5,604,730 Members 31,846 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Demo Mode? Anyone know how to start it.

Tip us?
 
MrBC
Old
#1  
MrBC's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 151
Posts: 512
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Lisburn
Default [Q] Demo Mode? Anyone know how to start it.

I was poking around with Anti Spy Mobile (there is also a free version) and I came across a system app called Demo Mode. Does anyone have any idea how to run this app? Or, what it could be for?

https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...om.antispycell



Sent from my XT1032 using Tapatalk
-nothing to see, move along
 
Rusty!
Old
#2  
Rusty!'s Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1735
Posts: 7,891
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Portsmouth
Try a launcher that allows custom shortcuts, it might find it in its list.
Google Nexus 5 on Giffgaff UK
The Following User Says Thank You to Rusty! For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
MrBC
Old
#3  
MrBC's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 151
Posts: 512
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Lisburn
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rusty! View Post
Try a launcher that allows custom shortcuts, it might find it in its list.
Good call on that, don't know why it did not not occur to me to try that. It gives me a warning about loss of data. Might wait until I do a factory reset tomorrow to try it out



Sent from my XT1032 using Tapatalk
-nothing to see, move along
 
aspot72
Old
#4  
aspot72's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 41
Posts: 348
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Anywhere with GSM signal
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrBC View Post
Good call on that, don't know why it did not not occur to me to try that. It gives me a warning about loss of data. Might wait until I do a factory reset tomorrow to try it out



Sent from my XT1032 using Tapatalk
Its basically a retail mode (used in display phones). Call/data functionality is disabled,however WiFi & BT are active and only camera and stock pics/sound are available.
ATTENTION: Thanks to Htc_One_X I lost 150. Received money but since then never replied! Beware, he's a FRAUDSTER!!!
Current Devices : Sony Xperia SP C5303
Past devices :Moto G,S3 GT-I9305,S4 mini GT-I9195, N7100,HTC One (M7),GALAXY S III, HTC One S, HTC One X (S720e), Nexus Prime - HTC Pyramid - Nexus S - Samsung Galaxy S II - HTC Desire S - HTC Desire HD - HTC Desire Z - HTC HD2 - HTC Topaz - HTC Touch HD - HTC Touch Pro - HTC Diamond.


Why is Android better ?
The Following User Says Thank You to aspot72 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
badkitties
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 43
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrBC View Post
Good call on that, don't know why it did not not occur to me to try that. It gives me a warning about loss of data. Might wait until I do a factory reset tomorrow to try it out



Sent from my XT1032 using Tapatalk


Which launcher did you use to launch the demo mode?

Thanks!
 
MrBC
Old
#6  
MrBC's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 151
Posts: 512
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Lisburn
Quote:
Originally Posted by badkitties View Post
Which launcher did you use to launch the demo mode?

Thanks!
Nova.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk
-nothing to see, move along
 
badkitties
Old
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 43
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrBC View Post
Nova.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk
Thanks! I found it! I've used Nova for a long time but never knew it could do that.

Too bad it requires a factory reset to exit demo mode...
 
badkitties
Old
#8  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 43
Join Date: Aug 2012
I played with demo mode and it was nothing special.

When I went to factory reset the phone, it asked for a password.
That freaked me out for a bit because I never set a password.

After searching XDA, I discovered that the password that Motorola
used was "demomodeexit"(without the quotes). I'm posting this
here again just in case someone runs into this problem.
The Following User Says Thank You to badkitties For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
MrBC
Old
#9  
MrBC's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 151
Posts: 512
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Lisburn
Quote:
Originally Posted by badkitties View Post
I played with demo mode and it was nothing special.

When I went to factory reset the phone, it asked for a password.
That freaked me out for a bit because I never set a password.

After searching XDA, I discovered that the password that Motorola
used was "demomodeexit"(without the quotes). I'm posting this
here again just in case someone runs into this problem.
That is good to know. I never tried it before I gave the phone to my gf. Perhaps when she finally let's me root it I will give it a go 😊

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk
-nothing to see, move along

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes