Build Custom Stock Kernel with Linaro GCC 4.9.1

With this guide for Sony devices, you will learn how to build a kernel using the Linaro … more

What’s Your Biggest Reason for Not Owning an iPhone?

With XDA being a community of Android enthusiasts, it is not uncommon to see … more

“New Kernel” for OnePlus One

If you are hungry for a new kernel on your OnePlus One, XDA Senior Member jgcaap‘s … more

GMD GestureControl Gets Lollipop Support

GMD GestureControl is an app that allows you to control your (rooted) devices with multitouch … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Chainfire 3D

24th January 2014, 10:09 PM |#1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
277 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
I stupidly installed chainfire 3D driver without looking into anything first and now my tablet is stuck in a loop.

The LG logo animation keeps repeating itself and never boots.

is there a way to disable the chainfire driver so it boots up without it.

I dont know what came over me but as soon as I pressed install I knew it was the wrong thing to do...

will I have to flash an official rom to it?

please help...stressin so much
24th January 2014, 11:16 PM |#2  
CuraeL's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Copenhagen
Thanks Meter: 188
 
415 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nk33

I stupidly installed chainfire 3D driver without looking into anything first and now my tablet is stuck in a loop.

The LG logo animation keeps repeating itself and never boots.

is there a way to disable the chainfire driver so it boots up without it.

I dont know what came over me but as soon as I pressed install I knew it was the wrong thing to do...

will I have to flash an official rom to it?

please help...stressin so much

If you can get to recovery through the key combo then you can recover from the backup that you of course have made. Otherwise, yes, the LG Repair tool is prolly your best bet. Sorry mate. Good luck.
24th January 2014, 11:31 PM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
277 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by CuraeL

If you can get to recovery through the key combo then you can recover from the backup that you of course have made. Otherwise, yes, the LG Repair tool is prolly your best bet. Sorry mate. Good luck.

1) I have no custom recovery
2) have you got a link for the repair tool with instructions

thanks for your help
24th January 2014, 11:36 PM |#4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
277 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
...also what is the "key combo" to get into recovery? i wouldn't mind doing a factory reset
25th January 2014, 12:18 AM |#5  
CuraeL's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Copenhagen
Thanks Meter: 188
 
415 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nk33

...also what is the "key combo" to get into recovery? i wouldn't mind doing a factory reset

A bit tricky. Shut down the tablet.

Hold power + volume down
Release power when logo comes up, THEN quickly press power AND volume up while holding volume down through it all. Try a few times, eventually it will work. Without custom recovery you will be able to just press power and do a factory reset. Try that first.

Otherwise, go to lg.com and go to support, download LG Pc Suite and use the recovery tool. To get to download mode on your device turn it off and hold volume up + down and then insert the USB. It should then boot up into dload mode.

Good luck.
25th January 2014, 01:15 AM |#6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
277 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by CuraeL

A bit tricky. Shut down the tablet.

Hold power + volume down
Release power when logo comes up, THEN quickly press power AND volume up while holding volume down through it all. Try a few times, eventually it will work. Without custom recovery you will be able to just press power and do a factory reset. Try that first.

Otherwise, go to lg.com and go to support, download LG Pc Suite and use the recovery tool. To get to download mode on your device turn it off and hold volume up + down and then insert the USB. It should then boot up into dload mode.

Good luck.

thanks mate. managed to use google and find that out while I was waiting for your response. Used the LG tool method - lucky I have fibre it downloaded the ROM in a few minutes.

managed to find a titanium backup I copied and pasted to my pc on one of the drives - rerooted it and restoring from titanium now.

thanks for all your help mate.

...I knew there was a way!!
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes