5,606,347 Members 33,351 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[APP][1.5+] aScanmem game cheating/debugging utility

Tip us?
 
Fake-nik-doesnt-make-diff
Old
(Last edited by Fake-nik-doesnt-make-diff; 4th January 2014 at 11:46 AM.) Reason: Minor addition to feature section
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 6
Join Date: Jan 2011
Prompt [APP][1.5+] aScanmem game cheating/debugging utility

I have finally found time to put it together, so welcome aScanmem - simple graphical frontend for scanmem game hacking utility (or at least it is supposed to be that, but currently it is more of command line than GUI). Scanmem uses Linux debugging API to read/write process memory, which allows one to do variety of things from changing single variable in target process to hot-patching byte ranges and more. It has most of features, available in other scanmem-based cheating tools (GameGuardian etc.) and it's selling point is.. being open source, I guess? Well it is developed by myself, and that's all I care about.

Screenshots:
 





Currently implemented features:
  • Screen overlay button, for launching scanmem from other apps (aka GameCIH Toolbox)
  • PID is autodetected
  • Screen overlay console to scan memory of application without leaving it's activity
  • Simple process browser (mostly useful for finding out PIDs of Services)
  • Some level of automation in all of above
  • Frontend and scanmem are protected from Out-Of-Memory killer
  • Some documentation, including scanmem manpage in html format
  • Scanmem 0.13 with few later commits (including fixes for crashes) built for ARMv6/7, x86 and MIPS.

Backend features:
 
  • Fuzzy search (e.g. searching for unknown value)
  • "Freezing" values (also setting different values on independent timers)
  • Viewing and directly editing memory
Data types:
  • 8, 16, 32 and 64-bit integers
  • 16 and 32-bit floats
  • strings (only in native code, no Java strings)
  • byte masks (setting byte masks is also supported)
  • generic types (all integers, all floats, all numbers)


XDA seems to hate new members, so I am not giving you links to scanmem upstream and aScanmem source code. You can find both with Google, if you want.
Attached Files
File Type: apk ProcessChooser-1.0.2.apk - [Click for QR Code] (413.9 KB, 134 views)
File Type: apk ProcessChooser-1.0.3.apk - [Click for QR Code] (414.8 KB, 245 views)
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Fake-nik-doesnt-make-diff For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
ktetreault14
Old
#2  
ktetreault14's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 511
Posts: 1,910
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Largo

 
DONATE TO ME
What games does it work for

Sent from my SM-N900T using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
MidnightDevil
Old
#3  
MidnightDevil's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 725
Posts: 1,970
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Lisbon
Quote:
Originally Posted by ktetreault14 View Post
What games does it work for

Sent from my SM-N900T using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
From what I understood, this isn't the typical "game cheating" app. It allows you to "see" what's stored in the memory, including app values (or game values), search for specific values and modify them. Technically, it should work with every game/app unless it brings some sort of memory protection.

Mobile: LG Optimus 4X HD

Be tolerant and use Good & Common Sense.

--- Interesting Reading ---
Android Terms / Slangs / Definitions and Guides Revised
Free RAM' Is NOT Wasted RAM
What exactly batterystats.bin does.

Get 15GB of Free Space!!!

Visit our IRC channel and participate irc.freenode.net #p880-dev

Don't reply or post just to increase your posts number, make sure you know what you're talking about before posting to reduce the amount of false information around.
MD

 
Fake-nik-doesnt-make-diff
Old
(Last edited by Fake-nik-doesnt-make-diff; 4th January 2014 at 12:03 AM.)
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 6
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by ktetreault14 View Post
What games does it work for
I have tested it with both native ports (Plants and Zombies) and pure Java Android apps (Andor's Trail). In theory it should work with any app, not using some form of memory encryption. At least all apps, that can be hacked with GameGuardian should work. Scanmem supports following data types:
  • 8, 16, 32 and 64-bit integers
  • 16 and 32-bit floats
  • strings (only in native code, no Java strings)
  • byte masks (also can set byte masks)
  • generic types (all integers, all floats)

It also supports fuzzy search (aka search for unknown value). Here is the site: http: // code.google.com /p/scanmem/
 
Fake-nik-doesnt-make-diff
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 6
Join Date: Jan 2011
Version 1.0.3 is out. Main changes are more foolproof PID detection method and fix for annoying crash, which used to be caused by "shell" command. Please test and share your opinion on the app before I start uploading it to markets.
 
moist.vonlipwig
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Jan 2014
Default Got Process killed by signal 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fake-nik-doesnt-make-diff View Post
Version 1.0.3 is out. Main changes are more foolproof PID detection method and fix for annoying crash, which used to be caused by "shell" command. Please test and share your opinion on the app before I start uploading it to markets.
I tried your app and when i pushed the scan button scanmem told me that xxx suitable regions found. When i try to search for a value i get the message: Process killed by signal 7

AFAIK signal 7 is a bus error.

I compiled your code and copied only the scanmem binary on my device (Nexus 7 2012) and with the scanmem binary itself i can search for values without getting a bus error.

Moist
 
Fake-nik-doesnt-make-diff
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 6
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by moist.vonlipwig View Post
When i try to search for a value i get the message: Process killed by signal 7
I don't have Nexus 7. Can't confirm on neither of my devices and in emulators. Have you tried other versions / in different applications?

Please post your ROM version, and, if possible, kernel config.

Quote:
Originally Posted by moist.vonlipwig View Post
I compiled your code and copied only the scanmem binary on my device (Nexus 7 2012) and with the scanmem binary itself i can search for values without getting a bus error.
Which NDK version have you used? Could you build debug and release builds and check if both work?
 
moist.vonlipwig
Old
(Last edited by moist.vonlipwig; 7th January 2014 at 08:39 PM.)
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fake-nik-doesnt-make-diff View Post
Have you tried other versions / in different applications?
No, only tried Version 1.0.3. Wiht two applications (Royal Envoy and Bloons TD5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fake-nik-doesnt-make-diff View Post
Please post your ROM version, and, if possible, kernel config.
Adroid 4.4.2 (factory ROM, rooted)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fake-nik-doesnt-make-diff View Post
Which NDK version have you used?
NDK version is r9c (64-bit).

When i have time, i will test it on my Nexus S as well.

Update:
Tested debug build on Nexus 7 an got Bus Error when i tried to search for a value.

Build again as release and scanmem binary is working as expected (scanmem -p xxx -b)

Update 2:
I added this lines to the .mk file:
APP_OPTIM := release
APP_PLATFORM := android-19
APP_STL := gnustl_static
APP_ABI := armeabi-v7a
 
moist.vonlipwig
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Jan 2014
Hi,

tried ProcessChooser-1.0.3.apk on my Nexus S today.
Again got a Bus Error.

Android Version: 4.3.1
Cyanogenmode Version: 10.2.0-crespo
Kernel Version: 3.0.101
 
Fake-nik-doesnt-make-diff
Old
#10  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 6
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by moist.vonlipwig View Post
tried ProcessChooser-1.0.3.apk on my Nexus S today.
Again got a Bus Error.
Kernel Version: 3.0.101
I am a bit busy with things, but there is an interesting work being published here, which I most likely will incorporate ASAP. I wonder, if those changes are enough to fix memory access issues you are suffering from.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...