Make Calling Your Loved Ones Easier and Cheaper this Diwali

Diwali, or Deepawali as some Indians call it, is the pride and joy of Indian … more

Big Android BBQ 5.0 Recap – XDA TV

This fifth annual Big Android BBQ has come and gone. The speakers have spoke, the sponsors have … more

Microsoft to Counter “OK Google” with Bing Torque

When Microsoft is making apps for Android, users should be aware that something … more

Google Confirms “Android Lollipop Day” for November 3rd

A little over a week ago, Google announced the latest iteration of … more
Post Reply

StackOverflowError in getString()

OP GR0S

21st January 2014, 12:49 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 135
 
713 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
Here's crash stack http://pastebin.com/C5pGuhKh
this started after I moved hardcoded strings into .xml with automatic refactoring (IDEA13)

Very strange
Last edited by GR0S; 21st January 2014 at 12:52 PM.
21st January 2014, 01:44 PM   |  #2  
SimplicityApks's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Aachen
Thanks Meter: 334
 
337 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by GR0S

Here's crash stack http://pastebin.com/C5pGuhKh
this started after I moved hardcoded strings into .xml with automatic refactoring (IDEA13)

Very strange

Well it seems that you are recursively calling your toString method in the HeroFragment... Could you give us the code of that method?
21st January 2014, 01:51 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 135
 
713 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
http://pastebin.com/pFK2TTEe
21st January 2014, 02:16 PM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 135
 
713 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
http://pastebin.com/nkwsxCsb PagerAdapter
http://pastebin.com/BnTu6Bni Fragment
21st January 2014, 02:49 PM   |  #5  
SimplicityApks's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Aachen
Thanks Meter: 334
 
337 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by GR0S

http://pastebin.com/nkwsxCsb PagerAdapter
http://pastebin.com/BnTu6Bni Fragment

That's a really funny error... from the logs I would guess that somehow the getString(R.blabla) method needs to get the calling class and also calls toString... Although I don't see that in the Android source code.

My solution would be to just don't override toString at all and use a different name like getTitle to prevent the system from calling that...
21st January 2014, 02:53 PM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 135
 
713 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
Well it worked before I moved strings. It was return "string"
21st January 2014, 03:28 PM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 135
 
713 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by SimplicityApks

That's a really funny error... from the logs I would guess that somehow the getString(R.blabla) method needs to get the calling class and also calls toString... Although I don't see that in the Android source code.

My solution would be to just don't override toString at all and use a different name like getTitle to prevent the system from calling that...

Well I won't be able to do that without my own fragment implementation. I found mistake, it's not possible to use getString() before activity attachment, probably I have to mess with reflection.
21st January 2014, 03:31 PM   |  #8  
SimplicityApks's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Aachen
Thanks Meter: 334
 
337 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by GR0S

Well I won't be able to do that without my own fragment implementation. I found mistake, it's not possible to use getString() before activity attachment, probably I have to mess with reflection.

Right, or you could just make a method returning the required title per id inside your activity that is then called by the ViewPager

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Top Threads in Java for Android App Development by ThreadRank