5,595,815 Members 35,166 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

(Q) Safestrap & ROM installation

Tip us?
 
ATGkompressor
Old
#1  
ATGkompressor's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 117
Join Date: Jan 2014
Default (Q) Safestrap & ROM installation

How do I go about installing Wicked Sensations through safestrap?

I have not yet installed safestrap as I am somewhat gun-shy on doing so. I want to make sure I do all of this in correct order and procedure.

And also, once I install the Rom, will I able to go back to stock since i am just booting through ROM-slots? And will I have to choose what slot to boot on the spashscreen every time I boot?
Via Solitary Confined SGS3
 
BadUsername
Old
#2  
BadUsername's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 501
Posts: 1,119
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by ATGkompressor View Post
How do I go about installing Wicked Sensations through safestrap?

I have not yet installed safestrap as I am somewhat gun-shy on doing so. I want to make sure I do all of this in correct order and procedure.

And also, once I install the Rom, will I able to go back to stock since i am just booting through ROM-slots? And will I have to choose what slot to boot on the spashscreen every time I boot?
Via Solitary Confined SGS3
Everything is linked in the op of the safestrap thread. But you have the right idea.

You have a stock system that remains untouched, you're able to partition 2-4 slots and put roms on each slot. The more roms you have, the less space you have leftover on your SD card for everything else.

When you boot up, you'll have a special screen asking you to boot on the selected rom slot, or boot into recovery to pick another one. Booting into recovery mode the normal way will no longer work.

You should still read everything on the op page. He also links to another website that gives detailed information on exactly how it works and how to operate it.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to BadUsername For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
ATGkompressor
Old
#3  
ATGkompressor's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 117
Join Date: Jan 2014
Awesome, just watched the video on the site and it answered all my questions. Thank u! Here we go!!!!!!!

Via Solitary Confined SGS3
 
ATGkompressor
Old
#4  
ATGkompressor's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 117
Join Date: Jan 2014
Except this one. Will I be able to flash .zip files like the transparent AccuWeather widget and mods like that?

Via Solitary Confined SGS3
 
BadUsername
Old
#5  
BadUsername's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 501
Posts: 1,119
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by ATGkompressor View Post
Except this one. Will I be able to flash .zip files like the transparent AccuWeather widget and mods like that?

Via Solitary Confined SGS3
Yes, it's only going to show up on the slot you flash it in.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2
 
ATGkompressor
Old
#6  
ATGkompressor's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 117
Join Date: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadUsername View Post
Yes, it's only going to show up on the slot you flash it in.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2
So long as i don't flash anything......ANYTHING...over my stock slot right? I can flash like paparazzi on the Rom slots! This really is a work of art. Hashcode is right on time with this...plus, I'm liking the TWRP interface. I came from a HTC Thunderbolt with 4EXT, boy am I missing that....

Via Solitary Confined SGS3
 
twistedillutions
Old
#7  
twistedillutions's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 145
Posts: 1,190
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: 209
Don't mean to steal ur thread i jst dnt wanna make a duplicate.. After safetrap is installed does it make slots automatically or do i have to make them? Haven't look intk tw roms so haven't decided wich to flasb jst want the barebones thag takes off bloatware and makes it run smoothly. Saying that do i flash the ML1 modem or firmware after i flash the rom??

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk
AWESOME POSSOM
 
buhohitr
Old
#8  
buhohitr's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1459
Posts: 4,998
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by twistedillutions View Post
Don't mean to steal ur thread i jst dnt wanna make a duplicate.. After safetrap is installed does it make slots automatically or do i have to make them? Haven't look intk tw roms so haven't decided wich to flasb jst want the barebones thag takes off bloatware and makes it run smoothly. Saying that do i flash the ML1 modem or firmware after i flash the rom??

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk
It assigns slot 3&4, but you have to create the storage size.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using xda premium

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Google Glass XE16 Update Factory Image and Rooted Bootloader Now Available

You may recall that early yesterday, we talked about the XE16 … more

Add Swipe Utilities to Your App with SimpleFingerGestures Library

Gestures have become an increasingly important element in smartphone UI … more

Android App Review: Lock it Down with Lockdown Pro – XDA Developer TV

Our smartphones are our lives. They store our contacts, emails, … more