there an updated database with almost every provider that I could integrate into the system?

What is your carrier?

Please elaborate. Actually Android automatically gets all your network settings by default. Give a try by sending SMS to your network operator for network settings.
16th January 2014, 01:22 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by shashivydyula

What is your carrier?

Please elaborate. Actually Android automatically gets all your network settings by default. Give a try by sending SMS to your network operator for network settings.


If I factory reset the phone, I can put a Three or Vodafone SIM card in, the APN will set automatically. If I put a TalkMobile (TalkTalk) SIM in, the APN does not set automatically. There is no apparent SMS information reaching the phone.

I wonder where that APN information is coming from. I presume Android has the APN information in a database somewhere.
Last edited by Nick Hill; 16th January 2014 at 06:06 PM. Reason: mos spilling
16th January 2014, 06:12 PM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick Hill

If I factory reset the phone, I can put a Three or Vodafone SIM card in, the APN will set automatically. If I put a TalkMobile (TalkTalk) SIM in, the APN does not set automatically. There is no apparent SMS information reaching the phone.

I wonder where that APN information is coming from. I presume Android has the APN information in a database somewhere.

I have found a source of information for APNs.

See the Android source code here:
https://code.google.com/p/android-so...droid-4.2.2_r1

Now I need to discover where this information is stored, and find a way of changing it!
17th January 2014, 09:40 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
[solved] Add APNs (access point names) to android system database
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick Hill

I have found a source of information for APNs.

See the Android source code here:
https://code.google.com/p/android-so...droid-4.2.2_r1

Now I need to discover where this information is stored, and find a way of changing it!

The access points database for Android 4.1 is in

/system/etc/apns-conf.xml

Talktalk / talk mobile provide information for APN here:
http://help2.talktalk.co.uk/settings...hone-settings#
However, the information they provide is false. Username and password must be unset.

I added the following before </apns> at the end

<apn carrier="TalkTalk"
mcc="234"
mnc="15"
apn="mobile.talktalk.co.uk"
mmsc="http://mms.talktalk.co.uk/servlets/mms"
mmsproxy="212.183.137.12"
mmsport="8799"
type="default,supl,mms"
/>

The phone will now give an option for TalkTalk APN, which I just need to select.

Now it is a matter of committing this entry to the official android repository. Of course, whilst I was at it, I replaced the whole apn database with the one from the Android repo.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
access point name database, apn
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Questions and Answers by ThreadRank