Samsung Galaxy Note Edge Hands On – XDA TV

Perhaps one of the more peculiar announcements this year was the curved edge-screened … more

Nova Launcher Update Brings Lollipop Functionality and Feel

One of the most popular third party launcher on Android, Nova Launcher, has just … more

Check Your I/O Usage with Iotop for Android

Ever needed to check the I/O usage of apps? If so, you probably tried searching for an iotop … more

T-Mobile HTC One M8 Gets Selfie-Friendly Android 4.4.4 OTA

The T-Mobie variant of HTC One (M8) just now received an over-the-air update … more
Post Reply

Can N7 2013 3G/LTE make calls in some way?

OP CamilloCorleone

11th January 2014, 10:49 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Hi, I've got a Nexus 7 2013 Wi-Fi only but this device is very nice and having a 7" device with me everyday is not a problem, so I'm thinking to sell my smartphone, sell my Nexus and buy another Nexus 2013 3G/LTE.

Is there a way to make calls? Maybe installing a ROM or doing some hack, everything...
If yes, what must I do?

Thank you and sorry for my bad, bad, bad english.
12th January 2014, 08:47 AM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
35 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2006
You could use Google Voice? That's what I use allows text as well.
The Following User Says Thank You to ty949 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th January 2014, 01:32 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by ty949

You could use Google Voice? That's what I use allows text as well.

No, I can't: here in Italy no one use Google Voice, my friends and my family use Vodafone IT and we call each other free with some offers.
I'm looking for some way to make regoular calls.

Thank you
12th January 2014, 01:44 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 69
 
479 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
I think the only way to make calls is to use VoIP. You can set in the app that when you call from VoIP it will show your real number.. but people will not be able to call you back. Or maybe you could leave your phone at home, and set call forwarding to an VoIP number?
16th January 2014, 05:26 PM   |  #5  
hakcenter's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 624
 
594 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Donate to Me
They don't need Google voice for you to use it.

With voice+ on cm11 you can text through Google voice to any regular phone number.
17th January 2014, 02:07 PM   |  #6  
Duffmantp's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 36
 
246 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Donate to Me
More
There could be a way in the future with some modification, I read the other day that AT&T and Tmobile are testing VoLTE (Voice Over LTE). Sounds like the ATT could be out sooner than Tmobile. Maybe we will get something at the end of the year.
17th January 2014, 11:57 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Flag Temiscaming
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ty949

You could use Google Voice? That's what I use allows text as well.

I use a playstore free app called Fongo...has all of the free services of a home Voip service...echo is an issue though but works great with a set of headphones. Unlimited free calling to all major cities in Canada...ANY phone. Only in Canada though.
Last edited by SMELZBAD; 18th January 2014 at 02:21 PM.
18th January 2014, 04:26 AM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
25 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
It is impossible. U only make call through apps such as Skype, Viber or Whatsapp :v
18th January 2014, 02:17 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
TORONTO
Thanks Meter: 130
 
2,048 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by koller1994

It is impossible. U only make call through apps such as Skype, Viber or Whatsapp :v

use VOIP apps, gry grooveIP or bria tablet

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Nexus 7 (2013) Q&A by ThreadRank