5,597,397 Members 31,353 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

can't cast entire screen

Tip us?
 
gsd17
Old
(Last edited by gsd17; 18th January 2014 at 07:52 AM.)
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 30
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: San Jose
Default can't cast entire screen

Hi everyone, so I just got my Chromecast but I'm having issues casting entire screen on my main PC (laptop works fine). What could possibly be blocking this? I've mess with all my routers setting from 2.4Ghz to 5GHz band and it still doesnt work. I've also tried re-downloading flash, disabled UAC, firewall, anti-virus, and anything I could think of that could cause this. Does anyone have any idea what it could be? I've searched a tons but it doesnt seem to be a common problem. Regular casting works fine but it immediate errors when I try desktop mode.



Comparing between my PC and laptop there is a few software difference.

Firmware: 14975

PC
-Windows 8.1
-Latest Chromebrowser
-Latest flashplayer
-Connected on 5Ghz
-UAC disabled
-Win firewall disabled

Laptop
-Windows 8
-Older Chromebrowser 31.0.1653
-Connected on 5Ghz
-UAC disabled
-Win firewall disabled

The only thing left I havent try is plugging direct Ethernet to the router instead of connecting wireless (its an HTPC) if the wi-fi card is the problem.

Really about just give up at this point, so frustrating!!
 
k9cop
Old
#2  
k9cop's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 34
Posts: 110
Join Date: Dec 2011
Could this possibly help? It's a few posts up.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=49532776

The guy at the end of the thread has a workaround, but there are several comments with similar problems and solutions. Hope it helps.


Sent from my SCH-I605 using xda app-developers app
The Following User Says Thank You to k9cop For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
bhiga
Old
#3  
bhiga's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 557
Posts: 1,574
Join Date: Oct 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsd17 View Post
Hi everyone, so I just got my Chromecast but I'm having issues casting entire screen on my main PC (laptop works fine). What could possibly be blocking this?
Definitely try a wired connection if you can - that will help rule out general wireless congestion.
-- Brandon // Google Chromecast threads: FAQ - READ THIS FIRST! || Rootable Serial Numbers
Mini-FAQ: What's the big deal with root? || Mini-FAQ: Rooting with FlashCast || Assemble a powered OTG cable
WiFi Bandwidth and Router considerations || Not all 1080p/720p is created equal
Follow the rules / Use 'Search' before posting / Post in the correct sections / Do not spam the board / Press thanks, don't post 'Thanks'
The Following User Says Thank You to bhiga For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
gsd17
Old
#4  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 30
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: San Jose
Quote:
Originally Posted by bhiga View Post
Definitely try a wired connection if you can - that will help rule out general wireless congestion.

So it was a bandwidth/connection issue. I switch to 2.4Ghz and it works!

My HTPC is using the onboard wi-fi card and it seems picky on the 5Ghz upstream with my router. The strange thing is that I never got that "bandwidth connection notification" or orange icon when Chromecast is having network problem; so I never bother to go back and check.

I also check out the Chromecast app and it doesnt even pick up my 5Ghz band so maybe there is some compatibility issue there.

Thanks all for the help!
 
bhiga
Old
#5  
bhiga's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 557
Posts: 1,574
Join Date: Oct 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsd17 View Post
So it was a bandwidth/connection issue. I switch to 2.4Ghz and it works!

My HTPC is using the onboard wi-fi card and it seems picky on the 5Ghz upstream with my router. The strange thing is that I never got that "bandwidth connection notification" or orange icon when Chromecast is having network problem; so I never bother to go back and check.

I also check out the Chromecast app and it doesnt even pick up my 5Ghz band so maybe there is some compatibility issue there.

Thanks all for the help!
Glad you got it figured out. The Chromecast PC app is geared to connect to the Chromecast setup AP which is 2.4GHz.
The Chromecast Android app will use on 5GHz but only after Chromecast is set up, when it isn't trying to actively set up a Chromecast.

First I'd run Chromecast as it is and see if you encounter any issues. If not, you could just leave it alone...
But if curiosity keeps you up at night, it's possible there's a compatibility issue with your HTPC's wireless NIC and your router. Try setting your router's 5GHz AP to a lower speed range and see if that helps the connection stability.
-- Brandon // Google Chromecast threads: FAQ - READ THIS FIRST! || Rootable Serial Numbers
Mini-FAQ: What's the big deal with root? || Mini-FAQ: Rooting with FlashCast || Assemble a powered OTG cable
WiFi Bandwidth and Router considerations || Not all 1080p/720p is created equal
Follow the rules / Use 'Search' before posting / Post in the correct sections / Do not spam the board / Press thanks, don't post 'Thanks'
 
rkanwar
Old
#6  
rkanwar's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 57
Posts: 1,198
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: West Bromwich
Hi how do I cast to PC? I mean where would I connect the ccast to and what app do I need? I'm new to this lol

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk


Sony Xperia S | Asus Nexus 7
 
bhiga
Old
#7  
bhiga's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 557
Posts: 1,574
Join Date: Oct 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by rkanwar View Post
Hi how do I cast to PC? I mean where would I connect the ccast to and what app do I need? I'm new to this lol
Chromecast is made to show video on a television. You could hook it up to your PC monitor if it has an HDMI input, or you could use the CR Cast extension (check FAQ for link) to make computer Chrome act like a Chromecast.

Only really makes sense if you have an HTPC though... otherwise it's like using a TV to remote control another TV.
-- Brandon // Google Chromecast threads: FAQ - READ THIS FIRST! || Rootable Serial Numbers
Mini-FAQ: What's the big deal with root? || Mini-FAQ: Rooting with FlashCast || Assemble a powered OTG cable
WiFi Bandwidth and Router considerations || Not all 1080p/720p is created equal
Follow the rules / Use 'Search' before posting / Post in the correct sections / Do not spam the board / Press thanks, don't post 'Thanks'

The Following User Says Thank You to bhiga For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes