Build an Impractical But Awesome Lego Mindstorm Dock

The vast majority of what we cover here on the XDA-Developers News Portal relates to … more

MultiROM Makes its Way Over to the HTC One (M8)

While browsing our forum, you will undoubtedly find more than a few enticing ROMs available … more

Welcome to the New XDA-Developers Portal!

You may recall that a few weeks ago, we opened up the XDA-2015 forum themesto intrepid users … more

An Android Enthusiast’s Apple iPhone 6 Challenge

The media has gone batty again over Apple “revolutionizing” smartphones. … more
Post Reply

[Q] samsung captivate boot loops

19th January 2014, 03:19 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
i have a att samsung captivate sgh-i897 and i flashed kit kat on it. it was working fine until one day it booted up to recovery and i couldnt get the phone to boot up. so i decided to flash back to a stock of gingerbread (i used the odin3 to do this) and that was successful. the only thing was my internal and external sd are no longer being detected and when i needed to reboot the phone it would continuously boot loop. ive looked every where for solutions. i just wanted to get everything back to normal so i tried to flash a what i believed was stock 2.2 froyo to it through hiemdall (SamsungCaptivate-SGHi897-UCKB2-NoRoot-One-Click) because i read it was the safest way to flash. after doing so i either get a black screen after boot or in boot loop and i can still get into download mode but when i try to run odin it wont detect the phone at all. can anyone help me get everything back to stock and get my phone usable again and possibly get my external sd card working again?

p.s. ive tried to wipe the cache and factory reset wipe too.
Last edited by drego317; 19th January 2014 at 03:38 PM.
19th January 2014, 04:38 PM   |  #2  
4-2ndtwin's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Arkansas
Thanks Meter: 2,481
 
3,037 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
Arrow
^
Go here... Stock I897UCKK4 Android 2.3.5 One Clicks *Heimdall and Odin*

If u want to use the Heimdall version that I linked, then use the same USB port that u used to flash the other heimdall one click that u mentioned.
If u want to use the Odin version, then use a different USB port, Because the heimdall usb drivers are installed only to the one specific usb port that u r using at the time of the install. That is more than likely why the computer is not recognizing ur phone when u r trying to use odin.

Here is another thread that may help as well... Captivate - PC Connection Issues, Download Mode and Recovery Mode Help
19th January 2014, 06:40 PM   |  #3  
Val D.'s Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 393
 
585 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Sounds like failing internal memory to me.
19th January 2014, 07:00 PM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
ok
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4-2ndtwin

^
Go here... Stock I897UCKK4 Android 2.3.5 One Clicks *Heimdall and Odin*

If u want to use the Heimdall version that I linked, then use the same USB port that u used to flash the other heimdall one click that u mentioned.
If u want to use the Odin version, then use a different USB port, Because the heimdall usb drivers are installed only to the one specific usb port that u r using at the time of the install. That is more than likely why the computer is not recognizing ur phone when u r trying to use odin.

Here is another thread that may help as well... Captivate - PC Connection Issues, Download Mode and Recovery Mode Help

i downloaded the heimdall with no bootloaders and no difference. im still getting boot loops. should i try it with bootloaders and see that works?
19th January 2014, 07:22 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Val D.

Sounds like failing internal memory to me.

is there anything i can do to boot it up if thats the case?
20th January 2014, 12:12 AM   |  #6  
Val D.'s Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 393
 
585 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
I'm not 100% sure this is the case, but failed internal memory issue happens to Captivate phones and the symptoms are same to what you describe. The phone can't read part of the memory and reboots constantly no matter what ROM you attempt to flash. Search the forum for internal/external swap methods. I never had to deal with this issue and have no experience with workarounds.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes