Velocity is Like OpenTable on Steroids

We all enjoy a night out with friends or our significant other from time to time. However, there is … more

Android Lollipop Lands for the Sony Xperia Z Ultra

The undisputed king of the beasts–at least in Sony’s current stable,is the … more

Android 5.0 Lollipop in 3D–EVO 3D, That Is!

It is that time of the year once again. Flowers bloom (or snow falls, depending on which … more

Gaming Console with Lollipop? Ouya Gets an Android TV Port

Android is a very flexible platform, and it can be used on a large variety of … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Upgrade to 4.4.2 and lose 3rd party accessory access?

OP sanjsrik

23rd January 2014, 03:35 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Brooklyn
Thanks Meter: 69
 
1,367 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2006
More
Has anyone run across this who have upgraded to 4.4.x?

Apparently, in the version of KitKat released by Samsung, without a 3rd party chip installed in the accessory, the accessory won't be recognized by the ROM.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=49696039 (yes, it's my original post, just asking the question here as well).
23rd January 2014, 05:01 PM   |  #2  
radicalisto's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag York
Thanks Meter: 1,509
 
3,698 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanjsrik

Has anyone run across this who have upgraded to 4.4.x?

Apparently, in the version of KitKat released by Samsung, without a 3rd party chip installed in the accessory, the accessory won't be recognized by the ROM.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=49696039 (yes, it's my original post, just asking the question here as well).


Yup, but it has been fixed if you have root >>> here
23rd January 2014, 05:09 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Brooklyn
Thanks Meter: 69
 
1,367 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2006
More
Will updating/flashing Framework require you to trip knox though? Meaning, does it require a different recovery? Not clear in the link you provided. Sorry, I'm not an expert at all on framework and how to get it on the devices.
23rd January 2014, 05:15 PM   |  #4  
radicalisto's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag York
Thanks Meter: 1,509
 
3,698 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanjsrik

Will updating/flashing Framework require you to trip knox though? Meaning, does it require a different recovery? Not clear in the link you provided. Sorry, I'm not an expert at all on framework and how to get it on the devices.

Well rooting (unless you are on MJ2 firmware) will trip your KNOX I'm afraid but no custom recovery is required only root access, - but if you were rooted, then it's just a case of installing Xposed framework (pretty much just an .apk install) - then open the app, go to downloads and find that mod, hit install and reboot and that's it pretty much
23rd January 2014, 05:49 PM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Flag Brooklyn
Thanks Meter: 69
 
1,367 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2006
More
Talking rooting <> tripping Knox
Quote:
Originally Posted by radicalisto

Well rooting (unless you are on MJ2 firmware) will trip your KNOX I'm afraid but no custom recovery is required only root access, - but if you were rooted, then it's just a case of installing Xposed framework (pretty much just an .apk install) - then open the app, go to downloads and find that mod, hit install and reboot and that's it pretty much

Not a true statement at all that rooting will trip Knox. I used Kingo and haven't tripped Knox at all. I'm just asking if flashing Xposed framewwork requires a different recovery and bootloader which WILL trip Knox as it requires a new recovery. However, I have 0x0 root so, no, rooting does NOT imply you've tripped Knox at all.

I just looked up Xposed and was able to install and run the APK and able to install a few of the add-ons.

Nice. And all that without tripping Knox, hmm.
23rd January 2014, 05:55 PM   |  #6  
radicalisto's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag York
Thanks Meter: 1,509
 
3,698 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanjsrik

Not a true statement at all that rooting will trip Knox. I used Kingo and haven't tripped Knox at all. I'm just asking if flashing Xposed framewwork requires a different recovery and bootloader which WILL trip Knox as it requires a new recovery. However, I have 0x0 root so, no, rooting does NOT imply you've tripped Knox at all.

I just looked up Xposed and was able to install and run the APK and able to install a few of the add-ons.

Nice. And all that without tripping Knox, hmm.

Well usually rooting any firmware past MJ2 trips KNOX especially if using CF Root, I cannot comment on Kingo as it was banned and still is banned on XDA afaik, so never had any dealings with it. Plus I tripped my KNOX straight away. Also, from what I have read around, after you reboot when installing certain root methods, it'll trip KNOX automatically (whether yours has/.will is a different story)
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes