Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,731,947 Members 40,792 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Got a text from Sprint about a "new" network being completed

Tip us?
 
tony5593
Old
#1  
tony5593's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 109
Join Date: Mar 2011
Default Got a text from Sprint about a "new" network being completed

So I attached a screenshot of the text I got, I'm wondering who else got that text today. It seems pretty generic to me... my roommate is with Sprint and he got the same text today. We're in Ft. Gordon, GA (Augusta area).
Oddly enough, I lost data connection for hours last night on both my devices and so did everyone else around here with Sprint. Now normally ill get 3G indoors and occasionally I'd get 4GLTE inside. I always got 4GLTE outside. When I woke up this morning I noticed my phone keeps switching between 3G and 4GLTE every few minutes... it's still doing that now, it's been happening all day. One good thing is that my data has been faster all day. Even with 1 bar 3G it's been moving way better than usual. Don't get me wrong, its nowhere near Tmos or Verizon's speed in the area. But it hasnt given me a problem all day and it's moving rather nicely lol
Anyway, anyone else get this text and/or notice weird data changes?

My devices:
- Sprint Galaxy S4
-Sprint Galaxy Tab 3
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1390594804763.jpg
Views:	2038
Size:	219.9 KB
ID:	2536957  
 
nemofbaby2010
Old
#2  
nemofbaby2010's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 147
Posts: 512
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Detroit, Michigan
they're probably just working on the towers around your area
 
daniel4653
Old
#3  
daniel4653's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2590
Posts: 8,113
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Southern California
My brother and I got the same text. But in the San Gabriel Valley area of LA. He got it yesterday and I this morning.

Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk

---------- Post added at 02:30 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:27 PM ----------

Wow I actually got a MAJOR improvement on 3g with one bar also. I didn't think about running a speed test since I am on WiFi at my house. But I got 1.04 MBPS down speed and .54 MBPS up

Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk

---------- Post added at 02:31 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:30 PM ----------

Normally I would get about .2-.4 on both.

Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk


 
Team Kernelizers: Making the best out of your phone
 
rockypr
Old
#4  
rockypr's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 254
Posts: 1,180
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Puerto Rico

 
DONATE TO ME
Here in Puerto Rico got the same text

Sent from my SPH-L720 using xda app-developers app
 
84guy
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 144
Join Date: Jun 2008
Got the text, Bay area, ca

Sent from my Sprint Galaxy S4
 
tony5593
Old
#6  
tony5593's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 109
Join Date: Mar 2011
Yep they're working on towers for sure. My data icons keep appearing and disappearing every so often. Whenever my devices do say they have data it's pretty quick...
I'm glad this is happening, it may not be a drastic improvement but it's some kind of improvement.
This is making me happy, considering the fact that I'll be stuck on this base quite some time lol.
@rockypr de que parte de la isla eres?

My devices:
- Sprint Galaxy S4
-Sprint Galaxy Tab 3
 
gonczarkid22
Old
(Last edited by gonczarkid22; 25th January 2014 at 05:53 AM.)
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 27
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: East Lansing
Default Network Vision

Its part of Network Vision, Sprint is updating their towers so they are Sprint Spark compatible, have HD Voice, and are now Tri-modal. Good things are coming!


Source:
~Im a Rep....
 
Naddict
Old
#8  
Naddict's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter 13614
Posts: 8,297
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: 28.2S, 92.1W
Yes, good things for sure!

Going to ask you all to move any further discussion to the LTW thread, that will keep things focused. Thanks!

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2257251
Every time you don't use search, a kitten, bunny, baby turtle, and fuzzy Harp Seal are killed.

Read the Rules! -- Search Before You Post! -- Learn about XDA -- Need A Moderators Help? -- Get the Most out of XDA! -- Curious about GPL?

THREAD CLOSED
Subscribe
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Samsung Gear Live Stock Firmware Image Pulled, Temp Root

Just yesterday,XDA Recognized Developer and TV ProducerAdamOutlertore apart … more

Draw a Line and Let Your Device Do the Rest with LineitApp

Over the years, since evenbefore Android entered the scene, we have striven to … more

[APK] Chrome Beta 37 Brings First Traces of Material Design

With Android L on the horizon, it’s no surprise that Google’s … more

Immersive Mode on Unrooted Devices with GMD Full Screen Immersive Mode

Everyone likes screen real estate–no question about that. The … more