5,598,718 Members 37,208 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

why not backup to internal SD ?

Tip us?
 
carkev
Old
#1  
carkev's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 157
Join Date: Jan 2009
Question why not backup to internal SD ?

I have only owned a TF101 for a short while, and have got the latest stock rom on it, plus Root and Rogue Recovery.
all is fine, and I do like the rogue recovery, even though I have been a fan of CWM itself for a long while.

I always backup to my external SD card, and keep a copy on my PC.
in Rogue though, I noticed that there was an option to backup to Internal SD - but it was not recommended.
this got me wondering why not? - it would be safe there surely, and could avoid some of the problems I have had in the past with Micro SD cards.

can anyone enlighten me on this?
 
frederuco
Old
#2  
frederuco's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 689
Posts: 1,575
Join Date: Feb 2012
The biggest reason - if you wipe the internal memory you lose your backups.
ASUS Transformer 16GB with Keyboard Dock - Munching on Jelly Beans
crApple iP*one 5 - Stock
Just once I want someone to call me Sir without adding you're making a scene.
- Homer Jay Simpson
 
carkev
Old
#3  
carkev's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 157
Join Date: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by frederuco View Post
The biggest reason - if you wipe the internal memory you lose your backups.
thanks,
I would never deliberately wipe the Internal, but does it survive the 2 cache wipes and factory reset wipe ?
if it does not, then that save backup to Internal option seems meaningless.
 
frederuco
Old
#4  
frederuco's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 689
Posts: 1,575
Join Date: Feb 2012
If you were to install ARHD and use the full SuperWipe (as recommended) many users lost their backups.

I personally use MicroSD for all my backups and never had an issue with it not working.
ASUS Transformer 16GB with Keyboard Dock - Munching on Jelly Beans
crApple iP*one 5 - Stock
Just once I want someone to call me Sir without adding you're making a scene.
- Homer Jay Simpson
The Following User Says Thank You to frederuco For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
carkev
Old
#5  
carkev's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 157
Join Date: Jan 2009
cheers mate, that settles it for me.
 
Theziggy
Old
#6  
Theziggy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 45
Posts: 111
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by frederuco View Post
If you were to install ARHD and use the full SuperWipe (as recommended) many users lost their backups.

I personally use MicroSD for all my backups and never had an issue with it not working.
How does ARHD perform Frederuco?
* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
Ziggy

2 Transformer TF101 Family running KatKiss KitKat (KKKK) 4.4.2 v19 and 4.4.2 v22
TWRP - 2.6.3.0-3
HTC Desire Bravo running CM7 - HTC Desire S rooted via HTC method running stock 4.0
(plus Palm Zire 72 and Palm Treo 650 still working!!! Zire's battery is on last legs though )
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...