FORUMS

Galaxy S6 & Edge get €100 Price Cut—New Models Incoming

Samsung has dropped the price of both the Galaxy S6 and S6 Edge by … more

How To Port Fully Featured Sony Xperia Z4 Camera

Xperia Z4’s hardware may not impress, but its software is definitely … more

Experimental TWRP Available For Moto G 2015

XDA Senior Member squid2 has posted experimental builds of TWRP for the Moto G … more

Sunday Debate: How Can We Get a No-Compromise Phone?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on Compromises. Come with your opinions and … more

Boot loop issue

2,373 posts
Thanks Meter: 531
 
By Bigandrewgold, Senior Member on 15th January 2014, 08:47 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
16th January 2014, 06:31 PM |#11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 32
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by thayl0

He already stated that

Thanks, I didn't realize that the bootloader was rebooting as well. Sounds like he's got hardware issues.
 
 
17th January 2014, 10:42 AM |#12  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 802
 
Donate to Me
More
Sounds like a hardware issue to me as well. You have a warranty? Otherwise you could try taking it apart and see if the battery has a bad connection or something. I have a feeling it's the soc or something like that though. I feel like the fact that it's happening since you updated to 4.4 is probably a coincidence.

Sent from my Droid DNA using Tapatalk Pro
19th January 2014, 09:37 PM |#13  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 531
 
More
So, i feel that it may be my power button going bad in some way. Because before it goes into the bootloop the 3 hardware buttons flash, as if the power button is being held down, and ive found that to get out of the bootloop i can just 'pump' the power button
19th January 2014, 10:36 PM |#14  
thayl0's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 146
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigandrewgold

So, i feel that it may be my power button going bad in some way. Because before it goes into the bootloop the 3 hardware buttons flash, as if the power button is being held down, and ive found that to get out of the bootloop i can just 'pump' the power button

Holding the power button down always makes the buttons flash.
19th January 2014, 10:37 PM |#15  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 531
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by thayl0

Holding the power button down always makes the buttons flash.

no... it does it by itself, when im not touching the power button
19th January 2014, 10:38 PM |#16  
thayl0's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 146
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigandrewgold

no... it does it by itself, when im not touching the power button

Sorry misunderstood
20th January 2014, 03:19 AM |#17  
sdamark's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Fountain Hills, AZ.
Thanks Meter: 411
 
More
Do you think, maybe, the power button is bad. I've seen a few reports of this.

Sounds to me like it's stuck, pressed. That would cause the repeated reboots, lights flashing, etc.

Edit-- I see you already suspect this is the problem. Never mind...
Last edited by sdamark; 20th January 2014 at 03:22 AM.
22nd January 2014, 12:31 AM |#18  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 531
 
More
Well, i flashed back to a 4.3 sense rom yesterday and havent experienced the bootlooping issues since. For reference, before i switched back it got to the point that it was doing it twice an hour

So hopefully it is a software issue and not a hardware issue(knock on wood), id rather not go through the hassle of paying my deductible and getting a new phone
Last edited by Bigandrewgold; 22nd January 2014 at 05:01 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to Bigandrewgold For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
bootloop, stuck
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes