Android 5.0.2 and New Factory Images For Nexus 7 (Wi-Fi) Available

Android 5.0 is has been publicly available since early November, and the … more

Github Tutorial App Shows You How to Use… Github

Github can get pretty complicated and using it can become quite daunting, especially … more

Google Glass-like Clip-On For Regular Glasses Developed by Sony

For the price of $2,000, a pair of glasses that can run apps, take pictures, … more

Micromax Takes OnePlus to Court! Android Wear Receives Lollipop – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop is available officially for the Moto 360! … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Please help! Lost IMEI with no backup

OP mrhatfi

21st January 2014, 05:24 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
19 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
I have been running Task's AOKP (4.3.1 with LK3 bootloader) for a while now with no issues. Last night I decided to do a fresh install of it and started to run into problems now. I can no longer connect to LTE and only have edge service. After some researching I notice that my IMEI now says 0 and that can lead to not connecting to networks. Everything I have read says one way to get your IMEI back is to flash back to stock but since I have been running 4.3 there is no way to go back without bricking from what I have read? Is there any way to recover your IMEI or am I out of luck? I have tried reflashing/clearing caches and that made no difference..

I would be grateful for any help of If someone can point me in the right direction..

Thanks in Advance!
Last edited by mrhatfi; 21st January 2014 at 05:50 PM.
21st January 2014, 05:53 PM   |  #2  
Member
Flag Rockford, IL
Thanks Meter: 5
 
64 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrhatfi

I have been running Task's AOKP (4.3.1 with LK3 bootloader) for a while now with no issues. Last night I decided to do a fresh install of it and started to run into problems now. I can no longer connect to LTE and only have edge service. After some researching I notice that my IMEI now says 0 and that can lead to not connecting to networks. Everything I have read says one way to get your IMEI back is to flash back to stock but since I have been running 4.3 there is no way to go back without bricking from what I have read? Is there any way to recover your IMEI or am I out of luck? I have tried reflashing/clearing caches and that made no difference..

I would be grateful for any help of If someone can point me in the right direction..

Thanks in Advance!

You can go back to stock. The issue has to do with bootloaders. If you try to go back to a previous bootloader once loading MJB you will brick your phone. You can, however, go back to a previous or stock Rom.
21st January 2014, 09:54 PM   |  #3  
theramsey3's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 155
 
355 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrhatfi

I have been running Task's AOKP (4.3.1 with LK3 bootloader) for a while now with no issues. Last night I decided to do a fresh install of it and started to run into problems now. I can no longer connect to LTE and only have edge service. After some researching I notice that my IMEI now says 0 and that can lead to not connecting to networks. Everything I have read says one way to get your IMEI back is to flash back to stock but since I have been running 4.3 there is no way to go back without bricking from what I have read? Is there any way to recover your IMEI or am I out of luck? I have tried reflashing/clearing caches and that made no difference..

I would be grateful for any help of If someone can point me in the right direction..

Thanks in Advance!

I had a similar problem after recovering from a hard brick. Try to Reflash your modem. That's what got me service again after my bricking incident. My imei number showed as 0 and my baseband showed as unknown(go to settings, about device, look for baseband what does it show, then cruise back up to status and you got the imei there zero of course).


Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using xda app-developers app
Last edited by theramsey3; 23rd January 2014 at 09:59 AM.
21st January 2014, 10:19 PM   |  #4  
audit13's Avatar
Senior Member
Toronto
Thanks Meter: 1,000
 
3,147 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
This might help restore imei: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1804117
23rd January 2014, 09:59 AM   |  #5  
theramsey3's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 155
 
355 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
You found a resolution yet?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using xda app-developers app
24th January 2014, 02:11 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
117 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by theramsey3

I had a similar problem after recovering from a hard brick. Try to Reflash your modem. That's what got me service again after my bricking incident. My imei number showed as 0 and my baseband showed as unknown(go to settings, about device, look for baseband what does it show, then cruise back up to status and you got the imei there zero of course).


Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using xda app-developers app

Don't know if it will help but mine did the same after flashing a ROM. Nandroiding back fixed mine.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747
24th January 2014, 02:41 AM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Flag barnstable
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
More
IMEI problems
i had the same problem. what i did is i went back to stock using Odin and used the full NV back up tool use this to put your IMEI back in make sure to put it in correctly save it. Then when you use the NV tool restore it back to the phone it worked for my phone no problems
25th January 2014, 06:39 PM   |  #8  
fffft's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 621
 
1,978 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
Another thread about to be locked or deleted. IMEI discussions are not permitted on this site due to abuse.

You can find the information you need from other sites via Google. Reflashing your modem, letting the phone catch a signal and a little time /patience does resolve the problem for many. Once you get back to normal, make sure that you back up your entire EFS /NV in case you run into any future problems.

As others pointed out, do not try to downgrade a 4.3 bootloader. 4.3 was a major update and blew a qfuse in our phones. Meaning that trying to revert it will likely brick your phone. If your IMEI is actually corrupt don't panic. You just need to spend an hour or two of quality time with Google. The information you need isn't that hard to find, it's just buried in an avalanche of help me posts.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes