FORUMS

Android 5.1.1 Omni ROM For Motorola Xoom

Back in Feb 2011, the Motorola Xoom became the first device to be sold with Android 3.0 … more

CleanSlate Brings Fingerprint Scanner Mod to HTC One M9+

Work of XDA Recognized Developer tbalden, CleanSlate custom kernel for the HTC … more

Sunday Debate: Which Factors Caused HTC’s Woes?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on HTC’s situation. Come with your … more

HTC’s New Ad Campaign And What It Really Means

HTC has just released three new blind test adverts comparing app loading … more

Chainfire 3D

384 posts
Thanks Meter: 25
 
By nk33, Senior Member on 24th January 2014, 10:09 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I stupidly installed chainfire 3D driver without looking into anything first and now my tablet is stuck in a loop.

The LG logo animation keeps repeating itself and never boots.

is there a way to disable the chainfire driver so it boots up without it.

I dont know what came over me but as soon as I pressed install I knew it was the wrong thing to do...

will I have to flash an official rom to it?

please help...stressin so much
 
 
24th January 2014, 11:16 PM |#2  
CuraeL's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Copenhagen
Thanks Meter: 188
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nk33

I stupidly installed chainfire 3D driver without looking into anything first and now my tablet is stuck in a loop.

The LG logo animation keeps repeating itself and never boots.

is there a way to disable the chainfire driver so it boots up without it.

I dont know what came over me but as soon as I pressed install I knew it was the wrong thing to do...

will I have to flash an official rom to it?

please help...stressin so much

If you can get to recovery through the key combo then you can recover from the backup that you of course have made. Otherwise, yes, the LG Repair tool is prolly your best bet. Sorry mate. Good luck.
24th January 2014, 11:31 PM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by CuraeL

If you can get to recovery through the key combo then you can recover from the backup that you of course have made. Otherwise, yes, the LG Repair tool is prolly your best bet. Sorry mate. Good luck.

1) I have no custom recovery
2) have you got a link for the repair tool with instructions

thanks for your help
24th January 2014, 11:36 PM |#4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
More
...also what is the "key combo" to get into recovery? i wouldn't mind doing a factory reset
25th January 2014, 12:18 AM |#5  
CuraeL's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Copenhagen
Thanks Meter: 188
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nk33

...also what is the "key combo" to get into recovery? i wouldn't mind doing a factory reset

A bit tricky. Shut down the tablet.

Hold power + volume down
Release power when logo comes up, THEN quickly press power AND volume up while holding volume down through it all. Try a few times, eventually it will work. Without custom recovery you will be able to just press power and do a factory reset. Try that first.

Otherwise, go to lg.com and go to support, download LG Pc Suite and use the recovery tool. To get to download mode on your device turn it off and hold volume up + down and then insert the USB. It should then boot up into dload mode.

Good luck.
25th January 2014, 01:15 AM |#6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by CuraeL

A bit tricky. Shut down the tablet.

Hold power + volume down
Release power when logo comes up, THEN quickly press power AND volume up while holding volume down through it all. Try a few times, eventually it will work. Without custom recovery you will be able to just press power and do a factory reset. Try that first.

Otherwise, go to lg.com and go to support, download LG Pc Suite and use the recovery tool. To get to download mode on your device turn it off and hold volume up + down and then insert the USB. It should then boot up into dload mode.

Good luck.

thanks mate. managed to use google and find that out while I was waiting for your response. Used the LG tool method - lucky I have fibre it downloaded the ROM in a few minutes.

managed to find a titanium backup I copied and pasted to my pc on one of the drives - rerooted it and restoring from titanium now.

thanks for all your help mate.

...I knew there was a way!!
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes