5,597,084 Members 46,697 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Can We Flash Radios?

Tip us?
 
RBarnett09
Old
#1  
RBarnett09's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 283
Posts: 1,199
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Atlanta, GA

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Can We Flash Radios?

I had an HTC phone and I could flash radios. Can the same be done with the S3?
Note that the bootloader is unlocked.

And if so, does anyone know where I can get the latest radio from the I535VRUCML1 update?

Sent from my SCH-I535 using xda app-developers app
Samsung Galaxy S3
LiquidSmooth v3.0-Official (Android 4.4.2)

If someone has ever helped you,
make sure you THANK that person
with the thanks button.
Support your DEVELOPERS and HELPERS.
 
BadUsername
Old
#2  
BadUsername's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 502
Posts: 1,119
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by RBarnett09 View Post
I had an HTC phone and I could flash radios. Can the same be done with the S3?
Note that the bootloader is unlocked.

And if so, does anyone know where I can get the latest radio from the I535VRUCML1 update?

Sent from my SCH-I535 using xda app-developers app
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1788313

Read the entire op.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to BadUsername For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
RBarnett09
Old
#3  
RBarnett09's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 283
Posts: 1,199
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Atlanta, GA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadUsername View Post
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1788313

Read the entire op.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2
Now I'm confused.
It says to not flash anything but then gives links to them and recommends to flash one. :what:

Sent from my SCH-I535 using xda app-developers app
Samsung Galaxy S3
LiquidSmooth v3.0-Official (Android 4.4.2)

If someone has ever helped you,
make sure you THANK that person
with the thanks button.
Support your DEVELOPERS and HELPERS.
 
BadUsername
Old
#4  
BadUsername's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 502
Posts: 1,119
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by RBarnett09 View Post
Now I'm confused.
It says to not flash anything but then gives links to them and recommends to flash one. :what:

Sent from my SCH-I535 using xda app-developers app
Definitely doesn't say that.

It says do not flash an ml1 firmware package. He says specifically to flash the latest mf1 firmware package, then flash the ml1 radio only. It's a little confusing, so make sure you understand it before you flash anything.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to BadUsername For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
RBarnett09
Old
#5  
RBarnett09's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 283
Posts: 1,199
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Atlanta, GA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadUsername View Post
Definitely doesn't say that.

It says do not flash an ml1 firmware package. He says specifically to flash the latest mf1 firmware package, then flash the ml1 radio only. It's a little confusing, so make sure you understand it before you flash anything.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2
So right now I'm rooted with BMB1.
Basically flash the MF1 radio and then flash the ML1 radio, rather than just jumping from BMB1 straight into ML1?

Sorry man, I'm just still confused on what it's saying.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using xda app-developers app
Samsung Galaxy S3
LiquidSmooth v3.0-Official (Android 4.4.2)

If someone has ever helped you,
make sure you THANK that person
with the thanks button.
Support your DEVELOPERS and HELPERS.
 
RBarnett09
Old
(Last edited by RBarnett09; 18th January 2014 at 03:58 AM.)
#6  
RBarnett09's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 283
Posts: 1,199
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Atlanta, GA

 
DONATE TO ME
This is my comprehension...
I'm on MB1 still.
So I must go here and flash MF1 for D2VZW:
http://invisiblek.org/d2firmware.html

Then go here: http://invisiblek.org/sch-i535/modem..._ML1_modem.zip
and the ML1 radio should start downloading... then flash it?

Both of these are good to flash in recovery without any wipes.

Is this correct? Lol.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using xda app-developers app
Samsung Galaxy S3
LiquidSmooth v3.0-Official (Android 4.4.2)

If someone has ever helped you,
make sure you THANK that person
with the thanks button.
Support your DEVELOPERS and HELPERS.
 
BadUsername
Old
#7  
BadUsername's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 502
Posts: 1,119
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by RBarnett09 View Post
This is my comprehension...
I'm on MB1 still.
So I must go here and flash MF1 for D2VZW:
http://invisiblek.org/d2firmware.html

Then go here:
and the ML1 radio should start downloading... then flash it?

Both of these are good to flash in recovery without any wipes.

Is this correct? Lol.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using xda app-developers app
Perfect, exactly right.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to BadUsername For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
RBarnett09
Old
#8  
RBarnett09's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 283
Posts: 1,199
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Atlanta, GA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadUsername View Post
Perfect, exactly right.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2
Dude, you're awesome.
Thank you.
Sorry for the bad comprehension.
My brain is drained and junk.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using xda app-developers app
Samsung Galaxy S3
LiquidSmooth v3.0-Official (Android 4.4.2)

If someone has ever helped you,
make sure you THANK that person
with the thanks button.
Support your DEVELOPERS and HELPERS.
 
RBarnett09
Old
#9  
RBarnett09's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 283
Posts: 1,199
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Atlanta, GA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadUsername View Post
Perfect, exactly right.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2
It doesn't matter what ROM I'm on while flashing either of these files does it?
I'm currently on LiquidSmooth 3.0 nightly... android 4.4.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using xda app-developers app
Samsung Galaxy S3
LiquidSmooth v3.0-Official (Android 4.4.2)

If someone has ever helped you,
make sure you THANK that person
with the thanks button.
Support your DEVELOPERS and HELPERS.
 
jmxc23
Old
#10  
jmxc23's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 330
Posts: 901
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: New York
Quote:
Originally Posted by RBarnett09 View Post
It doesn't matter what ROM I'm on while flashing either of these files does it?
I'm currently on LiquidSmooth 3.0 nightly... android 4.4.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using xda app-developers app
As long as the rom is kit kat based then you are fine.

The Following User Says Thank You to jmxc23 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes