Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,804,955 Members 53,067 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Enable LTE access on T-Mobile's network

Tip us?
 
a sandwhich
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: Jan 2014
Default [Q] Enable LTE access on T-Mobile's network

I have an AT&T SGH-I747 running CM11 that I have unlocked and using on T-mobile's network. Unfortunately though I can only access edge and I would like to be able to acces 3g, 4g, or LTE. How would I go about enabling this on my phone? Any help is appreciated.
 
TopoX84
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 116
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Houston, TX

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by a sandwhich View Post
I have an AT&T SGH-I747 running CM11 that I have unlocked and using on T-mobile's network. Unfortunately though I can only access edge and I would like to be able to acces 3g, 4g, or LTE. How would I go about enabling this on my phone? Any help is appreciated.
Seems that the problem could be on the APN... Search for them it should be something like fast.t-mobile.com

Sent from my HTC One using xda app-developers app
DEVICE: HTC One M7 AT&T (Unlocked, Rooted, Bootloader Unlocked, S-OFF)
ROM: Android Revolution HD 62.0 by Mike1986
MODS: Sense 5 Toolbox, Gravity Box [KK],
RECOVERY: TWRP v. 2.6.3.3

PREVIOUS DEVICES:
  • Galaxy S4 I337 AT&T unlocked
  • Nokia Lumia 920 Unlocked - Dev AT&T ROM
 
a sandwhich
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by TopoX84 View Post
Seems that the problem could be on the APN... Search for them it should be something like fast.t-mobile.com

Sent from my HTC One using xda app-developers app
I have tried several different APN's and none have worked/given me anything more than edge.
 
TopoX84
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 116
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Houston, TX

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by a sandwhich View Post
I have tried several different APN's and none have worked/given me anything more than edge.
My tmobile APN settings... Note - I have an unlocked AT&T HTC ONE



Sent from my HTC One using xda app-developers app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1390354742501.jpg
Views:	29
Size:	32.2 KB
ID:	2531262   Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1390354753634.jpg
Views:	25
Size:	38.5 KB
ID:	2531264  
DEVICE: HTC One M7 AT&T (Unlocked, Rooted, Bootloader Unlocked, S-OFF)
ROM: Android Revolution HD 62.0 by Mike1986
MODS: Sense 5 Toolbox, Gravity Box [KK],
RECOVERY: TWRP v. 2.6.3.3

PREVIOUS DEVICES:
  • Galaxy S4 I337 AT&T unlocked
  • Nokia Lumia 920 Unlocked - Dev AT&T ROM
 
a sandwhich
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by TopoX84 View Post
My tmobile APN settings... Note - I have an unlocked AT&T HTC ONE



Sent from my HTC One using xda app-developers app
I have tried that one out and nothing has changed. Still stuck on edge. Thanks for the suggestion though.
 
TopoX84
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 116
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Houston, TX

 
DONATE TO ME
I used to work for t-mobile and that's the LTE APN...

check on their website the LTE coverage areas around you.

Make a backup of your device and attempt a factory reset.
there were some devices I worked with that the factory reset worked like a magic trick.

Sent from my HTC One using xda app-developers app
DEVICE: HTC One M7 AT&T (Unlocked, Rooted, Bootloader Unlocked, S-OFF)
ROM: Android Revolution HD 62.0 by Mike1986
MODS: Sense 5 Toolbox, Gravity Box [KK],
RECOVERY: TWRP v. 2.6.3.3

PREVIOUS DEVICES:
  • Galaxy S4 I337 AT&T unlocked
  • Nokia Lumia 920 Unlocked - Dev AT&T ROM
 
a sandwhich
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by TopoX84 View Post
I used to work for t-mobile and that's the LTE APN...

check on their website the LTE coverage areas around you.

Make a backup of your device and attempt a factory reset.
there were some devices I worked with that the factory reset worked like a magic trick.

Sent from my HTC One using xda app-developers app
I can't really do a factory reset, as I am currently running CM11 and I was previously on ATT. My friend on Tmobile get's LTE coverage here so I would assume I would be capable of that as well. Or at least get 3g coverage.
 
TopoX84
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 116
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Houston, TX

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by a sandwhich View Post
I can't really do a factory reset, as I am currently running CM11 and I was previously on ATT. My friend on Tmobile get's LTE coverage here so I would assume I would be capable of that as well. Or at least get 3g coverage.
I read some old topics where upgrading TWRP or CWM to the latest and 're-flashing was solving the LTE issue this was about 3-4 months ago

Sent from my HTC One using xda app-developers app
DEVICE: HTC One M7 AT&T (Unlocked, Rooted, Bootloader Unlocked, S-OFF)
ROM: Android Revolution HD 62.0 by Mike1986
MODS: Sense 5 Toolbox, Gravity Box [KK],
RECOVERY: TWRP v. 2.6.3.3

PREVIOUS DEVICES:
  • Galaxy S4 I337 AT&T unlocked
  • Nokia Lumia 920 Unlocked - Dev AT&T ROM
 
a sandwhich
Old
(Last edited by a sandwhich; 22nd January 2014 at 05:03 AM.)
#9  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by TopoX84 View Post
I read some old topics where upgrading TWRP or CWM to the latest and 're-flashing was solving the LTE issue this was about 3-4 months ago

Sent from my HTC One using xda app-developers app
Hmmm, ok. I have the second to most recent CWM and I reflashed to CM11 again just this morning. Still don't have access.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA Xposed Tuesday: DonkeyGuard, Don’t Be a Donkey, Control Your Device – XDA Developer TV

Some applications ask for the world … more

Use Facebook Pictures as a LWP with Facebook View

One of the best things that Android has always offeredits users is the ability to tailor … more

Share Your Thoughts Anonymously with A Minimalist Social Network

Nowadays, almost everyone has a second life onthe Internet. Among the best … more

Enable Heads Up Notifications For The Sprint Galaxy S3

Heads up notifications, in case you didn’t already know, are an experimental … more