5,595,645 Members 44,941 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] [CM 10.2] Why does this version allow me to mount USB with phone locked?

Tip us?
 
QQNoob
Old
(Last edited by QQNoob; 22nd January 2014 at 09:05 PM.)
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 81
Join Date: Jul 2012
Question [Q] [CM 10.2] Why does this version allow me to mount USB with phone locked?

Seems like a security flaw. Anyone can pick up my phone, plug it into a USB port and copy files within seconds. Normally, you'd have to at least have to reboot into recovery, which requires a forced reboot and knowing the proper keys to do that and to enter recovery. As it stands now, even a child could plug in my phone and access the entire SD card.

It's also annoying that if I plug in the phone to my PC to charge while I'm listening to music on it, I don't get the lock screen where I have music controls. I instead get the USB mounting screen. I just have to press the Home key to show the lock screen, but it's been bugging me.

Is there any way to disable this? It wasn't this way in CM 10.1.
 
timmaaa
Old
#2  
timmaaa's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 4622
Posts: 9,931
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Melbourne

 
DONATE TO ME
Go back to an earlier version of Android, or don't lose your phone.

Sent from my Evita
HTC Evita
KarbonKat 4.4.2 1.0-5 | S-off
2.14 | Modified TWRP 2.6.3

 
QQNoob
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 81
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by timmaaa View Post
Go back to an earlier version of Android, or don't lose your phone.
Your useless answer is unappreciated. I asked two simple questions and you answered neither.
 
timmaaa
Old
(Last edited by timmaaa; 23rd January 2014 at 12:39 AM.)
#4  
timmaaa's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 4622
Posts: 9,931
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Melbourne

 
DONATE TO ME
The fact is you can't disable it. The answers I gave are perfectly valid if you don't want want the ability to mount the sd card via the lockscreen. If you're allowing your phone to get into a position where someone can access it like that then what I'm saying is maybe you need to reassess the level of personal security in regards to the device.

Sent from my Evita
HTC Evita
KarbonKat 4.4.2 1.0-5 | S-off
2.14 | Modified TWRP 2.6.3

 
QQNoob
Old
#5  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 81
Join Date: Jul 2012
>The fact is you can't disable it.

Now that is an appropriate answer. Thank you.

The main topic question was "why?" Why this change in behavior? What's the philosophy behind it?
 
timmaaa
Old
#6  
timmaaa's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 4622
Posts: 9,931
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Melbourne

 
DONATE TO ME
I'm sorry but I don't know why they changed it like that.

Sent from my Evita
HTC Evita
KarbonKat 4.4.2 1.0-5 | S-off
2.14 | Modified TWRP 2.6.3

 
QQNoob
Old
#7  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 81
Join Date: Jul 2012
I remember CM9 behaving like this in certain versions, but then it went away, and I never had it in any CM10 versions until now. It's like the developers can't decide how they want it, or it's some sort of mistake or bug.
 
timmaaa
Old
#8  
timmaaa's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 4622
Posts: 9,931
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Melbourne

 
DONATE TO ME
It isn't the fault of developers here, I believe you can thank Google for that feature.

Sent from my Evita
HTC Evita
KarbonKat 4.4.2 1.0-5 | S-off
2.14 | Modified TWRP 2.6.3

 
pandasa123
Old
#9  
pandasa123's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 370
Posts: 711
Join Date: Jul 2013
If you want it to not be like that, go and decompile some file and change the permissions.

Speaking of Google, I'm excited for the new Selinux policy from the NSA researcher. It'll be fun to see ChainFire at it

Sent from my One Xl using Tapatalk
Quote:
Originally Posted by grinder19 View Post
"I love IF statements. If it's not my rom, then gtfo"

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...