FORUMS

Android M Code Name: Macadamia Nut Cookie

While the official name for the latest iteration of Android has yet to be revealed, the code … more

XDA Recap: This Week In Android (May 17 – 23)

Another week, another recap. The Sunday tradition marches on this week with a fresh … more

Huawei To Sell Honor Smartphones Via Indian Retail Outlets

World’s fourth largest smartphone maker Huawei plans to now sell its … more

Sunday Debate: Are Smaller Bezels Better or Worth It?

Bezels have been getting smaller and smaller as the years go by, and while devices … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Please help! Lost IMEI with no backup

21st January 2014, 04:24 PM |#1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
I have been running Task's AOKP (4.3.1 with LK3 bootloader) for a while now with no issues. Last night I decided to do a fresh install of it and started to run into problems now. I can no longer connect to LTE and only have edge service. After some researching I notice that my IMEI now says 0 and that can lead to not connecting to networks. Everything I have read says one way to get your IMEI back is to flash back to stock but since I have been running 4.3 there is no way to go back without bricking from what I have read? Is there any way to recover your IMEI or am I out of luck? I have tried reflashing/clearing caches and that made no difference..

I would be grateful for any help of If someone can point me in the right direction..

Thanks in Advance!
Last edited by mrhatfi; 21st January 2014 at 04:50 PM.
 
 
21st January 2014, 04:53 PM |#2  
Member
Flag Rockford, IL
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrhatfi

I have been running Task's AOKP (4.3.1 with LK3 bootloader) for a while now with no issues. Last night I decided to do a fresh install of it and started to run into problems now. I can no longer connect to LTE and only have edge service. After some researching I notice that my IMEI now says 0 and that can lead to not connecting to networks. Everything I have read says one way to get your IMEI back is to flash back to stock but since I have been running 4.3 there is no way to go back without bricking from what I have read? Is there any way to recover your IMEI or am I out of luck? I have tried reflashing/clearing caches and that made no difference..

I would be grateful for any help of If someone can point me in the right direction..

Thanks in Advance!

You can go back to stock. The issue has to do with bootloaders. If you try to go back to a previous bootloader once loading MJB you will brick your phone. You can, however, go back to a previous or stock Rom.
21st January 2014, 08:54 PM |#3  
theramsey3's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 157
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrhatfi

I have been running Task's AOKP (4.3.1 with LK3 bootloader) for a while now with no issues. Last night I decided to do a fresh install of it and started to run into problems now. I can no longer connect to LTE and only have edge service. After some researching I notice that my IMEI now says 0 and that can lead to not connecting to networks. Everything I have read says one way to get your IMEI back is to flash back to stock but since I have been running 4.3 there is no way to go back without bricking from what I have read? Is there any way to recover your IMEI or am I out of luck? I have tried reflashing/clearing caches and that made no difference..

I would be grateful for any help of If someone can point me in the right direction..

Thanks in Advance!

I had a similar problem after recovering from a hard brick. Try to Reflash your modem. That's what got me service again after my bricking incident. My imei number showed as 0 and my baseband showed as unknown(go to settings, about device, look for baseband what does it show, then cruise back up to status and you got the imei there zero of course).


Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using xda app-developers app
Last edited by theramsey3; 23rd January 2014 at 08:59 AM.
21st January 2014, 09:19 PM |#4  
audit13's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 1,855
 
More
This might help restore imei: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1804117
23rd January 2014, 08:59 AM |#5  
theramsey3's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 157
 
More
You found a resolution yet?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using xda app-developers app
24th January 2014, 01:11 AM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by theramsey3

I had a similar problem after recovering from a hard brick. Try to Reflash your modem. That's what got me service again after my bricking incident. My imei number showed as 0 and my baseband showed as unknown(go to settings, about device, look for baseband what does it show, then cruise back up to status and you got the imei there zero of course).


Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using xda app-developers app

Don't know if it will help but mine did the same after flashing a ROM. Nandroiding back fixed mine.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747
24th January 2014, 01:41 AM |#7  
britt21's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag barnstable
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
IMEI problems
i had the same problem. what i did is i went back to stock using Odin and used the full NV back up tool use this to put your IMEI back in make sure to put it in correctly save it. Then when you use the NV tool restore it back to the phone it worked for my phone no problems
25th January 2014, 05:39 PM |#8  
fffft's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 659
 
More
Another thread about to be locked or deleted. IMEI discussions are not permitted on this site due to abuse.

You can find the information you need from other sites via Google. Reflashing your modem, letting the phone catch a signal and a little time /patience does resolve the problem for many. Once you get back to normal, make sure that you back up your entire EFS /NV in case you run into any future problems.

As others pointed out, do not try to downgrade a 4.3 bootloader. 4.3 was a major update and blew a qfuse in our phones. Meaning that trying to revert it will likely brick your phone. If your IMEI is actually corrupt don't panic. You just need to spend an hour or two of quality time with Google. The information you need isn't that hard to find, it's just buried in an avalanche of help me posts.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in AT&T Galaxy S III Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank