FORUMS

Galaxy S6 & Edge get €100 Price Cut—New Models Incoming

Samsung has dropped the price of both the Galaxy S6 and S6 Edge by … more

How To Port Fully Featured Sony Xperia Z4 Camera

Xperia Z4’s hardware may not impress, but its software is definitely … more

Experimental TWRP Available For Moto G 2015

XDA Senior Member squid2 has posted experimental builds of TWRP for the Moto G … more

Sunday Debate: How Can We Get a No-Compromise Phone?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on Compromises. Come with your opinions and … more

StackOverflowError in getString()

752 posts
Thanks Meter: 141
 
By GR0S, Senior Member on 21st January 2014, 12:49 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Here's crash stack http://pastebin.com/C5pGuhKh
this started after I moved hardcoded strings into .xml with automatic refactoring (IDEA13)

Very strange
Last edited by GR0S; 21st January 2014 at 12:52 PM.
 
 
21st January 2014, 01:44 PM |#2  
SimplicityApks's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Aachen
Thanks Meter: 343
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by GR0S

Here's crash stack http://pastebin.com/C5pGuhKh
this started after I moved hardcoded strings into .xml with automatic refactoring (IDEA13)

Very strange

Well it seems that you are recursively calling your toString method in the HeroFragment... Could you give us the code of that method?
21st January 2014, 01:51 PM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 141
 
More
http://pastebin.com/pFK2TTEe
21st January 2014, 02:16 PM |#4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 141
 
More
http://pastebin.com/nkwsxCsb PagerAdapter
http://pastebin.com/BnTu6Bni Fragment
21st January 2014, 02:49 PM |#5  
SimplicityApks's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Aachen
Thanks Meter: 343
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by GR0S

http://pastebin.com/nkwsxCsb PagerAdapter
http://pastebin.com/BnTu6Bni Fragment

That's a really funny error... from the logs I would guess that somehow the getString(R.blabla) method needs to get the calling class and also calls toString... Although I don't see that in the Android source code.

My solution would be to just don't override toString at all and use a different name like getTitle to prevent the system from calling that...
21st January 2014, 02:53 PM |#6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 141
 
More
Well it worked before I moved strings. It was return "string"
21st January 2014, 03:28 PM |#7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 141
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SimplicityApks

That's a really funny error... from the logs I would guess that somehow the getString(R.blabla) method needs to get the calling class and also calls toString... Although I don't see that in the Android source code.

My solution would be to just don't override toString at all and use a different name like getTitle to prevent the system from calling that...

Well I won't be able to do that without my own fragment implementation. I found mistake, it's not possible to use getString() before activity attachment, probably I have to mess with reflection.
21st January 2014, 03:31 PM |#8  
SimplicityApks's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Aachen
Thanks Meter: 343
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by GR0S

Well I won't be able to do that without my own fragment implementation. I found mistake, it's not possible to use getString() before activity attachment, probably I have to mess with reflection.

Right, or you could just make a method returning the required title per id inside your activity that is then called by the ViewPager
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes