Shattered Screen? Turn Your Broken Device into a Complete Media Center!

A cracked screen usually means you’ll have to spend a hefty … more

Gmail 5.0: Material Design and Multiple Account Support

Google started to materialize many of its applications right after announcing the … more

Some of Our Favorite Features in Android 5.0 Lollipop

Android 5.0 Lollipop is the latest major revision to Google’s mobile operating … more

Sony SmartEyeglass SDK Developer Preview Released

A little over a month ago in Tokyo, Japan, Sony unveiled its new SmartEyeglasstechnology. … more
Post Reply

[Q] TWRP to CWM

OP electrojas

5th January 2014, 03:09 AM   |  #1  
electrojas's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag North Dakota
Thanks Meter: 45
 
213 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
I did read the "similar threads" and read them.
I am wondering If I wanted to replace TWRP with CWM what is the exact process. Also is there a way to have a dual recovery so you can choose which one you want to use?
5th January 2014, 05:23 PM   |  #2  
BCSC's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag New Westminster
Thanks Meter: 143
 
384 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by electrojas

I did read the "similar threads" and read them.
I am wondering If I wanted to replace TWRP with CWM what is the exact process. Also is there a way to have a dual recovery so you can choose which one you want to use?

You can over write TWRP with CWM by flashing CWM with ROM Manager. Or Terminal Emulator. You can not use 2 at the same time because recovery resides in a specific memory slot that can only contain 1. There is nothing stopping you from quickly flashing back to whichever recovery you want though. These instructions will show you a way to switch back and forth at will. It works for both TWRP and CWM. You just need the appropriate recovery.img. http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2170635
The Following User Says Thank You to BCSC For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th January 2014, 05:35 PM   |  #3  
electrojas's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag North Dakota
Thanks Meter: 45
 
213 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
Thank you
Quote:
Originally Posted by BCSC

You can over write TWRP with CWM by flashing CWM with ROM Manager. Or Terminal Emulator. You can not use 2 at the same time because recovery resides in a specific memory slot that can only contain 1. There is nothing stopping you from quickly flashing back to whichever recovery you want though. These instructions will show you a way to switch back and forth at will. It works for both TWRP and CWM. You just need the appropriate recovery.img. http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2170635

This is exactly the information that I have been wondering. Thanks for the quick reply and link. Peace.
5th January 2014, 05:43 PM   |  #4  
BCSC's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag New Westminster
Thanks Meter: 143
 
384 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
More
Keep in mind that backups are specific to the recovery that they are done with. If you backup with CWM you must restore with it also. If your latest is with CWM and then you funk your phone up, TWRP will not help you restore unless you can find a flashable CWM.
21st January 2014, 02:09 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Talking Another option?
Quote:
Originally Posted by BCSC

You can over write TWRP with CWM by flashing CWM with ROM Manager. Or Terminal Emulator. You can not use 2 at the same time because recovery resides in a specific memory slot that can only contain 1. There is nothing stopping you from quickly flashing back to whichever recovery you want though. These instructions will show you a way to switch back and forth at will. It works for both TWRP and CWM. You just need the appropriate recovery.img. http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2170635

I keep flashing CWM with ROM Manager but TWRP still shows up on my Recovery, and i'm not confident enough to use the Terminal Emulator option. Is there another way to go?
21st January 2014, 09:23 PM   |  #6  
audit13's Avatar
Senior Member
Toronto
Thanks Meter: 616
 
2,724 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Flash CWM from TWRP. Just make sure you find a version of CWM that is flashable.

Here is a link to the tar version of Philz that I use: http://goo.im/devs/philz_touch/CWM_A..._Edition/d2att
22nd January 2014, 07:06 AM   |  #7  
BCSC's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag New Westminster
Thanks Meter: 143
 
384 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by PauloScalon

I keep flashing CWM with ROM Manager but TWRP still shows up on my Recovery, and i'm not confident enough to use the Terminal Emulator option. Is there another way to go?

The terminal method is quite simple and a guarantee to work. You only have to type exactly what you see in the instruction. I understand you may be nervous about using codes to change the inner workings of the ROzm but believe me as long as you type it correctly its not possible for something to go wrong.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes