5,598,718 Members 38,470 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] - i9507: No service on KitKat - Can receive calls, can't dial (no service)

Tip us?
 
richard_huang70
Old
(Last edited by richard_huang70; 24th January 2014 at 02:13 PM.)
#1  
richard_huang70's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 3
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Melbourne
Default [Q] - i9507: No service on KitKat - Can receive calls, can't dial (no service)

Hi Guys,

I'm from Australia and recently bought an Optus Galaxy S4 4G. Strangely, the model number is i9507. I double-checked this online and usually weird model numbers are just carrier-spin-offs. So I went ahead to root and flash just like you would with an International i9505.
So far no problems - 4.3.x PA rom works absolutely fine.

BUT:
I've tried some Kit Kat roms recently and they all flash fine but give me 'mobile network not available'. Strangely though, I can receive calls/text and talk on the phone, but when I try to dial or send text messages, I can't do it. My reception bar is completely empty as well.
WiFi is totally fine, just no data and mobile network

I've tried messing with the 'network operators' setting and if i select my carrier (I have a Vodafone sim) I'll get network reception until I turn off the screen and then my mobile network becomes unavailable again

Not sure what the problem is; modem? APN? or roms not suitable for my phone?

Current info:

ROM - [ROM] KOT49H【4.4.2】 GOOGLE EDITION 4.4.2 by Danvdh, Kryten2k35 & Ktoonsez
Baseband - i9507XXUAMH2
Kernel - 3.4.77--KT-SGS4-KK4.4-TWGE-INTL-01.23.2014---g3367fe0ktoonsez@ktoonsez-VirtualBox #1

I've been flashing for a while now but it's usually just basic stuff so you can probably tell I'm pretty amateur lol.
Any help is greatly appreciated!
Thanks =)

Richard
 
Kdio
Old
(Last edited by Kdio; 25th January 2014 at 02:44 AM.) Reason: bed ingrish ... sorri
#2  
Kdio's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1894
Posts: 828
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Campos dos Goytacazes
Quote:
Originally Posted by richard_huang70 View Post
they all flash fine but give me 'mobile network not available'. Strangely though, I can receive calls/text and talk on the phone, but when I try to dial or send text messages, I can't do it. My reception bar is completely empty as well.
WiFi is totally fine, just no data and mobile network

...

Current info:

ROM - [ROM] KOT49H【4.4.2】 GOOGLE EDITION 4.4.2 by Danvdh, Kryten2k35 & Ktoonsez
Baseband - i9507XXUAMH2
Kernel - 3.4.77--KT-SGS4-KK4.4-TWGE-INTL-01.23.2014---g3367fe0ktoonsez@ktoonsez-VirtualBox #1
Hi Rich

As your baseband is quite out of sync with the firmware you are trying to run (MH2 is from 4.2.2 ,,, right?) I would suggest you change your baseband (modem) flashing an equivalent to the ROM firmware from here.

I've got yesterday the exactly same behaviour when finally and reluctantly I've added a data plan. I was running a successful low-baseband + high-firmware because was setted to "GSM Only" (try it ... will work flawless). When I've switched to LTE got what you've described in the face too . I've promptly updated my baseband and now all is fine

EDIT: please do nothing of the above described BEFORE taking a EFS backup with every tool you can find and preserving them in several highly fortified locations and 2 or 3 K7 Tapes too . Have an ODIN flashable copy of your MH2 baseband is advisable too.

Hope I've helped and please share your experience.

Nice regards.

.
The Following User Says Thank You to Kdio For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
richard_huang70
Old
#3  
richard_huang70's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 3
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Melbourne
Hey thanks for the reply! Helps heaps =)

While I still had those roms installed I did try flash a few modems within Odin, all failed though =S

Which one should I be flashing?
I believe I tried XXUFNA1 but the flash just doesn't go through

Does it make a difference which rom I flash the new modem from? I.e. flash when the new modem now or flash the new modem on the kitkat rom?
I'm currently using Pacman 4.3.1 since it's perfectly fine. Just can't wait to get on a KitKat rom though! haha
The Following User Says Thank You to richard_huang70 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Kdio
Old
#4  
Kdio's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1894
Posts: 828
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Campos dos Goytacazes
Quote:
Originally Posted by richard_huang70 View Post
Hey thanks for the reply! Helps heaps =)

While I still had those roms installed I did try flash a few modems within Odin, all failed though =S

Which one should I be flashing?
I believe I tried XXUFNA1 but the flash just doesn't go through

Does it make a difference which rom I flash the new modem from? I.e. flash when the new modem now or flash the new modem on the kitkat rom?
I'm currently using Pacman 4.3.1 since it's perfectly fine. Just can't wait to get on a KitKat rom though! haha
Hi Rich

Sorry, may be my fault, but quite didn't got your

You may proceed having the below as a rule of thumb:
Your baseband (modem) version should always match your ROM (firmware) version.

Failure to flash something is never good signal. As you have an i9507 (I own the 5) is very advisable to flash a modem built for your S4 flavour.

The above rule should apply to it too so, if the only modem available for the i9507 is the MH2 your firmware have to match or these issues reported will return.

Did you tested the "GSM Only" option to corroborate (or not) my hyphothesis? With this config, you should perceive no signal drops when waked. I know it isn't a viable operational mode but ... just for fun

Nice regards and keep sharing

.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes