MultiROM Makes its Way Over to the HTC One (M8)

While browsing our forum, you will undoubtedly find more than a few enticing ROMs available … more

Welcome to the New XDA-Developers Portal!

You may recall that a few weeks ago, we opened up the XDA-2015 forum themesto intrepid users … more

An Android Enthusiast’s Apple iPhone 6 Challenge

The media has gone batty again over Apple “revolutionizing” smartphones. … more

Sony to Extend its AOSP Program to Other Devices

Sony will be offering its users the possibility to use AOSP ROMs as an alternative to the … more
Post Reply

(Q)Stock Rooted 4.3 Recovery?

19th January 2014, 06:48 AM   |  #1  
ATGkompressor's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
169 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
What happens if I reboot to recovery mode via Xposed Framework's custom boot menu? I'm afraid to do anything because of this bootloader penitentiary.

Plus I think I'm gonna wait a week or so to Safestrap. I sure would love to have a nandroid!

Sent from my SCH-I535 using xda app-developers app
19th January 2014, 07:12 AM   |  #2  
Mtsprite's Avatar
Member
Flag Houston
Thanks Meter: 48
 
95 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ATGkompressor

What happens if I reboot to recovery mode via Xposed Framework's custom boot menu? I'm afraid to do anything because of this bootloader penitentiary.

Plus I think I'm gonna wait a week or so to Safestrap. I sure would love to have a nandroid!

Sent from my SCH-I535 using xda app-developers app

All that will happen is that you be booted into the stock recovery.
19th January 2014, 07:28 AM   |  #3  
ATGkompressor's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
169 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
What are my options once there? Can I nand?

Via Solitary Confined SGS3
19th January 2014, 08:49 AM   |  #4  
5ft24's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bellingham
Thanks Meter: 112
 
629 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ATGkompressor

What are my options once there? Can I nand?

Via Solitary Confined SGS3

Yes. Safestraps recovery is like TWRP.
It runs seperately from the stock recovery so as not to hork the phone.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using xda app-developers app
20th January 2014, 06:36 AM   |  #5  
ATGkompressor's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
169 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
I'm confused, I haven't installed the safestrap yet. I've rooted with saferoot and that's it...
Via Solitary Confined SGS3
20th January 2014, 06:50 AM   |  #6  
Mtsprite's Avatar
Member
Flag Houston
Thanks Meter: 48
 
95 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ATGkompressor

I'm confused, I haven't installed the safestrap yet. I've rooted with saferoot and that's it...
Via Solitary Confined SGS3

your options in the stock recovery are very limited you can factory reset but you cannot nand.
20th January 2014, 06:51 AM   |  #7  
BadUsername's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 756
 
1,505 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by ATGkompressor

I'm confused, I haven't installed the safestrap yet. I've rooted with saferoot and that's it...
Via Solitary Confined SGS3

You can't do much in a stock recovery.

You can install a custom recovery called safestrap if you want, but right now you can't nandroid.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2
20th January 2014, 06:54 AM   |  #8  
Mtsprite's Avatar
Member
Flag Houston
Thanks Meter: 48
 
95 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadUsername

You can't do much in a stock recovery.

You can install a custom recovery called safestrap if you want, but right now you can't nandroid.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2

i used to have a gs4 with safestrap, and unless somethings changed i dont think it has ever had the ability to nand backup. Correct me if im wrong though.
20th January 2014, 07:23 AM   |  #9  
BadUsername's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 756
 
1,505 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mtsprite

i used to have a gs4 with safestrap, and unless somethings changed i dont think it has ever had the ability to nand backup. Correct me if im wrong though.

You can nandroid on each system. You make a backup just like normal, but it only backs up the slot that you want it to. It doesn't backup every slot at once.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Top Threads in Verizon Galaxy S III Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank