Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,771,174 Members 51,664 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Get Secure Fail: Kernel on Every Kernel But Stock

Tip us?
 
kfres39389
Old
#21  
kfres39389's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 27
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Albuquerque
Hmmm, try recovery (which I'm sure you've tried.) If that fails, your only hope at this point would be to Odin back to stock. You can even dirty flash. I tried to flash a couple of things that wouldn't take lately. I'm a serious serial flasher though. Just Odin back to your stock framework, reroot with motochopper, and you're good to go. Oh, but don't forget to reflash safestrap once you reroot. Not an enormous deal, but a good one.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
 
Markstache
Old
#22  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 25
Join Date: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by kfres39389 View Post
Hmmm, try recovery (which I'm sure you've tried.) If that fails, your only hope at this point would be to Odin back to stock. You can even dirty flash. I tried to flash a couple of things that wouldn't take lately. I'm a serious serial flasher though. Just Odin back to your stock framework, reroot with motochopper, and you're good to go. Oh, but don't forget to reflash safestrap once you reroot. Not an enormous deal, but a good one.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
I've already odin'd back to stock rerooted with motochopper and adb'd in clockwork recovery. I don't need safestrap because I'm have an MDK, right?
 
kfres39389
Old
#23  
kfres39389's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 27
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Albuquerque
Actually, I believe the Loki exploit was removed FOR MDK. I tried looking for a different recovery once I was already on MK2, though. So I'm just straight up out of luck. Unfortunately, I believe you are too, unless someone here can correct me, which is entirely possible.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
 
Markstache
Old
#24  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 25
Join Date: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by kfres39389 View Post
Actually, I believe the Loki exploit was removed FOR MDK. I tried looking for a different recovery once I was already on MK2, though. So I'm just straight up out of luck. Unfortunately, I believe you are too, unless someone here can correct me, which is entirely possible.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
MDK is the one Loki works on, it's the original one I believe.
 
kfres39389
Old
#25  
kfres39389's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 27
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Albuquerque
Okay, it may have been AFTER MDK then. I remember MDK was involved. At the time I read it, I was already on MK2.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
 
Mistertac
Old
#26  
Mistertac's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1404
Posts: 3,193
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Springfield, Ma

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Markstache View Post
I've already odin'd back to stock rerooted with motochopper and adb'd in clockwork recovery. I don't need safestrap because I'm have an MDK, right?
Exactly, if you have MDK, you're golden. No safestrap

Sent from my SCH-I545 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
tdawgg777
Old
#27  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 19
Posts: 118
Join Date: Oct 2011
@Markstache, did you loki your cwm recovery? i use twrp which is pre loki'd, but i remember reading that cwm recoveries were not pre loki"d. i have no idea how to manually loki a recovery image. but i came across this thread... http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2497335
it details it.
 
Markstache
Old
#28  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 25
Join Date: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by tdawgg777 View Post
@Markstache, did you loki your cwm recovery? i use twrp which is pre loki'd, but i remember reading that cwm recoveries were not pre loki"d. i have no idea how to manually loki a recovery image. but i came across this thread... http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2497335
it details it.
I think you only have to do that for the Touch version of their recovery unless you buy the Rom Manager app and use it to install it. Everything I find about having to Loki CWM recovery is only for the Touch version you can download from their site for free.

I appreciate everyone trying to help. I wish I could find an answer. I wonder if it would help uncover some issue between hardware and software compatibilities. I wonder how many other people have the same problem.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Droid X Receives KitKat Port, Upcoming Google Glass Firmware Improvements – XDA Developer TV

Android 4.4.3 lands on the European HTC … more

Calc+ is a Smart and Beautiful Android Calculator

As we’ve said inthe past, there are quite a few calculators available on Android. … more

Get Better Debug Data with Crash Report SDK

Developing an application is a hard and often times ungratifying task. It also requires quite a … more

Navigate to Your Favorite Places with LocationDetector

If you’re enjoying an active way of life, you probablytravel a lot, go fishing, … more