5,601,143 Members 53,479 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] stop default boot into TWRP

Tip us?
 
jonny_pasta
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: May 2011
Default [Q] stop default boot into TWRP

Hi,
I installed TWRP and now, when I restart my nexus 7, it defaultly boots into TWRP. Is there a way to stop this and make nexus automaticaly boots into system? Because now, automatic updates are not working, cause when nexus reboots, it's in TWRP and update stops.
Thanks
 
AndDiSa
Old
#2  
AndDiSa's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 303
Posts: 1,508
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Heidelberg
In that case you most likely have a corruped boot partition and the kernel cannot be started. In hat case it's going automatically into recovery mode.

1. Phone: Samsung Galaxy SII GT-I9100, CM-11-UNOFFICIAL-i9100 (ADS-build)

2. Phone: G1
Rom: IcedADS_Magpie Gingerbread (2.3.7) based on ezGingerbread and Firerat's magpie
Recovery: Amon RA-Dream-v1.7.0 (MTD:90/2/114, 1.33.0013)
Radio: 2.22.28.25 SPL: 1.33.0013d SD Card: 8GB Class 6 - ~7.2GB Fat32 / ~500MB Ext3

Nexus 7 (16GB), Android 4.4.2 (Rooted Stock)
Follow me on AndDiSa Android Blog.


Get 20 GB(!) of cloud space using copy.com
 
jonny_pasta
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndDiSa View Post
In that case you most likely have a corruped boot partition and the kernel cannot be started. In hat case it's going automatically into recovery mode.
but when I choose reboot into system, it goes into system normally.
 
AndDiSa
Old
#4  
AndDiSa's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 303
Posts: 1,508
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Heidelberg
There is also a flag which says 'reboot to recovery', but this should be reset automatically when booting up the recovery. There is a chance that this flag will not get erased. What version of TWRP do you have installed?

Sent from my Nexus 7 using xda app-developers app

1. Phone: Samsung Galaxy SII GT-I9100, CM-11-UNOFFICIAL-i9100 (ADS-build)

2. Phone: G1
Rom: IcedADS_Magpie Gingerbread (2.3.7) based on ezGingerbread and Firerat's magpie
Recovery: Amon RA-Dream-v1.7.0 (MTD:90/2/114, 1.33.0013)
Radio: 2.22.28.25 SPL: 1.33.0013d SD Card: 8GB Class 6 - ~7.2GB Fat32 / ~500MB Ext3

Nexus 7 (16GB), Android 4.4.2 (Rooted Stock)
Follow me on AndDiSa Android Blog.


Get 20 GB(!) of cloud space using copy.com
 
jonny_pasta
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndDiSa View Post
There is also a flag which says 'reboot to recovery', but this should be reset automatically when booting up the recovery. There is a chance that this flag will not get erased. What version of TWRP do you have installed?

Sent from my Nexus 7 using xda app-developers app
I have v2.6.3.0
 
AndDiSa
Old
#6  
AndDiSa's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 303
Posts: 1,508
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Heidelberg
Try to flash 2.6.3.1, as far as I remember there were some issues with 2.6.3.0 and KitKat.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using xda app-developers app

1. Phone: Samsung Galaxy SII GT-I9100, CM-11-UNOFFICIAL-i9100 (ADS-build)

2. Phone: G1
Rom: IcedADS_Magpie Gingerbread (2.3.7) based on ezGingerbread and Firerat's magpie
Recovery: Amon RA-Dream-v1.7.0 (MTD:90/2/114, 1.33.0013)
Radio: 2.22.28.25 SPL: 1.33.0013d SD Card: 8GB Class 6 - ~7.2GB Fat32 / ~500MB Ext3

Nexus 7 (16GB), Android 4.4.2 (Rooted Stock)
Follow me on AndDiSa Android Blog.


Get 20 GB(!) of cloud space using copy.com
 
jonny_pasta
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndDiSa View Post
Try to flash 2.6.3.1, as far as I remember there were some issues with 2.6.3.0 and KitKat.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using xda app-developers app
that's the point, I do not have kitkat yet, cause everytime I launch auto-update, nexus reboots into TWRP instead of installing update.
 
AndDiSa
Old
#8  
AndDiSa's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 303
Posts: 1,508
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Heidelberg
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonny_pasta View Post
that's the point, I do not have kitkat yet, cause everytime I launch auto-update, nexus reboots into TWRP instead of installing update.
??? But if ypu have TWRP installed as recovery, it's normal that it is booting to TWRP to apply the update. Then from TWRP you need to select "apply the update" and after that you will have KitKat installed. Or didn't I understand you well? But be aware that you will loose TWRP by applying the OTA.

1. Phone: Samsung Galaxy SII GT-I9100, CM-11-UNOFFICIAL-i9100 (ADS-build)

2. Phone: G1
Rom: IcedADS_Magpie Gingerbread (2.3.7) based on ezGingerbread and Firerat's magpie
Recovery: Amon RA-Dream-v1.7.0 (MTD:90/2/114, 1.33.0013)
Radio: 2.22.28.25 SPL: 1.33.0013d SD Card: 8GB Class 6 - ~7.2GB Fat32 / ~500MB Ext3

Nexus 7 (16GB), Android 4.4.2 (Rooted Stock)
Follow me on AndDiSa Android Blog.


Get 20 GB(!) of cloud space using copy.com
 
jonny_pasta
Old
#9  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndDiSa View Post
??? But if ypu have TWRP installed as recovery, it's normal that it is booting to TWRP to apply the update. Then from TWRP you need to select "apply the update" and after that you will have KitKat installed. Or didn't I understand you well? But be aware that you will loose TWRP by applying the OTA.
there is no such thing as "apply the update", I can only choose "install" and go into memory and select the file. But I do not know where the file is, I found one in chache with some strange name (random string), but it sais, that it's not compatibile with my system.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Decompile, Edit, and Recompile in One Tool with APK Studio

If you’ve ever modified precompiled applications, you have undoubtedly spent … more

TasGear: A Tasker Extension for the Samsung Galaxy Gear

With wearable technology taking center stage this year, one can only expect more … more

Intelligently Place Contacts on Your Home Screen with CallWho Widget

There are plenty of ways to get your contacts to show up on your … more