Sony Extends AOSP Project to the Xperia Z3

While most OEMs simply don’t care about the custom ROM community, others are doing an … more

How Open Source Can Help Your Project w/ Ethan Yonker – BABBQ2014

People have finally recovered from this years Big Android BBQ … more

Add Frequency Bands to Your Qualcomm Device

Those of you who travel quite a bit undoubtedly own more than one device due to frequency band … more

More Android 5.0 Details Revealed, Microsoft Band Fitness Tracker – XDA TV

Google talks more about Android 5.0 Lollipop! That and much … more
Post Reply

Better reception with MF1 or ML1?

OP RBarnett09

19th January 2014, 05:25 AM   |  #1  
RBarnett09's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Atlanta, GA
Thanks Meter: 287
 
1,221 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Donate to Me
More
I recently came off of the MB1 radio to the newer MF1 radio.
Has anyone been using the new ML1 and compared results of which radio receives the best reception?

I know it may very by geographic location but am interested in what others find.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using xda app-developers app
19th January 2014, 06:00 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 161
 
1,084 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Both seem the same to me. The biggest difference I noticed is ML1 drops down to 3G much more often. I almost never saw 3G with MF1 as it would stay in a low 4G instead. I'm guessing they opted to drop down to 3G for a better user experience if it was stronger than a weak 4G.

Sent from my SCH-I535
The Following User Says Thank You to MrBrady For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th January 2014, 03:28 PM   |  #3  
RBarnett09's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Atlanta, GA
Thanks Meter: 287
 
1,221 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrBrady

Both seem the same to me. The biggest difference I noticed is ML1 drops down to 3G much more often. I almost never saw 3G with MF1 as it would stay in a low 4G instead. I'm guessing they opted to drop down to 3G for a better user experience if it was stronger than a weak 4G.

Sent from my SCH-I535

This would also improve battery life... makes sense.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using xda app-developers app
21st January 2014, 04:15 AM   |  #4  
NoCrAppleHere's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 196
 
576 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
I really don't see any difference and I am on my phone heavy every day from morning to night. I also don't travel much outside of the normal work, shopping, mall, etc areas by me in NY. Furthermore, 4G is very prevalent in my area. I am rarely on anything less than 4G and even in my home, I have 4-5 bars of 4G at all times. #LoveMyBigRed
21st January 2014, 03:44 PM   |  #5  
Lord_Tardis's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
60 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by RBarnett09

I recently came off of the MB1 radio to the newer MF1 radio.
Has anyone been using the new ML1 and compared results of which radio receives the best reception?

I know it may very by geographic location but am interested in what others find.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using xda app-developers app

Do not use ML1 unless you go to a touchwiz 4.3 rom. If you are staying on 4.1.2 or AOSP stick with MF1. If you go to the touchwiz 4.3 you will need the ML1.
21st January 2014, 03:52 PM   |  #6  
RBarnett09's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Atlanta, GA
Thanks Meter: 287
 
1,221 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord_Tardis

Do not use ML1 unless you go to a touchwiz 4.3 rom. If you are staying on 4.1.2 or AOSP stick with MF1. If you go to the touchwiz 4.3 you will need the ML1.

I'm on AOSP 4.4.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using xda app-developers app
21st January 2014, 03:56 PM   |  #7  
Lord_Tardis's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
60 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by RBarnett09

I'm on AOSP 4.4.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using xda app-developers app

Then stick with the MF1 unless you notice connection issues. I was on Nottas PA 4.4 with MF1 and it was great.
22nd January 2014, 05:33 AM   |  #8  
Sandman-007's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Newnan
Thanks Meter: 1,759
 
2,635 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord_Tardis

Then stick with the MF1 unless you notice connection issues. I was on Nottas PA 4.4 with MF1 and it was great.

I'm sorry but you really don't know what you are talking about. You could use the ML1 modern on a 4.1.2 ROM if you wanted. That's OK. What you should NOT do is use an older modem on a newer Android Version (e.g. MB1 on 4.4).

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk
22nd January 2014, 08:34 AM   |  #9  
twistedillutions's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag 209
Thanks Meter: 251
 
2,160 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Im in Cen-Cal i was on ML1 i didn't notice a difference fone still rang mms still went out my status showed the same signal numbers
22nd January 2014, 04:42 PM   |  #10  
beepea206's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 176
 
830 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrBrady

Both seem the same to me. The biggest difference I noticed is ML1 drops down to 3G much more often. I almost never saw 3G with MF1 as it would stay in a low 4G instead. I'm guessing they opted to drop down to 3G for a better user experience if it was stronger than a weak 4G.

Agreed about the similar performance. Except LTE is a more efficient protocol than CDMA is... however if there's a low LTE signal and the phone is smart enough to stop trying to ping the LTE band, that could save some juice. The constant polling and searching, be it data to wifi, drains the battery more than a constant or static location connection.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Verizon Galaxy S III Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank