MultiImagePicker Library for Multiple Image Selection

App developmentcan be done in more than a handful of ways. You can write every single … more

Shoot Troubles, Not Users w/ Alex Boag-Munroe – XDA:DevCon 2014

In presenting the various sessions from XDA:DevCon 2014, weve mainly … more

Oppo Releases ColorOS for the Find 5… Poorly

Almost every OEM has taken the liberty of creating its own incarnation of the Android OS. … more

XDA LG Development Challenge Winners

Almost 3months ago, we set out with LGto findtwo amazing apps that developers could put together … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] I9192 stuck on Baseband Version XXUAMF7

OP cloudspine

22nd January 2014, 03:01 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
48 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
I got my S4 Mini I9192 in December, but I can't remember the version it came with. Immediately after getting the phone, I updated to XXUAMF7, and rooted the phone using the tutorial by cheatman, here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2368561

Everything was fine, but trying to find some info on the possible culprit for the battery standby drain, I found somewhere that it could be a problem with the Russian region UAMF7 rom. So, I downloaded, and installed the Indian DDUAMJ2 rom, rooting using arco68's files from http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2494435, but didn't have wifi, so I then flashed MJNazari's kernel from http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2431953.
Now everything's fine, wifi works, still don't know about the battery drain, but information in the "About device" worries me.
The build number is fine, JDQ39.I9192DDUAMJ2, but the Baseband version is still showing I9192XXUAMF7 !?
Is this normal, and have I messed something up somewhere?
22nd January 2014, 05:01 PM   |  #2  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
48 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
Can anybody who's upgraded from rooted XXUAMF7 to anything newer tell me what their "About device" says?
22nd January 2014, 05:29 PM   |  #3  
SilviuMik's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 849
 
982 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cloudspine

Can anybody who's upgraded from rooted XXUAMF7 to anything newer tell me what their "About device" says?

Modem did not upgrade
Either flash whole rom AGAIN or only flash modem
This happens when u have "Custom" status in download mode.
U can extract modem from stock MJ2 rom tar and md5 it and reflash it
Here is the modem i extracted from MJ2 flash it with Odin CP option
I9192DDUAMJ2_Modem.tar.md5 37.2 MB
https://mega.co.nz/#!5Q9kSaDQ!QrKvmz...ikoR_5CMfdEC2g
The Following User Says Thank You to SilviuMik For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd January 2014, 08:57 PM   |  #4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
48 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by SilviuMik

Modem did not upgrade
Either flash whole rom AGAIN or only flash modem
This happens when u have "Custom" status in download mode.
U can extract modem from stock MJ2 rom tar and md5 it and reflash it
Here is the modem i extracted from MJ2 flash it with Odin CP option
I9192DDUAMJ2_Modem.tar.md5 37.2 MB
https://mega.co.nz/#!5Q9kSaDQ!QrKvmz...ikoR_5CMfdEC2g

Thank you very much!

I had tried flashing the entire ROM twice, even did a factory reset, wiping the whole lot of everything I had on the device

BTW, on a technical note, where does that "Custom" status come from? Rootkit? Kernel?
22nd January 2014, 09:10 PM   |  #5  
SilviuMik's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 849
 
982 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cloudspine

Thank you very much!

I had tried flashing the entire ROM twice, even did a factory reset, wiping the whole lot of everything I had on the device

BTW, on a technical note, where does that "Custom" status come from? Rootkit? Kernel?

Well, depends
For example if u take a stock rom from sammobile , unpack it and delete bootloader stuff when u`ll flash it status will go "custom" even if u did not modify other stuff
If u flash a custom kernel / recovery status will go custom
If u delete some "bloat" status will become custom
Many things will trigger that status
Good part is , u can come back to official if u flash a stock unmodified rom from sammobile and factory reset your phone after
Take care, sometimes u must flash it twice or more because modem does not get flashed
Btw, u are lucky u still don`t have Knox bootloader do not flash a stock rom from sammobile that ends with MK4 MK5 ML1 ML2 ML4 NA2 etc without modifying and deleting Knox bootloader
The Following User Says Thank You to SilviuMik For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd January 2014, 12:25 PM   |  #6  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
48 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
Thanks a lot for the info! The Custom status was then probably caused by installing CWM and removing all of Samsung's apps after rooting...
Last edited by cloudspine; 23rd January 2014 at 12:37 PM.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes