Post Reply

[Q] How to pack correctly a zImage and a ramdisk for flashing via fastboot ?

17th January 2014, 11:41 AM   |  #1  
ne0zone75's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,031
 
765 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
Hello,

I've recompiled the CyanogenMod 10.2 kernel for my TF300T with NFSv3 and CIFS support built into it. I have also a working ramdisk that i've unpacked from my own build of the CyanogenMod 10.2 ROM from CyanogenMod sources.

I've packed my zImage and the ramdisk using the following command line :
Code:
mkbootimg --cmdline 'no_console_suspend=1 console=null' --kernel my-zImage --ramdisk my-ramdisk-archive -o my-boot-image
And then i created a blob file from it :
Code:
blobpack my-blob LNX my-boot-image
Finally i've tried to flash it to my TF300T with fastboot :
Code:
fastboot flash staging my-blob
...the flash procedure output is as usual :
Code:
sending 'staging' (5550 KB)...
OKAY [  2.370s]
writing 'staging'...
OKAY [  1.964s]
finished. total time: 4.335s
... but the :
Code:
fasboot reboot
command just hangs !

I must then press the power button for some time to restart the device and when it's back alive, i'm still with the old kernel !

Please correct me if i am wrong but i think after searching over here and there over the Internet that i've inputed wrong parameters to the mkbootimg executable in order to generate my boot.img file ...

After reading carrefully with a 'not perfect' english this article : Unpack/repack boot.img/ramdisk for Android ... i've not understood how to get the correct parameters for mkbootimg ...



Any help will be greatly appreciated,

Thank You
17th January 2014, 12:10 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 114
 
171 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ne0zone75

...the flash procedure output is as usual :

Code:
sending 'staging' (5550 KB)...
OKAY [  2.370s]
writing 'staging'...
OKAY [  1.964s]
finished. total time: 4.335s
... but the :
Code:
fasboot reboot
command just hangs !

I must then press the power button for some time to restart the device and when it's back alive, i'm still with the old kernel !
...

I'm pretty sure problem is not in command line arguments. I use androidroot blobtools + boottools for making blob and have same result before I read this. So You just need to put signature in the beginning of blob file:
Code:
echo -n "-SIGNED-BY-SIGNBLOB-" > blobtmp
dd if=/dev/zero bs=1 count=8 >> blobtmp
cat blob >> blobtmp
Last edited by Graiden05; 17th January 2014 at 12:14 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to Graiden05 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th January 2014, 12:45 PM   |  #3  
ne0zone75's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,031
 
765 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by Graiden05

I'm pretty sure problem is not in command line arguments ...

You were right : IT WORKED !

Thanks a lot for your fast answer !
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Top Threads in Transformer TF300T Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank