Samsung Galaxy S4 also Receives Android Lollipop Port

Once upon a time, when the original Samsung Galaxy S was just a dream for most XDA … more

How to Control Both Moto G and Moto E LEDs

Notification LEDs offer a great way to check for notification at a glance on the Moto G (2013) and … more

LG G3 Receives Oversharpening Fix via Modified Kernel

Nothing is perfect, as they say. No matter how alluring or seemingly perfect, … more

APKTool Updated with Android Lollipop Support

One of the beauties of Android is the level of flexibility we have over our devices. Whether … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

I didn't trip KNOX after installing JellyBeans

OP mobile-power-monger

17th January 2014, 07:21 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Donate to Me
More
I know that I made a mistake when flashing: I didn't wipe my phone first (I was very eager haha).

I knew that knox should be tripped because I installed a custom rom, but there was a part of me (the part in all geeks that is hopeful that logic will not apply) that insisted I check. I just checked it, and I see a beautiful 0x0

Any speculation? Am I late on this discovery?
17th January 2014, 08:26 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 330
 
1,140 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by mobile-power-monger

I know that I made a mistake when flashing: I didn't wipe my phone first (I was very eager haha).

I knew that knox should be tripped because I installed a custom rom, but there was a part of me (the part in all geeks that is hopeful that logic will not apply) that insisted I check. I just checked it, and I see a beautiful 0x0

Any speculation? Am I late on this discovery?


Is that on a N9005? Does it survive if you power-off and power-on again?
17th January 2014, 09:32 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by xclub_101

Is that on a N9005? Does it survive if you power-off and power-on again?

Yes. I have rebooted it many times. But it's a N900V.
18th January 2014, 12:30 AM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Donate to Me
More
I think KNOX is broken on my device XD I've been doing all sorts of installing today, to try and install CM11 (haven't succeeded. it never boots), and it still says 0x0....

fyi, it's only when I flash CM11 into it that it never boots. Every other rom works wonderfully.
18th January 2014, 03:03 AM   |  #5  
DrawnToLife's Avatar
Senior Member
Toronto
Thanks Meter: 414
 
722 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
More
Proof? Preferably video so you'd be less inclined to pull a stunt.
18th January 2014, 03:46 AM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Donate to Me
More
Unfortunately, I tripped it just today, after trying to use Clockwork Mid Recovery.

I will do what I can to replicate what I did. I have the means to get another N3, but it will take a couple months. I will record the whole process, from first opening to keeping 0x0.

I am not an attention seeker. I know I should have studied what I had while I had it. It's too late though. I must try again..... I will come back to this when I can.

If another reads this before they attempt modifying their device, and would like to try and keep 0x0, PM me. It would speed up the discovery
18th January 2014, 03:52 AM   |  #7  
radicalisto's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag York
Thanks Meter: 1,509
 
3,698 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Donate to Me
More
Sounds like it was just running on a different partition similar to safe/boot strap - and by installing CWM it's tripped your bootloader hence the KNOX 0x1 - Bootloader contains KNOX, so if you can by pass it - 0x0
18th January 2014, 04:01 AM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Donate to Me
More
That's what I was using. I used Kingo, then installed Safestrap. Mystery solved.... personally, I was hoping that this would be more revealing for Note 3 modification.

Sent from my SM-N900V using xda app-developers app

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes