ToqAN Fixes Android 5.0 Notification Bug on Qualcomm Toq

The Qualcomm Toq is probably one of the lesser known smartwatches on the market … more

How to Root and Unlock the Google Nexus 6 on a Mac – XDA TV

In the past, XDA Developer TV Producer droidmodd3rx has shown you how to … more

Set Up Your MediaTek Device with Comprehensive Beginner’s Guide

As can be seen with the use of MediaTek chips in Android One devices … more

Sony Updates AOSP Sources to Android 5.0.1

Just a few days ago, Sony did an utterly fantastic job by pushing out numerous device trees for … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Flashed recovery as boot image, bricked device

OP Axe Homeless

16th January 2014, 10:50 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Hey guys, I am here because I was incredibly stupid. I have no idea how this could have happened.

I tried updating the TWRP to the latest version with Goo manager, unfortunatly, it deleted my old one without flashing a new one. The ADB drivers didn't really work, so I tried flashing the twrp.img via the app "flashify". Problem is, I flashed the .img as a boot image and not as a recovery image, no idea how I could overlook that.

So now my Touchpad only boots into the webOS download mode and shows an error if I try to boot regularly (obviously). palm.com/ROM it says.

So my question is, how do I flash the correct boot image again? Last time I have flashed the boot image of the touchpad was when Ice cream sandwich wasn't even announced, I have no idea how to fix my mums tablet.

So it would be so great if you could help me, I'm feeling so stupid and quite helpless. Thanks so much
17th January 2014, 12:28 AM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
32 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Axe Homeless

Hey guys, I am here because I was incredibly stupid. I have no idea how this could have happened.

I tried updating the TWRP to the latest version with Goo manager, unfortunatly, it deleted my old one without flashing a new one. The ADB drivers didn't really work, so I tried flashing the twrp.img via the app "flashify". Problem is, I flashed the .img as a boot image and not as a recovery image, no idea how I could overlook that.

So now my Touchpad only boots into the webOS download mode and shows an error if I try to boot regularly (obviously). palm.com/ROM it says.

So my question is, how do I flash the correct boot image again? Last time I have flashed the boot image of the touchpad was when Ice cream sandwich wasn't even announced, I have no idea how to fix my mums tablet.

So it would be so great if you could help me, I'm feeling so stupid and quite helpless. Thanks so much

You will want to run acmeuninstaller
followed by WebOS Doctor
and then moboot, CWM, CM10.2

some help with fixing a situation like yours is here http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1426244

latest files can be found here: invisiblek.org/tenderloin/
17th January 2014, 01:13 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Holy ****, so I do have to uninstall everything, delete the partitions and then repartition and reinstall everything? Isn't there a way just to flash moboot again or something?
Last edited by Axe Homeless; 17th January 2014 at 02:56 PM.
17th January 2014, 03:40 PM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
32 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Axe Homeless

Holy ****, so I do have to uninstall everything, delete the partitions and then repartition and reinstall everything? Isn't there a way just to flash moboot again or something?


to install moboot you need to get a copy of it on the touchpad in the cminstall folder and then run
novacom boot mem:// < ACMEInstaller3


to get moboot there you need to see if you can boot into CWM.
Get a copy of update-CWM6_tenderloin-20121215.zip and extract uImage.ClockworkMod

on your Windows PC in command window:
cd C:\Program Files\Palm, Inc
novacom boot mem:// < uImage.ClockworkMod

go to mounts and storage

mount /boot

mount /sdcard

mount USB storage

create a directory cminstall

you can copy CWM, moboot and then try ACMEinstaller3
17th January 2014, 07:07 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
E:

Well, I can get into CWM, but I can't mount anything, error mounting /boot and /everything else, and it doesn't do anything when I'm mounting USB storage. damn. Any other tipps? I'm really grateful for your help, but I would rather first exhaust the options before killing everthing and then rebuilding it.
Last edited by Axe Homeless; 17th January 2014 at 07:22 PM.
17th January 2014, 07:41 PM   |  #6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
32 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Axe Homeless

E:

Well, I can get into CWM, but I can't mount anything, error mounting /boot and /everything else, and it doesn't do anything when I'm mounting USB storage. damn. Any other tipps? I'm really grateful for your help, but I would rather first exhaust the options before killing everthing and then rebuilding it.


If you are getting mount errors then my guess is your partitions are messed up and should rebuild from scratch. Only other think I would try is just acmeuninstaller and see if you can get webos to boot after that.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes