FORUMS

T-Mobile Galaxy S6 Battery Woes

I’ve been using a T-Mobile Galaxy S6 since the device launched with T-mobile’s … more

Earthquake Early Warning in Your Pocket

Probably all of us reading this have a smartphone in our pocket. For many of us, the … more

Sony: The OEM You Want To Save

In our recent Discuss article, we asked you readers on which OEM you would like to help. While the … more

How to Lock and Protect Your Apps – XDA Xposed Tuesday

The smartphone revolution has passed. Everybody has mobile apps. Some of … more

StackOverflowError in getString()

750 posts
Thanks Meter: 140
 
By GR0S, Senior Member on 21st January 2014, 12:49 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Here's crash stack http://pastebin.com/C5pGuhKh
this started after I moved hardcoded strings into .xml with automatic refactoring (IDEA13)

Very strange
Last edited by GR0S; 21st January 2014 at 12:52 PM.
 
 
21st January 2014, 01:44 PM |#2  
SimplicityApks's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Aachen
Thanks Meter: 341
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by GR0S

Here's crash stack http://pastebin.com/C5pGuhKh
this started after I moved hardcoded strings into .xml with automatic refactoring (IDEA13)

Very strange

Well it seems that you are recursively calling your toString method in the HeroFragment... Could you give us the code of that method?
21st January 2014, 01:51 PM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 140
 
More
http://pastebin.com/pFK2TTEe
21st January 2014, 02:16 PM |#4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 140
 
More
http://pastebin.com/nkwsxCsb PagerAdapter
http://pastebin.com/BnTu6Bni Fragment
21st January 2014, 02:49 PM |#5  
SimplicityApks's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Aachen
Thanks Meter: 341
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by GR0S

http://pastebin.com/nkwsxCsb PagerAdapter
http://pastebin.com/BnTu6Bni Fragment

That's a really funny error... from the logs I would guess that somehow the getString(R.blabla) method needs to get the calling class and also calls toString... Although I don't see that in the Android source code.

My solution would be to just don't override toString at all and use a different name like getTitle to prevent the system from calling that...
21st January 2014, 02:53 PM |#6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 140
 
More
Well it worked before I moved strings. It was return "string"
21st January 2014, 03:28 PM |#7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 140
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SimplicityApks

That's a really funny error... from the logs I would guess that somehow the getString(R.blabla) method needs to get the calling class and also calls toString... Although I don't see that in the Android source code.

My solution would be to just don't override toString at all and use a different name like getTitle to prevent the system from calling that...

Well I won't be able to do that without my own fragment implementation. I found mistake, it's not possible to use getString() before activity attachment, probably I have to mess with reflection.
21st January 2014, 03:31 PM |#8  
SimplicityApks's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Aachen
Thanks Meter: 341
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by GR0S

Well I won't be able to do that without my own fragment implementation. I found mistake, it's not possible to use getString() before activity attachment, probably I have to mess with reflection.

Right, or you could just make a method returning the required title per id inside your activity that is then called by the ViewPager
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes