5,603,646 Members 37,200 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Help Disabling Power Button?

Tip us?
 
VinBertinelli
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 169
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Staten Island
Default [Q] Help Disabling Power Button?

My GS3's power button is jammed and i rebinded holding the home button down to turn off the screen. If I move the device or slightly touch the power button it thinks its being held down. I'm running a CM11 nightly, is there anyway i can edit a file and disable the button all together?
 
scorchedsky
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 51
Posts: 135
Join Date: Aug 2012
Try the xposed module Xposed Additions - you can rebind press/long press of the power button to do nothing.

Alternatively, you could edit the key files directly - check system/usr/keylayout, and open sec_keys.kl with a text editor and put a # in front of the power key line. You might have to comment out the power key line in generic.kl too, then reboot and power button will be totally disabled.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to scorchedsky For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
therobut
Old
(Last edited by therobut; 17th January 2014 at 07:47 PM.)
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 26
Join Date: Jan 2014
N
Quote:
Originally Posted by VinBertinelli View Post
My GS3's power button is jammed and i rebinded holding the home button down to turn off the screen. If I move the device or slightly touch the power button it thinks its being held down. I'm running a CM11 nightly, is there anyway i can edit a file and disable the button all together?
I had this same problem on my gs3 a few months ago. It is a hardware problem, not caused by your rom.

What I did, is I found a guide ( http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1867253 ) that walked me through flashing everything back to stock. I then took it to the store, and they hooked me up with a replacement.

The guy at the counter had never seen it before, but it was clear that it was a hardware malfunction, and therefore not my fault.

Maybe you can do the same

EDIT: added link for reference

Sent from my SCH-I535 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
VinBertinelli
Old
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 169
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Staten Island
Quote:
Originally Posted by therobut View Post
I had this same problem on my gs3 a few months ago. It is a hardware problem, not caused by your rom.

What I did, is I found a guide (use Google, I can't remember where it was) that walked me through flashing everything back to stock. I then took it to the store, and they hooked me up with a replacement.

The guy at the counter had never seen it before, but it was clear that it was a hardware malfunction, and therefore not my fault.

Maybe you can do the same

I would do this as well but I don't think I can flash the unsecure bootloader on the replacement.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app


Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk
 
buhohitr
Old
#5  
buhohitr's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1459
Posts: 4,998
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by VinBertinelli View Post
Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk
I read it some where on this by ThePagel, he smacked his phone button against some hard plastic object and it fixed the button issue. I suggest to wrap your phone with a towel then smack the button against a wood table....do it at your own risk!! and ThePagel can chime in if you like..
 
VinBertinelli
Old
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 169
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Staten Island
Quote:
Originally Posted by scorchedsky View Post
Try the xposed module Xposed Additions - you can rebind press/long press of the power button to do nothing.

Alternatively, you could edit the key files directly - check system/usr/keylayout, and open sec_keys.kl with a text editor and put a # in front of the power key line. You might have to comment out the power key line in generic.kl too, then reboot and power button will be totally disabled.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
I just downloaded that module and when I press add new button, it asks me to press it but it doesn't receive the input, the button just does what it normally does. Is this because I'm on kitkat?

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk
 
therobut
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 26
Join Date: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by VinBertinelli View Post
I would do this as well but I don't think I can flash the unsecure bootloader on the replacement.
Good point. I don't know if the replacement would have the new bootloader that can't (as of now) be unlocked or not

Sent from my SCH-I535 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
rsswga
Old
#8  
rsswga's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 304
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: ga.
I'm gonna have to say its a software glitch for the power button. Its happen to me before. Wipe data and cache is the only thing that fixed it

Sent from my SCH-I535 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

When Using GitHub, Don’t Skimp on Commit History

GitHub has become the epicenter of most open source development work that is posted … more

Verizon Droid DNA to Receive 4.4.2 KitKat + Sense 5.5 OTA This Thursday

The HTC Droid DNAis Verizon’s close cousin to the JapaneseHTC … more

Lucid Browser is Small, Lightweight, and Open Source

If there is one application category that certainly isn’t lacking in Android,and … more