Post Reply

[SOLVED] [Q] Possible Soft Bricked Note

19th January 2014, 08:03 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
Hello all, I am looking for a little advice. I'll give as much backstory as possible:

I used the cyanogenmod one click installer, everything went well. Since the one click installer put twrp on I went and put clockworkmod on since im more familure with it. Everything fine restarted and phone worked however after I installed (attempted to install facebook messeger) the device rebooted and would not come back on. Sat for 5 mins vibrating over and over and over. Its not completely dead I am able to get to recovery and to download mode and believe I just had a bad download/install. Since i have Clockworkmod on here, I am thinking I could just install the most up to date stable rom available but I have a question:

How do I put the rom zip files on phone if phone wont come on.


Any advice towards this would be appreciated.
Last edited by GregariousKrisp; 20th January 2014 at 05:21 PM.
19th January 2014, 11:28 AM   |  #2  
Agoattamer's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag PA
Thanks Meter: 492
 
2,072 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
First off, where did you find a cyanogenmod one click installer? Possibly that was not meant for the I717.

Don't you have an external micro sd card? Place the card in your computer and copy the ROM zip to it. Put it back in your phone and use it to flash.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Agoattamer For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th January 2014, 01:11 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Agoattamer

First off, where did you find a cyanogenmod one click installer? Possibly that was not meant for the I717.

Don't you have an external micro sd card? Place the card in your computer and copy the ROM zip to it. Put it back in your phone and use it to flash.

Sure thank you for the reply, from beta . download . cyanogenmod . org /install apparently it detects your phones version and does everything for you really, no option to pick your model/version # it auto detects. sorry for spaces it wouldnt let me post link complete.

And I did not know I could put the zips on external SD I had though only internal SD is option for where to put roms
Last edited by GregariousKrisp; 19th January 2014 at 01:17 PM.
19th January 2014, 03:37 PM   |  #4  
captemo's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kentucky
Thanks Meter: 1,018
 
1,512 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by GregariousKrisp

Sure thank you for the reply, from beta . download . cyanogenmod . org /install apparently it detects your phones version and does everything for you really, no option to pick your model/version # it auto detects. sorry for spaces it wouldnt let me post link complete.

And I did not know I could put the zips on external SD I had though only internal SD is option for where to put roms

Can put anything there.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I527 using xda app-developers app
The Following User Says Thank You to captemo For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th January 2014, 02:37 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
I just wanted to say thank you for your replies, everything is up and running.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to GregariousKrisp For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th January 2014, 05:09 PM   |  #6  
440bro's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cleveland ROCKS!!!
Thanks Meter: 413
 
1,181 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by GregariousKrisp

I just wanted to say thank you for your replies, everything is up and running.

Thanks for reporting back that everything is up and running. Not many people do. Can you do me one more favor? Can you change the title to include [solved] please. This way people with similar problems will know this thread may solve their situation.

Thanks
The Following User Says Thank You to 440bro For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th January 2014, 05:16 PM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by 440bro

Thanks for reporting back that everything is up and running. Not many people do. Can you do me one more favor? Can you change the title to include [solved] please. This way people with similar problems will know this thread may solve their situation.

Thanks

Sure, I'm not sure why no one comes back if people take the time to reply and help them, a thank you is the least they could do.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes