Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

TF300t constantly booting into recovery

OP tjk639

20th January 2014, 06:52 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
111 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
I have a TF300t that I have been doing custom ROMs on for over a year now. Not to long ago it messed up and I ended up doing a ADB side load of the the current software from ASUS to recover it. I wanted to try CM11 so I followed the directions to get the right version of TWRP installed. I noticed that it was really slow at stuff like wiping cache and dalvik, so I decided to reflash TWRP through ADB instead of a zip file.

All went well and I got into android and went into TWRP to see if everything went okay. I'm in TWRP, but I cannot do anything. Only system will mount and it says I am not rooted and wants to install supersu. If I reboot or power off it just goes back into recovery. Doing the power + vol down will not get me into the bootloader and will instead just power cycle at the ASUS logo.

Any idea on how to fix this, or did I just royally brick my tablet?
20th January 2014, 07:02 PM   |  #2  
cmendonc2's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 384
 
1,097 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjk639

I have a TF300t that I have been doing custom ROMs on for over a year now. Not to long ago it messed up and I ended up doing a ADB side load of the the current software from ASUS to recover it. I wanted to try CM11 so I followed the directions to get the right version of TWRP installed. I noticed that it was really slow at stuff like wiping cache and dalvik, so I decided to reflash TWRP through ADB instead of a zip file.

All went well and I got into android and went into TWRP to see if everything went okay. I'm in TWRP, but I cannot do anything. Only system will mount and it says I am not rooted and wants to install supersu. If I reboot or power off it just goes back into recovery. Doing the power + vol down will not get me into the bootloader and will instead just power cycle at the ASUS logo.

Any idea on how to fix this, or did I just royally brick my tablet?

When you first reboot back into TWRP, try running fastboot commands. You may be able to reflash your recovery, or follow Buster's recovery method from there on.
The Following User Says Thank You to cmendonc2 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th January 2014, 07:09 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
111 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmendonc2

When you first reboot back into TWRP, try running fastboot commands. You may be able to reflash your recovery, or follow Buster's recovery method from there on.

I just get stuck at waiting for device. Is there a section I am supposed to be in? Or do I do it from the home screen for twrp? I checked device manager and it does have Transformer listed in other devices.
20th January 2014, 07:11 PM   |  #4  
cmendonc2's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 384
 
1,097 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjk639

I just get stuck at waiting for device. Is there a section I am supposed to be in? Or do I do it from the home screen for twrp? I checked device manager and it does have Transformer listed in other devices.

Use the reset pin on the SD card side and then reboot back into TWRP and try with "fastboot devices"
The Following User Says Thank You to cmendonc2 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th January 2014, 07:19 PM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
111 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmendonc2

Use the reset pin on the SD card side and then reboot back into TWRP and try with "fastboot devices"

Where do I find "fastboot devices"?
20th January 2014, 07:20 PM   |  #6  
cmendonc2's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 384
 
1,097 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjk639

Where do I find "fastboot devices"?

As in the command:

Code:
fastboot devices
Else you could try:

Code:
adb reboot bootloader
from the ADB in TWRP and then try fastboot commands.
The Following User Says Thank You to cmendonc2 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th January 2014, 07:23 PM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
111 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmendonc2

As in the command:

Code:
fastboot devices
Else you could try:

Code:
adb reboot bootloader
from the ADB in TWRP and then try fastboot commands.

It's not finding anything and ADB sideload fails. I'm doing the fastboot commands from the fastboot folder I have been using with other fastboot stuff for the TF300.
20th January 2014, 07:39 PM   |  #8  
cmendonc2's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 384
 
1,097 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjk639

It's not finding anything and ADB sideload fails. I'm doing the fastboot commands from the fastboot folder I have been using with other fastboot stuff for the TF300.

hmm idk. Im guessing you flashed the wrong version of TWRP, which has ended up in a brick for most users, but they had fastboot access and could later recover it using this: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...3&postcount=12. You dont seem to have either ADB or fastboot, and TWRP is in a non working state. You could try reinstalling your fastboot and ADB drivers with the universal naked drivers, and then retrying ADB reboot bootloader and fastboot.
The Following User Says Thank You to cmendonc2 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th January 2014, 08:33 PM   |  #9  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
111 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
All fixed!

Here is what I did.

1.) Installed naked drivers following the guide at the link provided above. This allowed me to get into the bootloader, but I was unable to successfully flash anything.
2.) So, I followed this guide: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...3&postcount=12

Probably lost all my user data, but worth it for a working tablet.

HUGE thanks to cmendonc2 for the help and ultimately leading me to the correct solution.
20th January 2014, 09:15 PM   |  #10  
cmendonc2's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 384
 
1,097 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjk639

All fixed!

Here is what I did.

1.) Installed naked drivers following the guide at the link provided above. This allowed me to get into the bootloader, but I was unable to successfully flash anything.
2.) So, I followed this guide: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...3&postcount=12

Probably lost all my user data, but worth it for a working tablet.

HUGE thanks to cmendonc2 for the help and ultimately leading me to the correct solution.

No problem, glad I could help!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes