Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Google Chrome browser goes Black

OP eviltwin_52s

20th January 2014, 02:25 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
53 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Curious is anyone else having issues with their Google Chrome Browser? I have reset my phone multiple times and it is still happening, so not sure if it is a device issue or Software.

When I open up Google Chrome the first time it will go to the Home Page. Then if I do something else like send a text message or view email, then come back to Google and open it by tapping the Google Icon, the screen will go black and you can see the Web Browser URL. If I hit refresh or tap multiple times in the middle of the screen then the Google web browser will show up again.

I have closed out of all my other applications thinking it was memory, be even after doing this it still does the same thing. When I go back to see what apps are open, nothing is there other than the Chrome browser. I have done a rest multiple times by pushing the small button next to the SIM Card and even done two Master Resets and the issue still occurs.

Do I consider my phone faulty due to this? It is sort of annoying, because this seems to have just started happening.
20th January 2014, 02:40 AM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 18
 
58 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by eviltwin_52s

Curious is anyone else having issues with their Google Chrome Browser? I have reset my phone multiple times and it is still happening, so not sure if it is a device issue or Software.

When I open up Google Chrome the first time it will go to the Home Page. Then if I do something else like send a text message or view email, then come back to Google and open it by tapping the Google Icon, the screen will go black and you can see the Web Browser URL. If I hit refresh or tap multiple times in the middle of the screen then the Google web browser will show up again.

I have closed out of all my other applications thinking it was memory, be even after doing this it still does the same thing. When I go back to see what apps are open, nothing is there other than the Chrome browser. I have done a rest multiple times by pushing the small button next to the SIM Card and even done two Master Resets and the issue still occurs.

Do I consider my phone faulty due to this? It is sort of annoying, because this seems to have just started happening.

Don't worry, there's a deadly bug in new Chrome 32.0.1799.99 build.
In this case it doesn't help to delete cache, dalvik, data, mine was force-closing multiple times.
Just downgrade to 31.0.1650.59 and everything will be O.K.
20th January 2014, 02:52 AM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
53 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by cCclown

Don't worry, there's a deadly bug in new Chrome 32.0.1799.99 build.
In this case it doesn't help to delete cache, dalvik, data, mine was force-closing multiple times.
Just downgrade to 31.0.1650.59 and everything will be O.K.



Thanks for the reply, now the stupid question how do I down grade my Chrome browser? I am running the stock Sony Rom on 4.3.

I appreciate your help.
20th January 2014, 02:58 AM   |  #4  
Account currently disabled
Flag Kepler-34b
Thanks Meter: 5,663
 
15,002 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by eviltwin_52s

Thanks for the reply, now the stupid question how do I down grade my Chrome browser? I am running the stock Sony Rom on 4.3.

I appreciate your help.

You'll have to dig one up by googling, or you can install Chrome Beta and see if it's fixed.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes