Android Lollipop Lands for the Sony Xperia Z Ultra

The undisputed king of the beasts–at least in Sony’s current stable,is the … more

Android 5.0 Lollipop in 3D–EVO 3D, That Is!

It is that time of the year once again. Flowers bloom (or snow falls, depending on which … more

Gaming Console with Lollipop? Ouya Gets an Android TV Port

Android is a very flexible platform, and it can be used on a large variety of … more

Android App Review: Manage Your Connections Automagically – XDA TV

Material Design is all the buzz in the Android world right now. … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Problem with #NCSIG# and #NCSIGN# on SGS3/Sprint

OP Doktor Jones

24th January 2014, 07:43 PM   |  #11  
Member
Flag Mulvane, KS
Thanks Meter: 3
 
44 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doktor Jones

Yeah... I can't use dbm either, because it's supposed to be a negative value, but when I connect to LTE it goes to +85 o_O

If you use the code i posted it will allow for a progress part to work....you have to basically make it negative. I saw the positive on my LTE on my N5 and that is how i got it to work with a progress bar. However i didn't check to see what the regular signal for voice would show up as...if that is already negative i will make modifications to my code and post it...going to check that right now.

EDIT: I just tested it and voice goes to a negative number so i will make changes to the code and re-post for you guys.

---------- Post added at 12:43 PM ---------- Previous post was at 12:18 PM ----------

Okay i got the new code for the value section on a progress bar that will allow for the change...my N5 only connects to LTE unless i need to make or get a call then it switches networks from Data to Voice network and thus why i didn't think about the issue you just brought up...

here's the code hope this helps....
Code:
$#NCELL#=Sprint && #NCSIGN#>-1?(#NCSIGN#*-1):#NCSIGN#$ $#NCELL#!=Sprint?#NCSIG#$
Last edited by BlueDrgBlade; 24th January 2014 at 07:23 PM.
24th January 2014, 07:51 PM   |  #12  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueDrgBlade

If you use the code i posted it will allow for a progress part to work....you have to basically make it negative. I saw the positive on my LTE on my N5 and that is how i got it to work with a progress bar. However i didn't check to see what the regular signal for voice would show up as...if that is already negative i will make modifications to my code and post it...going to check that right now.

That doesn't actually solve the problem; normally (1x, 3G, EHRPD) the values are already negative, ranging from -125 to about -60 (theoretically it could go much higher, but -62 is the best I've ever seen, standing within ~100yd of a tower with LOS). If I just use some math magic to make the invert the positive, it still doesn't resolve the fact that the 85 is an entirely invalid value. However, doing some more Googling, it looks more like it might be a ROM-related issue with Sprint LTE; in other words, ZW gets bad data, and just merrily runs along with it.
24th January 2014, 08:11 PM   |  #13  
Member
Flag Mulvane, KS
Thanks Meter: 3
 
44 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doktor Jones

That doesn't actually solve the problem; normally (1x, 3G, EHRPD) the values are already negative, ranging from -125 to about -60 (theoretically it could go much higher, but -62 is the best I've ever seen, standing within ~100yd of a tower with LOS). If I just use some math magic to make the invert the positive, it still doesn't resolve the fact that the 85 is an entirely invalid value. However, doing some more Googling, it looks more like it might be a ROM-related issue with Sprint LTE; in other words, ZW gets bad data, and just merrily runs along with it.

I noticed that looking over more of the source code for android...but my last code post above should allow for this goof up in the system.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes