Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[HOWTO][ROOT] Confirmed method to root the 98.30.1 & 9.8.1 firmware.

OP Shiestie

25th January 2014, 12:36 AM   |  #1  
Shiestie's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag Harrisburg
Thanks Meter: 6
 
26 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
Thanks to k1mu for figuring this trick out.
It's originally a Samsung Galaxy S4 root method but does infact work for the Razr M.

Here is a link to the zip file. Saferoot.zip
  1. Download & Unzip/Extract saferoot.zip
  2. Plug your RAZR M into your PC via the USB Cable and Make sure the USB Mode is set to MTP.
  3. Enable USB Debugging on your phone.
    In Developer Options, make sure "USB Debugging" is checkmarked.
    --Go to "Settings", "More...", then "Developer Options".
    If "Developer Options" doesn't appear, then you'll need to enable it - go to "Settings", "More", "About Phone". Scroll down so the "Build Number" is visible, then tap on that several times until developer mode is enabled.
  4. Allow your computer to access ADB.
    Make sure that your computer is allowed to use USB debugging on your phone. To do this, unplug your phone and unlock it. Then, plug in the USB cable.
    If you see an "Alllow USB debugging?" window pop up, tap on the "Always allow from this computer" to check it, then tap OK.
    If you don't see that popup, it's OK, you should be OK to proceed.
  5. On WINDOWS - run 'Install.bat' and follow on screen instructions
  6. On LINUX & MacOS - To run this root, download and unzip the zip file. Open a shell window, and to change to the directory where you unpacked saferoot.zip, and type "sh ./install.sh". Follow the onscreen instructions and once complete your Razr M should now have root.

If the embedded adb fails, you'll need to have the Android Debugging Bridge (adb) installed and configured and on your path. You can test that it's ready by opening a shell (Terminal) window and typing "adb shell". If you get a shell prompt on the phone, type "exit" and you're ready to go.
25th January 2014, 01:35 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 528
 
2,602 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shiestie

Thanks to k1mu.

Indeed.
Sir we have had a thread about this root method from the day kc6wke discovered it.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2602657
Having another will cause confusion. Can you understand that? Xda forum rules!
Please delete.
Thank you.
Why don't you make this same post to the above thread & I will link to it in my op? Why not?
Last edited by aviwdoowks; 25th January 2014 at 01:57 AM.
29th January 2014, 05:15 PM   |  #3  
MBRedline's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
53 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
hey guys I helped a friend root his razr M using the saferoot method the other day, and now he is wanting to install a custom rom, I showed him safestrap and he installed and tried it, but he said when he clicks on create rom slot that nothing happens. I don have a razr M so I am wondering if there is a newer version of safestrap than the 3.12 that is on hash codes page, or if there is a different boot loader that is more supported for this device

Thanks alot
29th January 2014, 05:51 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 528
 
2,602 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by MBRedline

hey guys I helped a friend root his razr M using the saferoot method the other day, and now he is wanting to install a custom rom, I showed him safestrap and he installed and tried it, but he said when he clicks on create rom slot that nothing happens. I don have a razr M so I am wondering if there is a newer version of safestrap than the 3.12 that is on hash codes page, or if there is a different boot loader that is more supported for this device

Thanks alot

Read
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...10&postcount=3
29th January 2014, 06:04 PM   |  #5  
MBRedline's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
53 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by aviwdoowks

Read
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...10&postcount=3

Thanks man,

I got him up and running, he wasnt selecting a data partition size. Its kinda hard to walk someone through this stuff by text haha. And on my note 3 and razr maxx they just defaulted to a partition size and I dont have to worry about selecting one, so I didnt think of that as a possibilty. My bad

Thanks again though!
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes