FORUMS

What Are the Best Looking Apps on Android?

As more developers are updating their apps with Material Design elements, we’re … more

Cyngn Explained: Who’s Cyanogen, What’s Cyanogen OS?

While Cyanogen, Inc has been the source of many headlines lately, there … more

Verizon Moto X 2014 Receives Root On Kitkat 4.4.4

The Verizon Moto X 2014 has finally received root, albeit only on Kitkat 4.4.4 … more

Android 5.1.1 Released, Google Cell Service – XDA TV

Android Lollipop 5.1.1 has been released. That and much more news is covered … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] Trigger phone apps from watch?

19th January 2014, 04:45 AM |#1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Sorry if this has been asked or answered before. I've googled and searched XDA with no luck. I may just not know the terms to use.

I'm wondering if there's any way to start apps or shortcuts on the phone from the watch? Has anyone been able to do this?
 
 
19th January 2014, 03:58 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 71
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DigitalOSH

Sorry if this has been asked or answered before. I've googled and searched XDA with no luck. I may just not know the terms to use.

I'm wondering if there's any way to start apps or shortcuts on the phone from the watch? Has anyone been able to do this?

i haven't found a way, but do you mind sharing with us what are you trying to achieve?
19th January 2014, 04:47 PM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
I'd like to be able to trigger tasker tasks that control music around the house, trigger playlists, use Google voice search on the phone from the watch etc. I also have lots of contextual triggers set up on my phone that would be interesting to respond to on the watch.

Sent from my SM-N900W8 using xda app-developers app
19th January 2014, 05:16 PM |#4  
le3ky's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 112
 
Donate to Me
More
Are you using tasker? You can start phone tasker tasks (which I guess can simply be apps as well) from the watch that way?

Sent from my GT-N7100 using Tapatalk
19th January 2014, 05:17 PM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
I am using tasker on the phone yes. How would I do that?

Sent from my SM-N900W8 using xda app-developers app
19th January 2014, 05:46 PM |#6  
lopan2000's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DigitalOSH

I am using tasker on the phone yes. How would I do that?

Sent from my SM-N900W8 using xda app-developers app

You need the plugin Autoremote (full version, not the lite) There's a thread on how to use it. Search for Autoremote.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes