Detect, Avoid IMSI-Catcher Attacks with Android IMSI-Catcher Detector

Privacy is always an important topic, as well as a delicate one to … more

Materialized LeanDroid Fights Your Poor Battery Life

Battery life has always been one of the biggest problems facing most Android devices. … more

Bump! Workaround for the LG G3 Locked Bootloader – XDA TV

The LG G3 is a power house device. It’s been a favorite of many people. … more

Enable Call Recording on Xperia Z2 and Z3

Call recording, while not legal in every part of the world, is quite handy in certain situations. … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Nook extremely slow unless running ROM from SD

OP dmullens

22nd January 2014, 03:48 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
102 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Hoping that someone might be able to give me some insight and/or direction.

I've been running CM 10.2 off EMMC for a while now. I started having some issues with slowness and I was interested in CM 11, so I put CM 11 on an SD card so I could dual boot. CM 11 ran well. CM continued to run worse and worse. Bluetooth would timeout, web browser was extremely slow...it was pretty unbearable.

CM 11 ran like a dream so I decided to put CM 11 on EMMC. After I did so, it ran just like 10.2 did. It took 10 - 20 minutes just to get through setup. Gmail would timeout (and reboot) when it tried to sign-in. Apps wouldn't load. I would click on buttons and it would take 1 -2 minutes for the the NOOK to respond.

When I put CM 11 on, I did a factory reset (a couple of times).

So, I decided to put stock back in...without CWM...pure stock. Well, it is still slow. Booting from SD card runs fine.

Any ideas what could be wrong? I'm running pure stock now, so I could take it to B&N, but I don't remember when I purchased it. I'm not sure they would do anything.

I appreciate any suggestions. Thanks!
22nd January 2014, 04:09 AM   |  #2  
leapinlar's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 3,675
 
8,373 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2006
Donate to Me
More
Yes, you are suffering from LAG and need to run TRIM to fix it. But be careful as these devices with certain internal chips can be bricked running TRIM.

See this thread:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2528009

Sent from my BN NookHD+ using XDA Premium HD app
The Following User Says Thank You to leapinlar For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd January 2014, 04:18 AM   |  #3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by leapinlar

Yes, you are suffering from LAG and need to run TRIM to fix it. But be careful as these devices with certain internal chips can be bricked running TRIM.

See this thread:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2528009

Sent from my BN NookHD+ using XDA Premium HD app

In the updated 01/18 CM 10.2, Verygreen re-enabled Trim. So can I install that update if my device has the faulty chip? Thank in advanced for your answer
22nd January 2014, 04:27 AM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
102 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by leapinlar

Yes, you are suffering from LAG and need to run TRIM to fix it. But be careful as these devices with certain internal chips can be bricked running TRIM.

See this thread:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2528009

Sent from my BN NookHD+ using XDA Premium HD app

Thanks. I was running CM 10.2 with the trim-enabled kernel. Also, I had completely wiped /data and all the caches.

I noticed in settings (which took forever to load) it said I had used about 10 gigs or so...which I thought shouldn't be the case if I had formated /data and did a factory reset from CWM. I did a hard reset with factory restore and now things are moving along well.

Do you still think it was the LAG issue? I thought that formatting /data and /cache would fix the LAG (also I thought running the trim-Kernel would fix it too. Perhaps TRIM didn't have a chance to run because I've been dual booting? Although the reason I went to the dual boot was because of the slow issue.

I don't know...perhaps I reflashed a 10.2 ROM and forgot to flash the Kernel, but I've been on the same 10.2 rom for a while.

Either way...things seem to be working now...but now I have to start from scratch to get CM 11 on EMMC.

Thanks for the response!
22nd January 2014, 04:30 AM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
102 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by bebubanche

In the updated 01/18 CM 10.2, Verygreen re-enabled Trim. So can I install that update if my device has the faulty chip? Thank in advanced for your answer


There's a thread over in Android Development that discusses the TRIM related issues. It seems the only chip effective is rev. 5 (if I remember). I believe I have the rev. 6 and have been running the trim enabled kernel since last October or November. Sorry my memory is so faulty. If you need me to, I'll find my chip again (have to wade through the very long 10.2 thread to see what the command is since I've forgotten).
22nd January 2014, 04:33 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Weymouth
Thanks Meter: 245
 
1,261 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
Some people say it is safe to do. I have tried it myself with no issues. You have to ask yourself if your device gets bricked can you afford to replace it? If no don't do it.
22nd January 2014, 04:55 AM   |  #7  
leapinlar's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 3,675
 
8,373 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2006
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmullens

I noticed in settings (which took forever to load) it said I had used about 10 gigs or so...which I thought shouldn't be the case if I had formated /data and did a factory reset from CWM. I did a hard reset with factory restore and now things are moving along well.

Your issue was you did not really FORMAT /data with those CWM commands. Because the HD/HD+ uses an emulated internal sdcard (/data/media), it only ERASES part of /data keeping the media files intact. So all of your earlier media files remained even after CWM /data format and factory reset commands. The only way to really format /data is to go to mounts and storage in CWM and format 'data and datamedia'. Then it really FORMATS all of /data (including your media files in /data/media) and gets rid of lag. Of course your hard reset and factory restore did that too.

Sent from my BN NookHD+ using XDA Premium HD app
The Following User Says Thank You to leapinlar For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd January 2014, 06:25 AM   |  #8  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
102 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by leapinlar

Your issue was you did not really FORMAT /data with those CWM commands. Because the HD/HD+ uses an emulated internal sdcard (/data/media), it only ERASES part of /data keeping the media files intact. So all of your earlier media files remained even after CWM /data format and factory reset commands. The only way to really format /data is to go to mounts and storage in CWM and format 'data and datamedia'. Then it really FORMATS all of /data (including your media files in /data/media) and gets rid of lag. Of course your hard reset and factory restore did that too.

Sent from my BN NookHD+ using XDA Premium HD app

Okay. That makes sense, although I wasn't aware of that behavior. Guess running TRIM manually would have fixed my issue. It took a while, but I have CM 11 running now. Thanks for all your work on that. It seems much faster than 10.2.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes