Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,730,201 Members 52,631 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Trigger phone apps from watch?

Tip us?
 
DigitalOSH
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 11
Join Date: Jul 2010
Default [Q] Trigger phone apps from watch?

Sorry if this has been asked or answered before. I've googled and searched XDA with no luck. I may just not know the terms to use.

I'm wondering if there's any way to start apps or shortcuts on the phone from the watch? Has anyone been able to do this?
 
hurdlejade
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 64
Posts: 457
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by DigitalOSH View Post
Sorry if this has been asked or answered before. I've googled and searched XDA with no luck. I may just not know the terms to use.

I'm wondering if there's any way to start apps or shortcuts on the phone from the watch? Has anyone been able to do this?
i haven't found a way, but do you mind sharing with us what are you trying to achieve?
 
DigitalOSH
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 11
Join Date: Jul 2010
I'd like to be able to trigger tasker tasks that control music around the house, trigger playlists, use Google voice search on the phone from the watch etc. I also have lots of contextual triggers set up on my phone that would be interesting to respond to on the watch.

Sent from my SM-N900W8 using xda app-developers app
 
le3ky
Old
#4  
le3ky's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 103
Posts: 496
Join Date: Jan 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Are you using tasker? You can start phone tasker tasks (which I guess can simply be apps as well) from the watch that way?

Sent from my GT-N7100 using Tapatalk
 
DigitalOSH
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 11
Join Date: Jul 2010
I am using tasker on the phone yes. How would I do that?

Sent from my SM-N900W8 using xda app-developers app
 
lopan2000
Old
#6  
lopan2000's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 27
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by DigitalOSH View Post
I am using tasker on the phone yes. How would I do that?

Sent from my SM-N900W8 using xda app-developers app
You need the plugin Autoremote (full version, not the lite) There's a thread on how to use it. Search for Autoremote.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Cast Your Device Screen the Way it Was Meant to be with Second Screen

Not too long ago here on the XDA Portal, we covered how Google had made … more

Samsung Gear Live Unboxed the XDA Way – XDA Developer TV

XDA Developer TV Producer AdamOutleris known for his XDA Unboxingseries where … more

Make Your Own DIY Capacitive Stylus

The XDA Portal is a place where we like to talkabout things that are interesting, fun, and sometimes … more