Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Chrome mobile data compression

OP rcsrich

18th January 2014, 02:45 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Flag Richmond, VA
Thanks Meter: 4
 
84 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
I'm hoping someone else here has updated to Chrome version 32 I keep reading it is supposed to have a data compression option, but when I go to settings, bandwidth management, the option to turn it on isn't available. Does it only show up on devices with mobile data? I was hoping to speed up the loading of pages a little, it's often slow even on wifi.

Thanks in advance!
18th January 2014, 10:08 AM   |  #2  
Hanger84's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Wheeling, WV
Thanks Meter: 279
 
254 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Donate to Me
More
It's under Bandwidth Usage. Just check Reduce Data Usage. If it's not there, might try clearing the data and checking again.
The Following User Says Thank You to Hanger84 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th January 2014, 06:58 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Flag Richmond, VA
Thanks Meter: 4
 
84 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hanger84

It's under Bandwidth Usage. Just check Reduce Data Usage. If it's not there, might try clearing the data and checking again.

Hadn't thought about clearing data, I'll give that a shot & report back.

UPDATE: That did the trick! Many thanks Hanger84.
Last edited by rcsrich; 18th January 2014 at 07:10 PM.
20th January 2014, 04:18 AM   |  #4  
OP Member
Flag Richmond, VA
Thanks Meter: 4
 
84 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Well, I installed Chrome v32 on my GS3 & can't get the option to show up no way, no how. I've tried clearing data, uninstalling, reinstalling, making sure data isn't being restored from my Google account, etc. I give up.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes