Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,741,210 Members 49,526 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

MB525 (CM7 stable) "soft dead" (cannot call) after running for some time

Tip us?
 
luweitest
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 18
Join Date: Oct 2013
Unhappy MB525 (CM7 stable) "soft dead" (cannot call) after running for some time

Hello,
I recently flashed CM7 stable, and very happy that the cold-rebooting problem disappeared. But a new problem arises: After some time (several hours maybe) the phone got "dead" silently, i.e. cannot call (just dialing constantly) or receive call (got "shut down" prompt). But the signal display shows good (-71~-51dbm). The system is relatively clean, and killing running services that can be killed do not help (only settings, maps, google play services, android keyboard cannot be killed). After a reboot it gets work again. What should I do to troubleshoot?
 
Rawwr
Old
#2  
Rawwr's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 100
Posts: 479
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: hyderabad
Quote:
Originally Posted by luweitest View Post
Hello,
I recently flashed CM7 stable, and very happy that the cold-rebooting problem disappeared. But a new problem arises: After some time (several hours maybe) the phone got "dead" silently, i.e. cannot call (just dialing constantly) or receive call (got "shut down" prompt). But the signal display shows good (-71~-51dbm). The system is relatively clean, and killing running services that can be killed do not help (only settings, maps, google play services, android keyboard cannot be killed). After a reboot it gets work again. What should I do to troubleshoot?
do a clean install dude,
or try wipe data,
if that doesnt help

i suggest u to install CM9 u will get HWA on ur phone
Samsung Galaxy s2 I9100 Running kitkat 4.4.2 AOSB Project


Retired Devices - Motorola Defy MB525 < Sony ericsson u20i < nokia 5530 < nokia e63 < nokia n79 < nokia n78 < nokia 2700 classic < nokia 6600 < samsung e250
 
luweitest
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 18
Join Date: Oct 2013
Default more findings; CM7 bug?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rawwr View Post
do a clean install dude,
or try wipe data,
if that doesnt help

i suggest u to install CM9 u will get HWA on ur phone
Reinstalling is the last thing I will do, since I have found something that may be relevant. When the error appeared, *#*#4636#*#* testing mode -> phone information will show "preferred network type" as "WCDMA preferred". Since I only have a GSM SIM card without 3G function, that may be the cause. But that cannot be changed when the error occurs, i.e., change that to "GSM only", quit the setting, re-enter, and it have reverted to "WCDMA preferred" automatically. Before the error occurs, that setting can be switched normally.

In settings->wireless & networks->mobile network settings, I have always set "GSM only" in network preferences, and ticked "use only 2G networks". When the error occurs, "GSM only" in network preferences is still there, but "use only 2G networks" is unticked automatically, and cannot be changed either, i.e. tick it, quit the setting, re-enter, and it have reverted to unticked status automatically.

The error will not recover itself; only re-booting can solve the error (switch airplane mode do not help because airplane mode switching also do not work when error occurs). I also found that when that error occurs, battery drains very quickly ( lost 40% one night).

Is this a known bug of CM7 or android? I googled and see lots of similar complains.
 
luweitest
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 18
Join Date: Oct 2013
I do live in a area with unstable signal. Just now I observed a sudden signal dropping (from -73 to -113dbm) and then phone reconnected successfully (back to -77dbm). I checked *#*#4636#*#* testing -> phone information immediately, the "preferred network type" has been changed from "GSM only" to "GSM auto (PRL)", and in settings->wireless & networks->mobile network settings, "use only 2G networks" has been un-ticked again. But the phone can still work normally in this state. And I know if next time the "preferred network type" be changed to "WCDMA preferred", then I have to re-boot again.
 
luweitest
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 18
Join Date: Oct 2013
Unhappy wcdma perferred again

I cannot dial again. The signal strength is -57dbm (even better?!). It just keep dialing and never ends. Even if I tap End button, it will keep "hanging up" but cannot hang up. As expected, "preferred network type" has been changed to "wcdma perferred" again, and "use only 2G networks" has been un-ticked again. How can I fix them?
 
Rawwr
Old
#6  
Rawwr's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 100
Posts: 479
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: hyderabad
Quote:
Originally Posted by luweitest View Post
I cannot dial again. The signal strength is -57dbm (even better?!). It just keep dialing and never ends. Even if I tap End button, it will keep "hanging up" but cannot hang up. As expected, "preferred network type" has been changed to "wcdma perferred" again, and "use only 2G networks" has been un-ticked again. How can I fix them?
even i flashed cm7 didnt faced such problem,
did u try the baseband switcher ?
try it once
if not
flash an sbf
and install msginger2 or mokee0S or Rabbit Rom for ur device
Samsung Galaxy s2 I9100 Running kitkat 4.4.2 AOSB Project


Retired Devices - Motorola Defy MB525 < Sony ericsson u20i < nokia 5530 < nokia e63 < nokia n79 < nokia n78 < nokia 2700 classic < nokia 6600 < samsung e250
 
luweitest
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 18
Join Date: Oct 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rawwr View Post
even i flashed cm7 didnt faced such problem,
did u try the baseband switcher ?
try it once
if not
flash an sbf
and install msginger2 or mokee0S or Rabbit Rom for ur device
Rebooting again... Yes I have tried baeband switching for dozens of times before I realized that "WCDMA preferred" problem may be the real culprit. I have tried ms2ginger before CM7, but it did not solve another problem: reboot when cold, so I did not test it much. And, aren't they based on CM? They are likely to have same problem.

I think maybe because the GSM signal is poor, after it loses the signal and tries to reconnect, it finds a better WCDMA signal from another provider and got allured sticking on it .. Sounds un-logical.

I hope there's some guidance that can fix that network preference setting to GSM only, and the problem will be sure to solve.
 
luweitest
Old
#8  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 18
Join Date: Oct 2013
I find some information about Getril, which detect whether your baseband matches RIL, but it's for other phone models and cannot run on Defy. Does Defy have such RIL problem too?
 
luweitest
Old
(Last edited by luweitest; 23rd January 2014 at 06:36 AM.)
#9  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 18
Join Date: Oct 2013
Default Battery usage picture

Mainly the problem occurs at home, for the signal is poorer in my home. When I go to work the phone could last longer. The attached picture is typical: Roughly the former 2/3 of the curve is night at home, and the later 1/3 is day at work. The battery drops more quickly at home than work. At night, wakelock is normal, but CPU is running at 300MHz all the time. Only in the later 1/3 CPU can go to deep sleep. At night the signal shows green (it's actually WCDMA signal I think), but the phone cannot make or receive calls.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot-1390456895293.png
Views:	5
Size:	38.2 KB
ID:	2533666  

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Give Your Screen Some Color with HexaTime Live Wallpaper

We don’t often cover very many live wallpapers here on the XDA Portal. You may … more

Android Wear App Review: Command Google Now with Commandr – XDA Developer TV

OK Google. Make Me a sandwich. How many times have you … more

Play Your Hits and Learn the Lyrics with NextGen Music Player

There are plenty of music players for Android available in Play Store. They … more

Control Your Toast Notifications with SlicedToasts

Toasts are delicious, even in their Android flavor. In Android, toast doesn’t lead … more