5,600,483 Members 32,896 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[URGENT] Flash wrong model firmware on phone

Tip us?
 
Galaxy Y User
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 14
Join Date: Aug 2012
Default [URGENT] Flash wrong model firmware on phone

So I recently got a I9000 from a friend. It was on android 2.3.4 and it baseband was I9000ZSJZ, already rooted but had no CWM. I wanted to upgrade the OS to 2.3.6 and add the CWM to the phone but I could not found a thread in the Android Development that contain firmware. So I search the internet and ended up in the Galaxy S Captivate. The thread said if I had normal bootloader with I9000 logo I should flash the one with the AT&T bootloader. I thought those two were the same so I use Odin to flash the latest one with CWM. When it boot, my phone was very laggy, it has no Baseband, the back button turn into the home button and the home button does nothing. I don't see the signal bar and everytime I tried to plug my phone to PC it always automatically turn off. Can anyone know how to fix this problem??? I can still enter the CMW mode and download mode, and I have tried flashing another firmware with baseband I9000 but still no luck. Anyone can help???
 
keeekeeess
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 39
Join Date: Apr 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galaxy Y User View Post
So I recently got a I9000 from a friend. It was on android 2.3.4 and it baseband was I9000ZSJZ, already rooted but had no CWM. I wanted to upgrade the OS to 2.3.6 and add the CWM to the phone but I could not found a thread in the Android Development that contain firmware. So I search the internet and ended up in the Galaxy S Captivate. The thread said if I had normal bootloader with I9000 logo I should flash the one with the AT&T bootloader. I thought those two were the same so I use Odin to flash the latest one with CWM. When it boot, my phone was very laggy, it has no Baseband, the back button turn into the home button and the home button does nothing. I don't see the signal bar and everytime I tried to plug my phone to PC it always automatically turn off. Can anyone know how to fix this problem??? I can still enter the CMW mode and download mode, and I have tried flashing another firmware with baseband I9000 but still no luck. Anyone can help???
If you can enter CWM that means there should not be such a big problem.

Just get the ROM for i9000 (make sure you don't have i9001) and flash it, but before that, wipe data/factory reset, wipe cache partition and go to advanced and delete dalvik cache.
 
Galaxy Y User
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 14
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by keeekeeess View Post
If you can enter CWM that means there should not be such a big problem.

Just get the ROM for i9000 (make sure you don't have i9001) and flash it, but before that, wipe data/factory reset, wipe cache partition and go to advanced and delete dalvik cache.
Thanks for the reply. After flashing vibrant bootloader before flashing the i9000 rom I was able to fix most of the problem but the Baseband number still gone and there was no network connection. Maybe because of region lock since I flash a Hong Kong region i9000 stock rom. Could anyone provide a Vietnam region firmware. Thanks in advance
 
keeekeeess
Old
(Last edited by keeekeeess; 21st January 2014 at 11:03 PM.)
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 39
Join Date: Apr 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galaxy Y User View Post
Thanks for the reply. After flashing vibrant bootloader before flashing the i9000 rom I was able to fix most of the problem but the Baseband number still gone and there was no network connection. Maybe because of region lock since I flash a Hong Kong region i9000 stock rom. Could anyone provide a Vietnam region firmware. Thanks in advance
Just flash CyanogenMod, it's better than any stock Android out there, plus you will have Android 4.4. Go to www.cyanogenmod.org and follow the instructions.

PS: Do you have Samsung Vibrant or Samsung Galaxy GT-i9000? Because if you have Galaxy S GT-i9000 and flash Samsung Vibrant software on it, it will just mess up with your phone. Althought they look the same, they have different harware inside.
 
Galaxy Y User
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 14
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by keeekeeess View Post
Just flash CyanogenMod, it's better than any stock Android out there, plus you will have Android 4.4. Go to www.cyanogenmod.org and follow the instructions.

PS: Do you have Samsung Vibrant or Samsung Galaxy GT-i9000? Because if you have Galaxy S GT-i9000 and flash Samsung Vibrant software on it, it will just mess up with your phone. Althought they look the same, they have different harware inside.
I'm not sure. I got it from a friend and when I flash the one for Samsung Captivate the Baseband turn to Unknown and cause many bug. After flashing Vibrant bootloader and a Hong Kong region stock rom I got from samsung-updates.com, most of the problem was fixed. So you are saying if I flash CM 9/10/11, my baseband will be back?
 
keeekeeess
Old
#6  
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 39
Join Date: Apr 2013
From what I know, the modem file is integrated in CM, so yes.

If you want a HK baseband, you can flash it separately. Basebands are independent from ROM, but always flash ROM made specifically for your phone model.
 
Galaxy Y User
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 14
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by keeekeeess View Post
From what I know, the modem file is integrated in CM, so yes.

If you want a HK baseband, you can flash it separately. Basebands are independent from ROM, but always flash ROM made specifically for your phone model.
I thought each phone have their individual baseband integrate in them and flashing rom have baseband integrate in them doesn't change your baseband. I have already flash to different CM rom on my phone (ICS) and my baseband is still unknown. Do you have any other suggestion?
 
xsenman
Old
#8  
xsenman's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2136
Posts: 3,920
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Philippines
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galaxy Y User View Post
I thought each phone have their individual baseband integrate in them and flashing rom have baseband integrate in them doesn't change your baseband. I have already flash to different CM rom on my phone (ICS) and my baseband is still unknown. Do you have any other suggestion?
First determine your device model by checking its IMEI ( written under battery) look under "Be Sure First" in [Tutorial] How to Unbrick, Flash, Downgrade, Root, Update i9000 from Froyo to Kit Kat
when you are sure its i9000 than use the unbricking guide or read How to Solve EFS problems, if its not i9000 search under "Find your device" search engine on top and use that guide and forum.

 
Galaxy Y User
Old
#9  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 14
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by xsenman View Post
First determine your device model by checking its IMEI ( written under battery) look under "Be Sure First" in [Tutorial] How to Unbrick, Flash, Downgrade, Root, Update i9000 from Froyo to Kit Kat
when you are sure its i9000 than use the unbricking guide or read How to Solve EFS problems, if its not i9000 search under "Find your device" search engine on top and use that guide and forum.

When I first receive the phone, I check the model in the About phone and its model was I9000 and using something call lidroid part/rom, but when I check the IMEI using the link you given, it was a SHW-M110S. So what should I do now???
 
xsenman
Old
#10  
xsenman's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2136
Posts: 3,920
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Philippines
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galaxy Y User View Post
When I first receive the phone, I check the model in the About phone and its model was I9000 and using something call lidroid part/rom, but when I check the IMEI using the link you given, it was a SHW-M110S. So what should I do now???
SO, its a KOrean Galaxy S and you cannot use anything meant for i9000 on it, and you were scammed into believing it was an i9000 when you boughht it.

read this For Korean Galaxy S

Exclusively for M110S Galaxy S PIT STOP
i9000 or M110S scam exposed
How to Flash and UNBRICK Samsung Anycall Galaxy S ( SHW M110S )
Unbricking the Korean Galaxy S [SHW M110S]

download the repair kit in the unbricking guide and follow the instructions to get your phone working as an SHW M110S


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...