FORUMS

PSA: You Can Optimize Your Note 4’s Recents Menu & RAM

The Note 4 never had the fastest Recents Menu, and despite its 3GB of RAM, … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (July 25 – Aug 1)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Voices Of XDA: Orbiting The Earth With Android

Editor’s note: This week’s feature has been written by forum … more

CloudPlayer: DIY HiFi Music Streaming Solution

In our Helpful Guide to Music Streaming Services, we mentioned several different services … more

[Q] Need help

37 posts
Thanks Meter: 3
 
By sobri46, Member on 20th January 2014, 06:46 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
hi guys

have a nice day

i have a sprint s4 sph l720 with 4.3 rom and MK2 Modem
i want to unlock the phone for international use

but to unlock it i need to change the modem to MDC/MDL first before unlock according to the thread on xda developer website

so can i change direct the modem from MK2 to MDC/MDL directly using Odin ?

or is there a way to unlock the phone with the 4.3 rom and MK2 modem ?


thank you for your cooperation for help
 
 
20th January 2014, 07:37 PM |#2  
leaderbuilder's Avatar
Senior Member
Somewhere in the dark and wet Northwest.
Thanks Meter: 1,260
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sobri46

hi guys

have a nice day

i have a sprint s4 sph l720 with 4.3 rom and MK2 Modem
i want to unlock the phone for international use

but to unlock it i need to change the modem to MDC/MDL first before unlock according to the thread on xda developer website

so can i change direct the modem from MK2 to MDC/MDL directly using Odin ?

or is there a way to unlock the phone with the 4.3 rom and MK2 modem ?


thank you for your cooperation for help

If you are on the stock MK2 firmware with the Knox bootloader you CANNOT Odin to MDC or MDL or anything before MJA. Period. This question has been asked and answered dozens of times. ALL the answers you are looking for are here.
Please S E A R C H.
20th January 2014, 09:07 PM |#3  
cruise350's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Memphis, TN
Thanks Meter: 625
 
More
I believe you can Odin just the MDC modem to unlock your device. But you cannot Odin a stock tar file to downgrade. Just the modem should work. Autoprime has an MDC modem file in his international unlock thread that should work. Others on mk2 have reported successfully downgrading just the modem. If it doesn't work it will either fail in Odin, or you will have to Odin the mk2 modem back to fix it.


Sent from my icrap 2 using Tapatalk HD
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to cruise350 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th January 2014, 10:56 PM |#4  
leaderbuilder's Avatar
Senior Member
Somewhere in the dark and wet Northwest.
Thanks Meter: 1,260
 
More
Thanks for the clarification cruise350. It's true that some have been able to sim unlock with just a modem downgrade, hopefully he'll get it.
It just gets so crazy that the same questions get asked over and over. and then asked again.:P
The Following User Says Thank You to leaderbuilder For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st January 2014, 09:37 PM |#5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
change modem
thank you guys

because of you two i success to downgrade the modem to MDC without any problem
and succesfully unlock the s4 sprint mobile

and now i will need only to find a way to stop the notification of the security information that say an application attempted to access system on your device without authorization. this attempt has been blocked


i make googling and most people it is the knox problem


do you guys have a suggestion for removing the notification ?
i see this web : http://www.droidviews.com/disable-kn...alaxy-devices/

what do you think ?
24th January 2014, 04:40 PM |#6  
Mistertac's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Springfield, Ma
Thanks Meter: 2,685
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sobri46

thank you guys

because of you two i success to downgrade the modem to MDC without any problem
and succesfully unlock the s4 sprint mobile

and now i will need only to find a way to stop the notification of the security information that say an application attempted to access system on your device without authorization. this attempt has been blocked


i make googling and most people it is the knox problem


do you guys have a suggestion for removing the notification ?
i see this web : http://www.droidviews.com/disable-kn...alaxy-devices/

what do you think ?

You can use Tibu and remove everything that contains Knox in it. That did it for me.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
25th January 2014, 08:15 AM |#7  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mistertac

You can use Tibu and remove everything that contains Knox in it. That did it for me.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app




do i need to freeze all knox.apk or uninstall the knox.apk ?
25th January 2014, 08:48 AM |#8  
Mistertac's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Springfield, Ma
Thanks Meter: 2,685
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sobri46

do i need to freeze all knox.apk or uninstall the knox.apk ?

I uninstalled everything that contained Knox in it. I believe there was a few of them including two com.knox.xxxx

It's been a while since I did it so I'm forgetting the exact names and how many. I just used the search function in TiBu to find them so try that.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to Mistertac For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes