Speed Up Deodexing with JoelDroid Batch Deodexer

Android 5.0 Lollipop brings many under-the-hood changes like changing the default compiler … more

Top 5 Apps for 2014 + Top Xposed Mod of 2014 – XDA TV

Its that time of year where you look back and remember the things that happened … more

NVIDIA SHIELD Tablet Gets Android 5.0.1, OTA Available

The NVIDIA SHIELD Tablet is the latest Android-powered device released by famed GPU … more

FXP Team Delivers Lollipop to Various Xperia Devices!

From all of us here at XDA-Developers, we’d like to wish you Happy Holidays! If … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] E971 Optimus G fails to install custom ROM!

OP tjstreak123

18th January 2014, 11:15 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
I was able to boot into TWRP and this was the first custom rom being installed every. I messed up and wiped the stock rom and now when I try to flash a custom ROM it says "Failed" and when I try to reboot to fix this it says "NO OS INSTALLED ARE YOU SURE?" If I reboot to recovery will it boot to recovery or fail? Please help. I tried to find link to stock roms but download links are broken

What do I do now? Is there a way to fix this?
I cannot put files onto do the SDcard unless I adb push which I did but still fail!
18th January 2014, 11:20 PM   |  #2  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
it also says my device is "geehrc4g"
i cannot find roms for this!
19th January 2014, 12:07 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
Yes! I managed to find a ROM that works! The AOSP Geeb KitKat 4.4 houstonn v3! The first time I flashed it it got stuck into the google boot loop. Then flashed it again and it worked!
If anyone has a problem with your model being "geehrc4g" and not wanting to install other roms get the rom at http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2509457
19th January 2014, 01:17 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag YVR
Thanks Meter: 630
 
1,376 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjstreak123

If anyone has a problem with your model being "geehrc4g"

...then why not just remove the device check from the install script?
19th January 2014, 01:25 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by kt-Froggy

...then why not just remove the device check from the install script?

I don't know how to do this

I looked in the update-script file thing to change the device names but didn't want to change the wrong thing and render the device useless
19th January 2014, 05:14 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjstreak123

I don't know how to do this

I looked in the update-script file thing to change the device names but didn't want to change the wrong thing and render the device useless

Can someone explain what I need to edit in the update-script file for it in order to flash a rom?
19th January 2014, 09:34 PM   |  #7  
naveenii1991's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
102 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjstreak123

Can someone explain what I need to edit in the update-script file for it in order to flash a rom?

In twrp after selecting the custom rom zip
Did you remove check box ..where it shows verification (click on it )

After that ...Try to flash ROM by swiping
19th January 2014, 09:52 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Flag YVR
Thanks Meter: 630
 
1,376 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by naveenii1991

In twrp after selecting the custom rom zip
Did you remove check box ..where it shows verification (click on it )

After that ...Try to flash ROM by swiping

I am not familiar with TWRP options, but I believe you are talking about package signature verification, which is a completely different thing...

Quote:
Originally Posted by tjstreak123

Can someone explain what I need to edit in the update-script file for it in order to flash a rom?

One of the first few lines of the script usually has a device type verification. It may be the assert check, or a different syntax (looking for certain build.prop properties), but it's pretty obvious. You just need to remove that one line, so the script doesn't check for your device model.

I don't have a specific example handy right now to show you, but it's been discussed many times before. Just try searching for "remove assert" or similar.

Please note that if, by removing this check, you manage to flash something totally incompatible with your device and royally screw it up, it's your fault, and your problem.
Last edited by kt-Froggy; 19th January 2014 at 09:54 PM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to kt-Froggy For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th January 2014, 10:19 PM   |  #9  
naveenii1991's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
102 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
Talking
Quote:
Originally Posted by kt-Froggy

I am not familiar with TWRP options, but I believe you are talking about package signature verification, which is a completely different thing...


One of the first few lines of the script usually has a device type verification. It may be the assert check, or a different syntax (looking for certain build.prop properties), but it's pretty obvious. You just need to remove that one line, so the script doesn't check for your device model.

I don't have a specific example handy right now to show you, but it's been discussed many times before. Just try searching for "remove assert" or similar.

Please note that if, by removing this check, you manage to flash something totally incompatible with your device and royally screw it up, it's your fault, and your problem.

Tks for letting me know the imp of signature ....
I screwed a mobile once upon a time and it was APPLE IPHONE and got New one too and never did again
22nd January 2014, 01:53 PM   |  #10  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
Thanks everyone. So I can flash a e973 ROM on e971? Both Canadian models

The script starts with;
Quote:

assert(getprop("ro.product.device") == "e975" || getprop("ro.build.product") == "e975" || abort("This package is for \"e975\" devices; this is a \"" + getprop("ro.product.device") + "\"."); );

I delete that whole thing? Even though it has two semi colons at the end or is one of the semi colons for the abort function and one of the whole assert function?
Last edited by tjstreak123; 23rd January 2014 at 01:40 AM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes