How to Disable Data Encryption on Nexus 6

In late September, Google decided to step on NSA’s toes and turn on encryption by default in … more

DJI Phantom 2 Vision+ Review – XDA TV

The holidays will be here in no time, so why not start thinking about gifts now? Youll be ahead … more

Mozilla Ditches Google, Makes Yahoo Default Search Engine

Mozilla and Google have had a long-standing relationship of about 10 years. Google … more

Learn More About Linux with Linux Man Pages

Linux is quite a powerful and very configurable operating system. Thanks to some user-friendly … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Boot loop issue

OP Bigandrewgold

16th January 2014, 07:31 PM   |  #11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 27
 
110 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by thayl0

He already stated that

Thanks, I didn't realize that the bootloader was rebooting as well. Sounds like he's got hardware issues.
17th January 2014, 11:42 AM   |  #12  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 778
 
1,787 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Donate to Me
Sounds like a hardware issue to me as well. You have a warranty? Otherwise you could try taking it apart and see if the battery has a bad connection or something. I have a feeling it's the soc or something like that though. I feel like the fact that it's happening since you updated to 4.4 is probably a coincidence.

Sent from my Droid DNA using Tapatalk Pro
19th January 2014, 10:37 PM   |  #13  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 531
 
2,373 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
So, i feel that it may be my power button going bad in some way. Because before it goes into the bootloop the 3 hardware buttons flash, as if the power button is being held down, and ive found that to get out of the bootloop i can just 'pump' the power button
19th January 2014, 11:36 PM   |  #14  
thayl0's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 98
 
879 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigandrewgold

So, i feel that it may be my power button going bad in some way. Because before it goes into the bootloop the 3 hardware buttons flash, as if the power button is being held down, and ive found that to get out of the bootloop i can just 'pump' the power button

Holding the power button down always makes the buttons flash.
19th January 2014, 11:37 PM   |  #15  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 531
 
2,373 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by thayl0

Holding the power button down always makes the buttons flash.

no... it does it by itself, when im not touching the power button
19th January 2014, 11:38 PM   |  #16  
thayl0's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 98
 
879 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigandrewgold

no... it does it by itself, when im not touching the power button

Sorry misunderstood
20th January 2014, 04:19 AM   |  #17  
sdamark's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Fountain Hills, AZ.
Thanks Meter: 264
 
385 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Do you think, maybe, the power button is bad. I've seen a few reports of this.

Sounds to me like it's stuck, pressed. That would cause the repeated reboots, lights flashing, etc.

Edit-- I see you already suspect this is the problem. Never mind...
Last edited by sdamark; 20th January 2014 at 04:22 AM.
22nd January 2014, 01:31 AM   |  #18  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 531
 
2,373 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Well, i flashed back to a 4.3 sense rom yesterday and havent experienced the bootlooping issues since. For reference, before i switched back it got to the point that it was doing it twice an hour

So hopefully it is a software issue and not a hardware issue(knock on wood), id rather not go through the hassle of paying my deductible and getting a new phone
Last edited by Bigandrewgold; 22nd January 2014 at 06:01 AM.

The Following User Says Thank You to Bigandrewgold For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
bootloop, stuck
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes