5,593,248 Members 33,012 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] What are my options to remove cm11 and return to stock

Tip us?
 
damiancds
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Albany
Default [Q] What are my options to remove cm11 and return to stock

okay,

I've unlocked the bootloader, rooted it, it's s-on and installed cm11. After less than a day, I've decided to go back to stock. Unfortunately, because cm11 is kitkat 4.4 it seems I can't even use an ruu, as they'll only go to 4.3 (which it seems i can't use because with s-on, I can't downgrade firmwares).

I've used Twrp 2.6.3.3 for recovery.

i've tried to use moonshine and rum runner, but they both fail, presumably because i've got cm11 installed. Also, when I connect to the pc, it only comes up as a media player or camera (depending on the settings in cyanogenmod), I've got debugging on and i believe everything else I should have.

In device manager, it calls itself "My HTC", yet in utorrent "HTC Aria"

When running (in cmd) "adb devices" it shows my phone, but when I do "fastboot devices" nothing comes up.

i've tried installing htc drivers, but nothing seems to change it. Some have mentioned forcing drivers but I don't know where to get the specific htc one driver.


in the bootloader this is what comes up:

hboot 1.44
m7ul pvt ship s-on rh
radio 4A.12.3750.20
open dsp v31.120.274.0617
eMMC-boot



what are my next steps/options?
 
clsA
Old
#2  
clsA's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 630
Posts: 2,430
Join Date: Aug 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by damiancds View Post
okay,

I've unlocked the bootloader, rooted it, it's s-on and installed cm11. After less than a day, I've decided to go back to stock. Unfortunately, because cm11 is kitkat 4.4 it seems I can't even use an ruu, as they'll only go to 4.3 (which it seems i can't use because with s-on, I can't downgrade firmwares).

I've used Twrp 2.6.3.3 for recovery.

i've tried to use moonshine and rum runner, but they both fail, presumably because i've got cm11 installed. Also, when I connect to the pc, it only comes up as a media player or camera (depending on the settings in cyanogenmod), I've got debugging on and i believe everything else I should have.

In device manager, it calls itself "My HTC", yet in utorrent "HTC Aria"

When running (in cmd) "adb devices" it shows my phone, but when I do "fastboot devices" nothing comes up.

i've tried installing htc drivers, but nothing seems to change it. Some have mentioned forcing drivers but I don't know where to get the specific htc one driver.


in the bootloader this is what comes up:

hboot 1.44
m7ul pvt ship s-on rh
radio 4A.12.3750.20
open dsp v31.120.274.0617
eMMC-boot



what are my next steps/options?
cm 11 did'nt update your firmware
what's your results for fastboot getvar all
run it from the bootloader screen / fastboot usb (remove your serial no and iemi)
HTC One 32 GB AT&T (S-off, Unlocked, Rooted)
Please help keep www.htc1guru.com Alive and Donate
The Following User Says Thank You to clsA For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
damiancds
Old
(Last edited by damiancds; 18th January 2014 at 04:56 AM.) Reason: figured it out
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Albany
all it says is "< waiting for device >"

this leads me to believe there's a driver error?

Sorry, I'm an idiot

C:\OneDrivers_Fastboot\Fastboot>fastboot getvar all
(bootloader) version: 0.5
(bootloader) version-bootloader: 1.44.0000
(bootloader) version-baseband: 4A.17.3250.20
(bootloader) version-cpld: None
(bootloader) version-microp: None
(bootloader) version-main: 1.26.502.15
(bootloader) version-misc: PVT SHIP S-ON


(bootloader) meid: 00000000000000
(bootloader) product: m7_ul
(bootloader) platform: HBOOT-8064
(bootloader) modelid: PN0712000
(bootloader) cidnum: CWS__001
(bootloader) battery-status: good
(bootloader) battery-voltage: 4315mV
(bootloader) partition-layout: Generic
(bootloader) security: on
(bootloader) build-mode: SHIP
(bootloader) boot-mode: FASTBOOT
getvar:all FAILED (status read failed (Too many links))
finished. total time: 0.056s
 
clsA
Old
(Last edited by clsA; 18th January 2014 at 05:29 AM.)
#4  
clsA's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 630
Posts: 2,430
Join Date: Aug 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by damiancds View Post
all it says is "< waiting for device >"

this leads me to believe there's a driver error?

Sorry, I'm an idiot

C:\OneDrivers_Fastboot\Fastboot>fastboot getvar all
(bootloader) version: 0.5
(bootloader) version-bootloader: 1.44.0000
(bootloader) version-baseband: 4A.17.3250.20
(bootloader) version-cpld: None
(bootloader) version-microp: None
(bootloader) version-main: 1.26.502.15
(bootloader) version-misc: PVT SHIP S-ON


(bootloader) meid: 00000000000000
(bootloader) product: m7_ul
(bootloader) platform: HBOOT-8064
(bootloader) modelid: PN0712000
(bootloader) cidnum: CWS__001
(bootloader) battery-status: good
(bootloader) battery-voltage: 4315mV
(bootloader) partition-layout: Generic
(bootloader) security: on
(bootloader) build-mode: SHIP
(bootloader) boot-mode: FASTBOOT
getvar:all FAILED (status read failed (Too many links))
finished. total time: 0.056s
this is the last AT&T RUU it will update you to android 4.3 >>
http://www.htc1guru.com/dld/ruu_m7_u..._signed_2-exe/

if that link is slow you can get it directly from HTC here >>
http://www.htc.com/us/support/htc-one-att/news/

you'll have to relock your bootloader
fastboot oem lock
then run the RUU with your phone sitting at the fastboot usb screen
HTC One 32 GB AT&T (S-off, Unlocked, Rooted)
Please help keep www.htc1guru.com Alive and Donate
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to clsA For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
damiancds
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Albany
Worked beautifully. Thank You.

there's only two niggling things. when you pull down for your notifications, in the top right used to be settings, now it's quick tiles like cm11.

Also, in my computer, the device shows up as portable media player, where it used to just show up as htc one and an icon that looked like it. (from quick reading, it seems this is normal.)

Thanks again for all your help
 
clsA
Old
#6  
clsA's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 630
Posts: 2,430
Join Date: Aug 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by damiancds View Post
Worked beautifully. Thank You.

there's only two niggling things. when you pull down for your notifications, in the top right used to be settings, now it's quick tiles like cm11.

Also, in my computer, the device shows up as portable media player, where it used to just show up as htc one and an icon that looked like it. (from quick reading, it seems this is normal.)

Thanks again for all your help
yeah welcome to android 4.3 .. it's different, wait till you get sense 5.5 in the kitkat update
HTC One 32 GB AT&T (S-off, Unlocked, Rooted)
Please help keep www.htc1guru.com Alive and Donate
 
damiancds
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Albany
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsA View Post
yeah welcome to android 4.3 .. it's different, wait till you get sense 5.5 in the kitkat update
I know now, a rough search turned up the same....

One last question,

I'm sticking with stock, but i want to root it, everything i've done has been unsuccessful, where before first time and it was done, I was reading the guide over here, http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...2273376&page=2 , and it mentions that I can't root a stock rom? that means I would need to grab one of the rooted ones then, correct? I know I've seen a link to them around here, but can't seem to find it, let alone which one I should use.
 
clsA
Old
#8  
clsA's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 630
Posts: 2,430
Join Date: Aug 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by damiancds View Post
I know now, a rough search turned up the same....

One last question,

I'm sticking with stock, but i want to root it, everything i've done has been unsuccessful, where before first time and it was done, I was reading the guide over here, http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...2273376&page=2 , and it mentions that I can't root a stock rom? that means I would need to grab one of the rooted ones then, correct? I know I've seen a link to them around here, but can't seem to find it, let alone which one I should use.
after running the RUU your starting from scratch
1.unlock bootloader at HTCDEV.com
2. Flash custom recovery I recommend TWRP 2.6.3.3
Quote:
How to flash?

1) Download your recovery
2) Put it on your adb/fastboot folder
3) Rename it to recovery.img
4) Open a CMD/Teminal windows on adb folder
5) Put your phone in fastboot
6) Flash the recovery with the command:

fastboot flash recovery recovery.img
fastboot erase cache
fastboot reboot-bootloader
3. flash custom rom 3.17.502.3 Stock Rooted

That should do it if your Root needs updated
download and flash this same as a rom
http://download.chainfire.eu/372/Sup...erSU-v1.86.zip
HTC One 32 GB AT&T (S-off, Unlocked, Rooted)
Please help keep www.htc1guru.com Alive and Donate

The Following User Says Thank You to clsA For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes