Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,808,448 Members 40,735 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Chrome mobile data compression

Tip us?
 
rcsrich
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 84
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Richmond, VA
Default [Q] Chrome mobile data compression

I'm hoping someone else here has updated to Chrome version 32 I keep reading it is supposed to have a data compression option, but when I go to settings, bandwidth management, the option to turn it on isn't available. Does it only show up on devices with mobile data? I was hoping to speed up the loading of pages a little, it's often slow even on wifi.

Thanks in advance!
 
Hanger84
Old
#2  
Hanger84's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 279
Posts: 254
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Wheeling, WV

 
DONATE TO ME
It's under Bandwidth Usage. Just check Reduce Data Usage. If it's not there, might try clearing the data and checking again.

The Following User Says Thank You to Hanger84 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
rcsrich
Old
(Last edited by rcsrich; 18th January 2014 at 06:10 PM.)
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 84
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Richmond, VA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hanger84 View Post
It's under Bandwidth Usage. Just check Reduce Data Usage. If it's not there, might try clearing the data and checking again.
Hadn't thought about clearing data, I'll give that a shot & report back.

UPDATE: That did the trick! Many thanks Hanger84.
 
rcsrich
Old
#4  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 84
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Richmond, VA
Well, I installed Chrome v32 on my GS3 & can't get the option to show up no way, no how. I've tried clearing data, uninstalling, reinstalling, making sure data isn't being restored from my Google account, etc. I give up.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes