Learn How To Theme Lollipop

This amazing guide written by XDA Recognized Themerlacoursiere18explains how to theme Lollipop. With this guide … more

Material Light + Blue Theme for CM12

Looking for a light, colorful and pretty theme for your CM12-based ROM? XDA Senior MemberKhizarhas you … more

MOAR ROM for S5 Brings You Lollipop Multitasking

MOAR stands for Mother of All ROMs and with its nice features it might make you believe it … more

Aqua Dark Material Theme for CM12

XDA Senior MemberSimix93prepared a nice looking theme changing the original colors into shades of green. … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

why not backup to internal SD ?

OP carkev

20th January 2014, 06:45 PM   |  #1  
carkev's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
157 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
I have only owned a TF101 for a short while, and have got the latest stock rom on it, plus Root and Rogue Recovery.
all is fine, and I do like the rogue recovery, even though I have been a fan of CWM itself for a long while.

I always backup to my external SD card, and keep a copy on my PC.
in Rogue though, I noticed that there was an option to backup to Internal SD - but it was not recommended.
this got me wondering why not? - it would be safe there surely, and could avoid some of the problems I have had in the past with Micro SD cards.

can anyone enlighten me on this?
20th January 2014, 06:56 PM   |  #2  
frederuco's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 691
 
1,579 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
The biggest reason - if you wipe the internal memory you lose your backups.
20th January 2014, 10:21 PM   |  #3  
carkev's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
157 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by frederuco

The biggest reason - if you wipe the internal memory you lose your backups.

thanks,
I would never deliberately wipe the Internal, but does it survive the 2 cache wipes and factory reset wipe ?
if it does not, then that save backup to Internal option seems meaningless.
20th January 2014, 10:36 PM   |  #4  
frederuco's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 691
 
1,579 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
If you were to install ARHD and use the full SuperWipe (as recommended) many users lost their backups.

I personally use MicroSD for all my backups and never had an issue with it not working.
The Following User Says Thank You to frederuco For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th January 2014, 10:48 PM   |  #5  
carkev's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
157 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Thumbs up
cheers mate, that settles it for me.
21st January 2014, 09:22 AM   |  #6  
Theziggy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 70
 
183 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by frederuco

If you were to install ARHD and use the full SuperWipe (as recommended) many users lost their backups.

I personally use MicroSD for all my backups and never had an issue with it not working.

How does ARHD perform Frederuco?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes