Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,742,742 Members 37,640 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

StackOverflowError in getString()

Tip us?
 
GR0S
Old
(Last edited by GR0S; 21st January 2014 at 12:52 PM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 131
Posts: 666
Join Date: Jun 2012
Default StackOverflowError in getString()

Here's crash stack http://pastebin.com/C5pGuhKh
this started after I moved hardcoded strings into .xml with automatic refactoring (IDEA13)

Very strange
 
SimplicityApks
Old
#2  
SimplicityApks's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 308
Posts: 287
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Aachen
Quote:
Originally Posted by GR0S View Post
Here's crash stack http://pastebin.com/C5pGuhKh
this started after I moved hardcoded strings into .xml with automatic refactoring (IDEA13)

Very strange
Well it seems that you are recursively calling your toString method in the HeroFragment... Could you give us the code of that method?
 
GR0S
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 131
Posts: 666
Join Date: Jun 2012
http://pastebin.com/pFK2TTEe
 
GR0S
Old
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 131
Posts: 666
Join Date: Jun 2012
http://pastebin.com/nkwsxCsb PagerAdapter
http://pastebin.com/BnTu6Bni Fragment
 
SimplicityApks
Old
#5  
SimplicityApks's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 308
Posts: 287
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Aachen
Quote:
Originally Posted by GR0S View Post
That's a really funny error... from the logs I would guess that somehow the getString(R.blabla) method needs to get the calling class and also calls toString... Although I don't see that in the Android source code.

My solution would be to just don't override toString at all and use a different name like getTitle to prevent the system from calling that...
 
GR0S
Old
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 131
Posts: 666
Join Date: Jun 2012
Well it worked before I moved strings. It was return "string"
 
GR0S
Old
#7  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 131
Posts: 666
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by SimplicityApks View Post
That's a really funny error... from the logs I would guess that somehow the getString(R.blabla) method needs to get the calling class and also calls toString... Although I don't see that in the Android source code.

My solution would be to just don't override toString at all and use a different name like getTitle to prevent the system from calling that...
Well I won't be able to do that without my own fragment implementation. I found mistake, it's not possible to use getString() before activity attachment, probably I have to mess with reflection.
 
SimplicityApks
Old
#8  
SimplicityApks's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 308
Posts: 287
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Aachen
Quote:
Originally Posted by GR0S View Post
Well I won't be able to do that without my own fragment implementation. I found mistake, it's not possible to use getString() before activity attachment, probably I have to mess with reflection.
Right, or you could just make a method returning the required title per id inside your activity that is then called by the ViewPager

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...