Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,736,222 Members 44,547 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] [Request] Signal bar hack.

Tip us?
 
Harmtan2
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 12
Join Date: Feb 2013
Default [Q] [Request] Signal bar hack.

Does anyone know how to have the bar indicator read HSPA even when I'm connected to LTE? To me, when I'm connected to LTE I could care less about signal strength because speed is all that matters. I prefer to know how my call would be, so I'd like the bars to read my HSPA signal and forget about the LTE strength. I like to know I'm connected to LTE but like i said, i could care less about what the LTE strength is. If anyone knows how or could point me in the right direction, that would be awesome if its possible. I've looked all over the place and couldn't find it, all the threads I've found tell you how to change the icons and such, which I've done. But this is something I do not know. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!
 
ShinySide
Old
#2  
ShinySide's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1501
Posts: 1,197
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: IHB
Quote:
Originally Posted by Harmtan2 View Post
Does anyone know how to have the bar indicator read HSPA even when I'm connected to LTE? To me, when I'm connected to LTE I could care less about signal strength because speed is all that matters. I prefer to know how my call would be, so I'd like the bars to read my HSPA signal and forget about the LTE strength. I like to know I'm connected to LTE but like i said, i could care less about what the LTE strength is. If anyone knows how or could point me in the right direction, that would be awesome if its possible. I've looked all over the place and couldn't find it, all the threads I've found tell you how to change the icons and such, which I've done. But this is something I do not know. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!
Signal bars don't have anything to do with LTE. Unless I completely misread what you said.

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk
Donations Accepted here


Don't change your wants or where you want to be just because the other has.
The Following User Says Thank You to ShinySide For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
bobolinko
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 60
Posts: 329
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Everett WA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Harmtan2 View Post
Does anyone know how to have the bar indicator read HSPA even when I'm connected to LTE? To me, when I'm connected to LTE I could care less about signal strength because speed is all that matters. I prefer to know how my call would be, so I'd like the bars to read my HSPA signal and forget about the LTE strength. I like to know I'm connected to LTE but like i said, i could care less about what the LTE strength is. If anyone knows how or could point me in the right direction, that would be awesome if its possible. I've looked all over the place and couldn't find it, all the threads I've found tell you how to change the icons and such, which I've done. But this is something I do not know. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!
Reading this as you have written it, it sounds like you want to read the other car's spedometer on your dashboard and don't care what speed YOU are going at... (not very much of a useful report)............

It makes no sense and is most likely impossible due to the fact that the "strength" is read according to the frequency the radio is working.

Also, "Strength" is not the correct description of the signal bars shown, as it is a COMBINATION of available bandwidth as well as signal strength properties. You could be having a GOOD signal, but there are too many users in your cell service area so the bars are less of a quantity, but you still have service. It's too bad they didn't have a better way of showing that condition.....

Anyways, good luck and Aloha!
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to bobolinko For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Harmtan2
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 12
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobolinko View Post
Reading this as you have written it, it sounds like you want to read the other car's spedometer on your dashboard and don't care what speed YOU are going at... (not very much of a useful report)............

It makes no sense and is most likely impossible due to the fact that the "strength" is read according to the frequency the radio is working.

Also, "Strength" is not the correct description of the signal bars shown, as it is a COMBINATION of available bandwidth as well as signal strength properties. You could be having a GOOD signal, but there are too many users in your cell service area so the bars are less of a quantity, but you still have service. It's too bad they didn't have a better way of showing that condition.....

Anyways, good luck and Aloha!
I appreciate the response. The thing is, the bars haven't been consistent with speed. At one bar where I work, I pull down 15 Megs, when I go to lunch at the Mcdonalds I have 5 bars of LTE and pull 15 megs. Bars on HSPA also factor in Call quality where as LTE doesn't because you can't make calls on it. The phone has to stay connected to HSPA because of this, I basically want to be able to see my call strength before Make a call. I've read in certain phones especially on Verizon and other carriers especially, they manipulate the signal this way to make it look better. That's what I'm after in a nutshell.
 
Skipjacks
Old
#5  
Skipjacks's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3788
Posts: 4,810
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Baltimore
Just change the data settings so that the phone only goes up to HSPA connections. Basically turn off LTE entirely.

That will always show HSPA strength in the status bar because it will always be connected at HSPA signal strength.
Do you want insanely better battery drain when your phone is idle? Check out this thread!
Have a question about the T Mobile Samsung Galaxy S4? Click here for the Help Thread!
 
elesbb
Old
#6  
elesbb's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4251
Posts: 6,656
Join Date: Jun 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
He wants lte. But does not care how strong the lte signal is. He only cares about being able to see the hsdpa connection strength.

With that said, if you have lte, you more than likely have full connection to hsdpa. I've forced hsdpa while in a one bar lte zone and hsdpa read full bars. So if your data connection says lte, 99.9 percent of the time you will have full hsdpa connection.

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to elesbb For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Skipjacks
Old
#7  
Skipjacks's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3788
Posts: 4,810
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Baltimore
Quote:
Originally Posted by elesbb View Post
He wants lte. But does not care how strong the lte signal is. He only cares about being able to see the hsdpa connection strength.

With that said, if you have lte, you more than likely have full connection to hsdpa. I've forced hsdpa while in a one bar lte zone and hsdpa read full bars. So if your data connection says lte, 99.9 percent of the time you will have full hsdpa connection.

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk
If he wan'ts that then he can't have it. The radio can only connect to one signal type at a time. And the only way to know what the HSPA signal strength is would be to be connected to it so it can be monitored. So in any situation where it's possible to determine the HSPA signal strength, you can't be connected to LTE.

Unless you carry another phone around that's always connected to HSPA and use that as a refference, but that seems....dumb.
Do you want insanely better battery drain when your phone is idle? Check out this thread!
Have a question about the T Mobile Samsung Galaxy S4? Click here for the Help Thread!
The Following User Says Thank You to Skipjacks For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Harmtan2
Old
#8  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 12
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skipjacks View Post
If he wan'ts that then he can't have it. The radio can only connect to one signal type at a time. And the only way to know what the HSPA signal strength is would be to be connected to it so it can be monitored. So in any situation where it's possible to determine the HSPA signal strength, you can't be connected to LTE.

Unless you carry another phone around that's always connected to HSPA and use that as a refference, but that seems....dumb.
I was just wondering if it was possible My question becomes, if it can only be connected to LTE and not both, how do I receive incoming calls cuz I know that they don't do calls over LTE yet cuz they haven't launched VOLTE. Unless you were a lucky Mtetro PCS Customer. Not trying to be a pain in the ass, legitimately curious.
 
elesbb
Old
#9  
elesbb's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4251
Posts: 6,656
Join Date: Jun 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Harmtan2 View Post
I was just wondering if it was possible My question becomes, if it can only be connected to LTE and not both, how do I receive incoming calls cuz I know that they don't do calls over LTE yet cuz they haven't launched VOLTE. Unless you were a lucky Mtetro PCS Customer. Not trying to be a pain in the ass, legitimately curious.
Your connection switches to hsdpa. If you set your connection to "lte only" calls will not work. So it switches before connecting. And about VOLTE, will we need a new phone for that to work or is it basically a T-Mobile side thing?

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes