Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] question about MHL to HDMI adapter and dual booting android roms

OP psm510

17th January 2014, 01:05 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
76 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Hey all, I got an OEM samsung mhl adapter, but it doesn't work because apparently the feature to make it work is not included on the CyanogenMod or any AOSP-based ROM. What non AOSP rom would you recommend? Im coming from Task650's 4.2.2 AOKP rom on my S3.

Also, is there any such thing as a dual boot for android phones similar to the way people dual boot with windows/linux? That way i can switch from my rom of choice to a stock rom so i can use my mhl/hdmi adapter whenever i want without having to clear the dalvik cache, reinstall gapps and all that jazz for a clean install.

Thanks for your help!
17th January 2014, 10:01 PM   |  #2  
dntesinfrno's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sumter, SC
Thanks Meter: 72
 
296 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
As far as i know there hasn't been a dual boot option developed for the GS3, i check regularly as this is something i wouldn't mind playing with. The best bet for you to have two working ROM's is nandroid backup/restore. Takes a little more time than a true dual boot option but if you are only using the stock for HDMI output you would only need to make one backup for the stock ROM. Your daily ROM obviously you would have to backup any time you wanted to load up the stock backup so that a simple nandroid restore would bring you back to where you left off.
18th January 2014, 12:25 AM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
76 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Okay cool. So when you do Nandroid Backups/Restore all you do is back it up, then load it when needed? You dont have to do anything like clearing caches and what not for a clean boot?
20th January 2014, 06:50 PM   |  #4  
dntesinfrno's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sumter, SC
Thanks Meter: 72
 
296 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by psm510

Okay cool. So when you do Nandroid Backups/Restore all you do is back it up, then load it when needed? You dont have to do anything like clearing caches and what not for a clean boot?

Correct, those partitions are part of the backup and are re-written during the restore process.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes