Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,733,547 Members 43,117 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Those who are now on KitKat (TouchWiz) any regrets?

Tip us?
 
ultramag69
Old
#11  
ultramag69's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 574
Posts: 4,455
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Waratah
I actually love the battery life on Kitkat... I have removed both Note 3's, sporting JB and Kitkat from power at the same time. I've been using the Kitkat phone all day making calls, sms'ing and other various things not to mention the auto updates...
Both phones have the same setup and syncing but the Kitkat phone which is being used has more power than JB phone which has sat on my bed all day long doing what it wants and not being used. It's down to 78% over about 11 hours. The Kiktkat one is at 86% ad has been used all day.
That's brilliant as far as I'm concerned...
If You Disagree Or Think I'm Wrong, Look Closer At My Avatar...
 
skibadee
Old
#12  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 75
Posts: 547
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Bristol
Quote:
Originally Posted by alom5 View Post
Call recording doesn't work and the camera is worse, I have flickering lines on my camera which I never had. But the phone is super fast and the battery is a great improvement. I wouldn't say you need to be on kit Kat if you are happy on 4.3....but the Poland firmware is obviously a test firmware.... So when all regions get it... Should be much better.

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk
Thats interesting, you never had flickering before you updated?

Mines been off for repair and is due back today. I dont know what they've done yet but I'd be surprised if software was the problem.

Sent from my GT-I8190N using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
ultramag69
Old
#13  
ultramag69's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 574
Posts: 4,455
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Waratah
Apparently the Balitic now has 4.4.2 firmware, according to Sammobile... Its the same build though...
If You Disagree Or Think I'm Wrong, Look Closer At My Avatar...
 
testmonkey1
Old
#14  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 98
Posts: 426
Join Date: Dec 2013
Well I would say the only regret is missing the ability to flash 4.3 ROMs and CM. Otherwise seems smoother and faster. So if you do like the TW features I would suggest upgrading.

Been upgraded for a couple of days know, busting my head around how to revert back to CM but I realized putting CM is not very productive when you think about it. The 4.4 stock ROM is damn fast so the only difference I'm seeing is in RAM Usage (stock ROM using much more ram naturally), but does it really matter on a device with 3GBs of Ram? I've never once been close to hitting that mark.. You do get all the S Pen features and stuff that probably made you buy the device in the first place.

So basically:

TW pluses
no bugs
S Pen and other features

CM pluses
no bloat
more customization options and annoyances fixed that should've been there in the first place.
 
alom5
Old
#15  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 173
Posts: 708
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by skibadee View Post
Thats interesting, you never had flickering before you updated?

Mines been off for repair and is due back today. I dont know what they've done yet but I'd be surprised if software was the problem.

Sent from my GT-I8190N using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
I didn't have any flickering before at all. I have flashed a few different roms... And it seems to have gone now... I think 😁

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk
 
flash515
Old
#16  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 21
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by polish_pat View Post
works fine for me...
Who's service do you use and which modem or radio do you have loaded. I have wind in Vancouver which does not use LTE but wonder if a different radio will allow me to use LTE from another carrier ie. say Rogers if I am out of coverage area of Wind. I notice with the stock Samsung software and Wind in Vancouver if I loose signal it sometimes does not automatically log back in even though I am within coverage area. My only complaint so far.
 
polish_pat
Old
#17  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 338
Posts: 1,421
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Montreal

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by flash515 View Post
Who's service do you use and which modem or radio do you have loaded. I have wind in Vancouver which does not use LTE but wonder if a different radio will allow me to use LTE from another carrier ie. say Rogers if I am out of coverage area of Wind. I notice with the stock Samsung software and Wind in Vancouver if I loose signal it sometimes does not automatically log back in even though I am within coverage area. My only complaint so far.
It turns out it doesn't work. The call record button is there but nothing happens when i press it.

Sent from my SM-N900W8 using Tapatalk

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Shane Francis to Talk Android, Robotics, and Vision at XDA:DevCon 2014

Our international xda:devcon 14in Manchester, UK on the weekend of … more

LG G Watch Tool is a Toolkit all Owners Need

The LG G Watch is one of the first two devices hitting the market rocking the highly anticipated … more

Benchmark Your CPU Performance with Mini CPU Integer Script

When it comes to device testing, there are two types of people on XDA. The first … more

Rid Yourself of Charging Annoyances with No Wake on Charge Xposed Module

Almost every OEM has skinned and otherwise modifiedAndroid to suit … more