Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Am I getting free service?

OP guy48065

7th January 2014, 05:36 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Flag MI
Thanks Meter: 0
 
34 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
I activated my phone (an unlocked GS3) on Net10 then a week later ported my old phone number to it. In that process they said they had to mail me a new SIM card so the one I had just bought/activated was deactivated and my old number was also cancelled.
When I called to complain about being left with no phone over Christmas they reactivated the store-bought phone number.
Now...2 weeks later my wife wants to get on board so I bought her an unlocked GS3 and put the deactivated SIM card in it to see if I could get to their apps instead of AT&T's store and was surprised to find that the phone number is still active. When I called to activate/port the new line they told me the SIM card number I read them didn't exist.

SO now I'm wondering how this is, and how long it will work? I tried to get it set right but Net10 is adamant I need to buy yet another SIM card. It's kinda hard to take this seriously when I have a working phone that makes calls and gets full data.
21st January 2014, 01:38 AM   |  #2  
chrism.brunner's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Alaska
Thanks Meter: 99
 
735 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
More
Interested in how this turned out...
21st January 2014, 02:00 AM   |  #3  
Junior Member
Flag lithonia
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by guy48065

I activated my phone (an unlocked GS3) on Net10 then a week later ported my old phone number to it. In that process they said they had to mail me a new SIM card so the one I had just bought/activated was deactivated and my old number was also cancelled.
When I called to complain about being left with no phone over Christmas they reactivated the store-bought phone number.
Now...2 weeks later my wife wants to get on board so I bought her an unlocked GS3 and put the deactivated SIM card in it to see if I could get to their apps instead of AT&T's store and was surprised to find that the phone number is still active. When I called to activate/port the new line they told me the SIM card number I read them didn't exist.

SO now I'm wondering how this is, and how long it will work? I tried to get it set right but Net10 is adamant I need to buy yet another SIM card. It's kinda hard to take this seriously when I have a working phone that makes calls and gets full data.

i'd just milk the cow til it ran out, lol just use the AT&T until it finally deactivates service....if it ever does
21st January 2014, 02:48 AM   |  #4  
Hikikomori-Otaku's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag WI
Thanks Meter: 21
 
102 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by guy48065

I activated my phone (an unlocked GS3) on Net10 then a week later ported my old phone number to it. In that process they said they had to mail me a new SIM card so the one I had just bought/activated was deactivated and my old number was also cancelled.
When I called to complain about being left with no phone over Christmas they reactivated the store-bought phone number.
Now...2 weeks later my wife wants to get on board so I bought her an unlocked GS3 and put the deactivated SIM card in it to see if I could get to their apps instead of AT&T's store and was surprised to find that the phone number is still active. When I called to activate/port the new line they told me the SIM card number I read them didn't exist.

SO now I'm wondering how this is, and how long it will work? I tried to get it set right but Net10 is adamant I need to buy yet another SIM card. It's kinda hard to take this seriously when I have a working phone that makes calls and gets full data.

Tracfone (Parent company of Net10) always seems to make a mess out of the simplest things. In your case, it was to your benefit. You already tired to make things right, so I say use the SIM until it gets deactivated. I'd assume you'll get a month out of the SIM. As they can't find the SIM number in their database, I'm sure you wouldn't be able to continue using that SIM once it does become derivative.
21st January 2014, 03:31 AM   |  #5  
OP Member
Flag MI
Thanks Meter: 0
 
34 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
Must have gotten flagged right away...it was dead in two days :-/
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes