T-Mobile HTC One M8 Gets Selfie-Friendly Android 4.4.4 OTA

The T-Mobie variant of HTC One (M8) just now received an over-the-air update … more

Android L is for Lockdown

Root is, without a doubt, the (un)holy grail of the Android world. Those wonderful permissions that allow you as … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: XHangouts Will Improve Your Hangouts

Ever since Google started supporting text messaging in Hangouts many people have … more

Shattered Screen? Turn Your Broken Device into a Complete Media Center!

A cracked screen usually means you’ll have to spend a hefty … more
Post Reply

[N7100] Phone Boot Loop. Please help.

OP HellRa1SeR

21st January 2014, 09:26 AM   |  #1  
HellRa1SeR's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag New Delhi
Thanks Meter: 18
 
164 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
I have an International Note 2 (N7100) . I was on stock rooted till December 13. After that I flashed Dr.ketans V6 ROM and since then evything was working fine.

For the past few weeks my phone often restarted and one fine day it automatically went into boot loop. So I backed up my data and factory reset it. But every next day it goes back to bootloop. So I changed ROMS. I have tried 2-3 ROMs since then but eventually this problem always comes back. My phone always bootloops and I have to reset it just to switch it on.

Currently I am on Philz recovery and Phoenix ROM (MD5 bootloader). Please help or suggest.
21st January 2014, 10:15 AM   |  #2  
Irwenzhao's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Singapore
Thanks Meter: 256
 
799 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
More
Just flash stock ROM through ODIN.

Smack that Thanks button if I helped!
KitKat came in on my OmniROM, running on my Note 2.
Sent from a small country called Singapore.
P.S. Time for school, not much time for XDA
The Following User Says Thank You to Irwenzhao For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st January 2014, 01:21 PM   |  #3  
HellRa1SeR's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag New Delhi
Thanks Meter: 18
 
164 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Irwenzhao

Just flash stock ROM through ODIN.

Smack that Thanks button if I helped!
KitKat came in on my OmniROM, running on my Note 2.
Sent from a small country called Singapore.
P.S. Time for school, not much time for XDA

Thanks for the reply. But I want to use a Custom Rom. So you mean I should flash a stock ROM and then Custom ROM or just stick to stock.?

Please clarify.

Edit - Another question. Can flash 4.1 ROM directly or a 4.3 ROM only. I am on Phoenix ROM(MJ5) Philz Recovery
Last edited by HellRa1SeR; 21st January 2014 at 01:39 PM.
21st January 2014, 02:37 PM   |  #4  
Irwenzhao's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Singapore
Thanks Meter: 256
 
799 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by HellRa1SeR

Thanks for the reply. But I want to use a Custom Rom. So you mean I should flash a stock ROM and then Custom ROM or just stick to stock.?

Please clarify.

Edit - Another question. Can flash 4.1 ROM directly or a 4.3 ROM only. I am on Phoenix ROM(MJ5) Philz Recovery

Flash stock, get outta bootloop, and flash whatever u want to flash.

Smack that Thanks button if I helped!
KitKat came in on my OmniROM, running on my Note 2.
Sent from a small country called Singapore.
P.S. Time for school, not much time for XDA
22nd January 2014, 10:03 AM   |  #5  
HellRa1SeR's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag New Delhi
Thanks Meter: 18
 
164 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Irwenzhao

Flash stock, get outta bootloop, and flash whatever u want to flash.

Smack that Thanks button if I helped!
KitKat came in on my OmniROM, running on my Note 2.
Sent from a small country called Singapore.
P.S. Time for school, not much time for XDA

Thanks for the reply. I can go into recovery and then factory reset it. My issue is i get these bootloops very frequently.

For a few days my phone works normally and then it occurs. I have to then reset and then start again. I am actually troubled by this. So I need guidance and help in this matter. Just getting to know if it is a ROM/bootloader/recovery issue or a hardware issue.
22nd January 2014, 10:51 AM   |  #6  
Irwenzhao's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Singapore
Thanks Meter: 256
 
799 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by HellRa1SeR

Thanks for the reply. I can go into recovery and then factory reset it. My issue is i get these bootloops very frequently.

For a few days my phone works normally and then it occurs. I have to then reset and then start again. I am actually troubled by this. So I need guidance and help in this matter. Just getting to know if it is a ROM/bootloader/recovery issue or a hardware issue.

Most probably ROM issue. Switch ROM or (recommended) flash a stock ROM, use it for a few days, and (if there's no issues), switch to whatever u want to use.

Smack that Thanks button if I helped!
KitKat came in on my OmniROM, running on my Note 2.
Sent from a small country called Singapore.
P.S. Time for school, not much time for XDA
The Following User Says Thank You to Irwenzhao For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd January 2014, 05:02 PM   |  #7  
HellRa1SeR's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag New Delhi
Thanks Meter: 18
 
164 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by Irwenzhao

Most probably ROM issue. Switch ROM or (recommended) flash a stock ROM, use it for a few days, and (if there's no issues), switch to whatever u want to use.

Smack that Thanks button if I helped!
KitKat came in on my OmniROM, running on my Note 2.
Sent from a small country called Singapore.
P.S. Time for school, not much time for XDA

Ok. Thanks for the help. Ill look into it.
23rd January 2014, 03:05 AM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 131
 
385 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
Dr. Ketan Custom ROM v6 is based on Android 4.3 firmware. If you didn't follow his guidelines properly then you're expected to have:
  1. Boot loop
  2. Wifi problem

There are two methods available, wifi patch & upgrade to MJ5 bootloader. Search this forum to find his guidelines. This should solve your problem.

Quote:
Originally Posted by HellRa1SeR

Ok. Thanks for the help. Ill look into it.


Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
bootloop
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Galaxy Note II Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank