Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,770,363 Members 48,681 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Can you restore a custom ROM backup to the stock ROM slot in Safestrap?

Tip us?
 
gPhunk
Old
#1  
gPhunk's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 99
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: St. Augustine
Default [Q] Can you restore a custom ROM backup to the stock ROM slot in Safestrap?

...Without bricking?

So I tend to have a lot of apps and data so the limited size of the Safestrap partitions run out quick. So I was wondering if I made a back up of the stock rom and put it on a custom rom slot, could I wipe the stock rom slot and restore a backup of a custom ROM so I would have more available memory? Or would that result in a brick since the safe strap app was initially installed on that stockrom?
 
Misterxtc
Old
#2  
Misterxtc's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 759
Posts: 853
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Upstate NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by gPhunk View Post
...Without bricking?

So I tend to have a lot of apps and data so the limited size of the Safestrap partitions run out quick. So I was wondering if I made a back up of the stock rom and put it on a custom rom slot, could I wipe the stock rom slot and restore a backup of a custom ROM so I would have more available memory? Or would that result in a brick since the safe strap app was initially installed on that stockrom?
Yes, check out az-bikers thread at the bottom of the first post. Lots of good stuff there. http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2543386
The Following User Says Thank You to Misterxtc For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
gPhunk
Old
#3  
gPhunk's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 99
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: St. Augustine
Quote:
Originally Posted by Misterxtc View Post
Yes, check out az-bikers thread at the bottom of the first post. Lots of good stuff there. http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2543386
Awesome!! Thanks man!
 
XanoZuke
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 154
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Santo Domingo

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by gPhunk View Post
Awesome!! Thanks man!
That's the way I have my Note 3 since day 1, everything on stock slot.
 
jjewell
Old
#5  
jjewell's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 49
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: bangor pa
With my droid razr I test drove a bunch of different roms on the other safestrap slots and when I found one that was stable and I really liked, I nuked and repaved everything on the stock slot with a backup file and it worked like a charm. I plan on doing the same thing to my note when cm11 is available and stable.
 
Xanza89
Old
#6  
Xanza89's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 42
Posts: 189
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Pittsburgh
You most definitely can, I have done this countless times. You can also just flash directly to the stock slot as well and restore apps through TiBu, just another way to do it.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


LifeStats Automatic Journal Keeps Tabs of Your Day

Most of us live very active lives. This is after all why we’re fans of mobile … more

Android App Review: Hide Your Files with Androignito – XDA Developer TV

Stop right now, look at your phone, and see how many pictures, … more

BrightNotes Makes Cloud Notes Simple and Easy

There are literally thousands of note taking apps available on Android, with practically every … more

Google Glass XE20.1 Update Brings Improved Contacts, Head Nudge, New Cards and Commands

Ever since Google unveiled Android Wear earlier this … more