Post Reply

WiFi problem

OP Johann12911

17th January 2014, 03:16 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
172 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
More
Okay, so I'm having a WiFi problem. We just got the Comcast arris modem/router combo, which I know isn't the best, but it was parents choice.. so I'm stuck. I get very slow WiFi speeds , .5 -4 mbps depending on closeness to router. My family and friends with other phones such as iPhones and galaxy phones are getting around 20mbps down. Things I have tried are - flashing WiFistock.zip fix, restarting router, changing channel on router, changing secruity type, disconnecting and reconnecting, restarting phone, I'm nof sure what else I can try.. I can't stream HD Video anymore and I used to watch a lot of it.. any idea and help would be appreciated , thanks in advance !

Sent from my HTC One using xda app-developers app
17th January 2014, 03:50 AM   |  #2  
alireza_simkesh's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 53
 
968 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2005
Donate to Me
More
Have you tried disabling Wifi Battery Optimization in the advanced settings of your phone?
17th January 2014, 04:10 AM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
172 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoa1

Try to switch on mobile data!

I have been.. but I use it a lot away from home where I don't have WiFi , and I have 3gb of data only, so it can be a problem.

Sent from my HTC One using xda app-developers app
17th January 2014, 04:10 AM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
172 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by alireza_simkesh

Have you tried disabling Wifi Battery Optimization in the advanced settings of your phone?

Yes, it doesn't give me any faster speeds, but thanks for the tip

Sent from my HTC One using xda app-developers app
17th January 2014, 04:13 AM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
172 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
More
Could just be an upright router-phone problem. Phone gets full true speeds in other router coonnections. Don't see how my router could be working for others but not my HTC one.. maybe I'll just have to live with it

Sent from my HTC One using xda app-developers app
17th January 2014, 04:13 AM   |  #6  
alireza_simkesh's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 53
 
968 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2005
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johann12911

Yes, it doesn't give me any faster speeds, but thanks for the tip

Sent from my HTC One using xda app-developers app

I don't know if this helps, but try setting your modem to b/g/n mixed rather than N only (or if its set on b/g/n, change it to N only).
I had problems with wifi and mixed modes solved them.
17th January 2014, 04:26 AM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
172 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
More
Will try, thanks for the tip!

Sent from my HTC One using xda app-developers app
17th January 2014, 04:34 AM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Flag Delhi
Thanks Meter: 91
 
585 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johann12911

Okay, so I'm having a WiFi problem. We just got the Comcast arris modem/router combo, which I know isn't the best, but it was parents choice.. so I'm stuck. I get very slow WiFi speeds , .5 -4 mbps depending on closeness to router. My family and friends with other phones such as iPhones and galaxy phones are getting around 20mbps down. Things I have tried are - flashing WiFistock.zip fix, restarting router, changing channel on router, changing secruity type, disconnecting and reconnecting, restarting phone, I'm nof sure what else I can try.. I can't stream HD Video anymore and I used to watch a lot of it.. any idea and help would be appreciated , thanks in advance !

Sent from my HTC One using xda app-developers app

Change the DSN to global and try.
26th January 2014, 04:36 AM   |  #9  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
172 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
More
Still, the problem persists. I have done as much as I can think of. Maybe I'll call Comcast and ask for a software update if it's available, not sure what else to do.

Sent from my HTC One using xda app-developers app

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes