5,598,779 Members 35,921 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Problems with 32GB SD Card (SanDisk)

Tip us?
 
xasbo
Old
#11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 44
Posts: 250
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by eclyptos View Post
Is that specific phone using a special unknown partition system for the card? I don't think so. The phones are this days build with market standards including SDHC and SDXC compatibility. SDHC natively use FAT32, SDXC natively use exFAT. Not all phones support SDXC so the card have to be formatted in FAT32 to make it functional and the only way is to use specific application on PC. Formatting the SD on PC also is more efficient than OS of the phones and the main reason is that OS of any phone can't verified a faulty or fake SD card so you can losing data without even know why.
Sorry man, you are usually on point, but with this you are talking nonsense.

I have never seen or heard of an Android phone which didn't use FAT32 or exFAT, nor one that made arbitrary partions. Further, if the phone doesn't support exFAT, obviously it won't format the card to use the exFAT file system. The bit about a PC being more efficient is just total nonsense. I have formatted several different size/brand SD cards on this phone and others without having issues using them in the phone or a PC or other Android device, even. If you can satisfactorily back up anything you've said, I'll change my mind.
 
eclyptos
Old
#12  
eclyptos's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 479
Posts: 2,496
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Planet Earth
Quote:
Originally Posted by xasbo View Post
Sorry man, you are usually on point, but with this you are talking nonsense.
Happen sometimes, no body is perfect.

Quote:
Originally Posted by xasbo View Post
I have never seen or heard of an Android phone which didn't use FAT32 or exFAT, nor one that made arbitrary partions.
I make you and example, I got HTC HD2 with latest Android ICS ported from NEXUS, it not support and it not recognize a 64GB SDXC in exFAT, the only way to make working that card on HD2 is to format it in FAT32 on PC.

Quote:
Originally Posted by xasbo View Post
Further, if the phone doesn't support exFAT, obviously it won't format the card to use the exFAT file system.
Right, but a phone which support exFAT and FAT32 as well will not format the exFAT card to FAT32 end even if he dose the card have huge risk to be compromise. Speaking from experience.

Quote:
Originally Posted by xasbo View Post
The bit about a PC being more efficient is just total nonsense. I have formatted several different size/brand SD cards on this phone and others without having issues using them in the phone or a PC or other Android device, even. If you can satisfactorily back up anything you've said, I'll change my mind.
I never said you CAN'T format the card on the phone. It will work anyway but on PC the formatting will be more deeply efficient because you using specified application to do so. On High-End phones the formatting can be good too but you can't say is well done like on PC.

All the Sl..ts making Blo..bs, but there is always someone who do it much better! Am I wrong?
IF I HELPED DO NOT SAY THANKS, CLICK IT.
My Evolution: Sony Xperia Z1 - UB + 4.3 Rooted + Deodexed, HTC HD2, HTC Diamond 2, HTC HD Blackstone, Nokia 7070 Prism, Qtek 9100, Nokia 3100, Motorola T720i, Nokia 3310, Sony Ericson PF 768 (Blue)
 
FAT_C
Old
#13  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 11
Join Date: Aug 2011
let's go back to the topic.I have the same problem on my Z1 as well.
will this related to a slow (class 4) speed sd card?
 
eclyptos
Old
(Last edited by eclyptos; 24th January 2014 at 02:39 AM.)
#14  
eclyptos's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 479
Posts: 2,496
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Planet Earth
Quote:
Originally Posted by FAT_C View Post
let's go back to the topic.I have the same problem on my Z1 as well.
will this related to a slow (class 4) speed sd card?
Absolutely not, the class of the card is not an issue at all. If you have a SDHC have to be in FAT32, check it, just in case. The partition can be corrupted then will be recommended to format the card how you like.

But if your problem is the same as OP mentioned with the same application, to me the app is the main problem. Try to move the files with different application or use different media player to see if the issue still there.
IF I HELPED DO NOT SAY THANKS, CLICK IT.
My Evolution: Sony Xperia Z1 - UB + 4.3 Rooted + Deodexed, HTC HD2, HTC Diamond 2, HTC HD Blackstone, Nokia 7070 Prism, Qtek 9100, Nokia 3100, Motorola T720i, Nokia 3310, Sony Ericson PF 768 (Blue)
 
N345H
Old
#15  
N345H's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 66
Join Date: Oct 2013
I have put the 32GB cardin my Tablet Z and it's working without error but I can still not get anything over 16GB running on my Z1
Seems a bit strange to me unless it's a random 4.3 problem though I haven't heard any wide spread issues

Sent from my SGP321 using Tapatalk
 
eclyptos
Old
#16  
eclyptos's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 479
Posts: 2,496
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Planet Earth
Quote:
Originally Posted by N345H View Post
I have put the 32GB cardin my Tablet Z and it's working without error but I can still not get anything over 16GB running on my Z1
Seems a bit strange to me unless it's a random 4.3 problem though I haven't heard any wide spread issues
Yes, seems a bit strange and I will suggest to check the card on PC with h2testw, just in case. If everything is ok with the card then is your phone and probably Android it self, in this scenario I will consider to flash different .290 FW.
Attached Files
File Type: rar h2testw.rar - [Click for QR Code] (180.3 KB, 4 views)
IF I HELPED DO NOT SAY THANKS, CLICK IT.
My Evolution: Sony Xperia Z1 - UB + 4.3 Rooted + Deodexed, HTC HD2, HTC Diamond 2, HTC HD Blackstone, Nokia 7070 Prism, Qtek 9100, Nokia 3100, Motorola T720i, Nokia 3310, Sony Ericson PF 768 (Blue)
The Following User Says Thank You to eclyptos For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
N345H
Old
#17  
N345H's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 66
Join Date: Oct 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by eclyptos View Post
Yes, seems a bit strange and I will suggest to check the card on PC with h2testw, just in case. If everything is ok with the card then is your phone and probably Android it self, in this scenario I will consider to flash different .290 FW.
Thanks, I will run a few tests when I can get back to my PC

Sent from my SGP321 using Tapatalk
 
olokos
Old
#18  
olokos's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 555
Posts: 1,576
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Warsaw

 
DONATE TO ME
I'm using 32GB SanDisk extreme uhs1 and never had a single issue. (well, once cos it was from a faulty batch, but your card doesn't seem to have any of my issues before replacement)
Don't use media go. I think that that's what ruins your music by encoding it like iTunes which z1 doesn't like.

Wysłane z mojego C6903 przy użyciu Tapatalka
My work on xda:
[APP][4.x+] CyanogenMod Apollo - Music Player (Updated 18.04.14)
[JB&KK][AROMA]Volumemod - no quality loss! Choose your own volume! AudioFix 09.04.14
Z2 bootanimation
I'm having some real life issues. Development is not stopped, but it surely is going to be slower.

The Following User Says Thank You to olokos For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Say Goodbye to Holo Blue Once and for All

When Google released Android 4.4 KitKat back in October of last year, they changed quite a bit … more

Sony Z Ultra Google Play Edition Receives Bluetooth Certification for Android 4.4.3

You may recall that a few days ago, Sprint jumped the gun … more

Easily Configure Xposed Module Projects in Eclipse

XDA Recognized Developer rovo89‘s innovative and versatile Xposed Framework allows … more

Android Control Center Becomes Quick Control Panel, Brings Host of New Features

You may recall that back in August of last year, we talked … more